We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Ranked #10 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2012

This is one of my favorite hotel in the country. I was staying here on business and not only did the room exceed my expectation but the food in the restaurant was fantastic.

The room was spacious, updated with all modern amenities, well decorated and very well kept. My corner room had a great view with a balcony to enjoy the view of Chicago. There was enough room to work and relax. The bedroom was spacious with and the bed was comfortable.

The food in their "bistro" style restaurant was 5 stars. If you have time to go to the bar, it has a cool vibe, almost a lounge setting. A great place to have a drink, snacks and relax.

The location is also ideal. Walking distance to great restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LANative72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,878 - 1,884 of 2,417 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012

Great hotel, will definately stay there again. The service is second to none. Wonderful room. The only weird thing is that we had to ask for more hand lotion and soap as it was not replenished. Breakfast was disappointing for the price. You will not be disappointed if you stay there.

Room Tip: We had a coner suite, about 1100 SqFt. It was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldTraveler50226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This is our third stay on this property but our first since the change from the elysian.
Gorgeous, so relaxing,outstanding service and a tremendous value for all the amenities you receive.
Splurge and you won't regret that you did....

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank napervilletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Just got back from a sisters' weekend in Chicago and we stayed at the Waldorf Astoria. The staff are so friendly and accomodating. It's very convenient that we didn't have to tip for everything they assisted us with (they refuse tips). We stayed in a King Suite, which had a pullout couch, which wasn't very comfortable but the rest of the suite made up for it. The room was clean and very well maintained.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uniftbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Waldorf, which we chose on based on the reviews here. This was easily the best hotel we've ever stayed at. We had booked a Waldorf King Suite, but upon check in were upgraded to a Gold Coast Suite. I'm not sure why, maybe because we're HIlton Honours members, but whatever the reason we weren't complaining. The room was phenomenal. It was 1200 sq. ft. and really was more like an apartment than a hotel room. We had a lovely bedroom, big bathroom with tv in mirror, and a living area complete with desk, table, lounge chairs, sofa, fireplace, and bar. Oh yah, and a powder room. There was a balcony, but we didn't use it as it wasn't very warm. The hotel location was great, just a block or two from the magnificent mile.
Our package included a $70 credit towards breakfast, and another $50 credit per night towards food or spa services. The $70 didn't quite cover breakfast for two (with eggs, juice, coffee etc.), but pretty close. With all of those credits it made the hotel terrific value compared to other hotels in the area.
The service was the best we have ever received. Anything we needed was brought to us within minutes. We used the car service once. It wasn't always available when we needed, but that was fine, as we were always quick to get a cab.
We never made it to the gym or spa, as we were busy during the day, but I'm sure they were both fabulous.
My only complaint is that we couldn't have stayed longer. We so enjoyed Chicago and this hotel, that we are eager to bring our kids back for a visit. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. There was nothing not to love.

Room Tip: Try and get a breakfast package if you'd like to eat at the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Valerie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed here last month, and my god, it could not have been a more enjoyable 24hrs. I will definately return. First off, we book a top end room, but they upgraded us to a suite-SCORE. It was magnificent. Huge reception, bathroom, balcony to go out and have a sneaky cigarette...The bar is a MUST destination, even if you don't stay. The bartender(he did not want to be known as a mixologist, I would say mixmaster-diety)was fabulous. He made drinks by asking you what you liked, and created delicious boozy masterpieces-the work that went into them! We stayed for 3 rounds.

We had plans to go out some hot restaurant, but we looked at each other and said hmmm bottle of champagne, room service and enjoy the room....STAY at this hotel, it is utterly perfect.

Room Tip: get an upgrade hahaha
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karenk58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

A married couple getaway... I've been waiting eagerly for my stay here and just got back and it was a wonderful place. This is one of the few hotels that actually looks as good as the pictures on its website on an everyday basis. Everything is clean, crisp and well maintained in the room and public areas.
I can't think of anything to say to improve here, it was everything I thought it would be and more. One of the best things about this hotel is not having to walk around with a pocketful of dollars and having to reach in and pass out dollars everytime a staff members talks to you or helps you.
The spa was incredible. While we didn't get any services, we just enjoyed the steam, sauna and whirlpool for a few hours before we left - so relaxing!
Great place and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marinedjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#2 of 192 in Chicago
1,565 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#3 of 192 in Chicago
2,548 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 192 in Chicago
2,234 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Chicago

Address: 11 East Walton, Chicago, IL 60611-1412 (Formerly Elysian Hotel Chicago)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $428 - $809 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Five-Diamond Waldorf Astoria Chicago(formerly The Elysian Hotel)is located in the heart of the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood amognst the Magnificent Mile and Oak Street famed restaurants, retailers and lakefront. The award-winning 215 room hotel through innovative services and technologies, creates a new experience in luxury – energetic and fashion forward, warm and welcoming, and fresh and engaging. Amenities include a 14,000 square-foot spa & health club; 7,500 square feet of private event space; Bernard's Bar & Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing