We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“WOW! Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waldorf Astoria Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Ranked #8 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Deerfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“WOW! Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

My wife and I decided to take a Saturday evening off and come in from a northern suburb of Chicago. We were greeted at the reception desk with a smile and a great attitude, in fact we were upgraded to a suite. This was a the Hotel's smallest suite but was comfortable and large with a balcony. After a wonderful night's stay, our bag was being loaded into our car. I offered the employee a tip for retrieving the bag but he wouldn't accept it saying"With My Pleasure!"

Room Tip: I don't believe that there is a bad room in the Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JerryH1680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElysianHotel, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us and your positive feedback with regards to our ‘no tipping policy’. Our hotels definition of luxury does not include tips but does include welcoming our guest’s genuineness, warmth and a true desire to be of assistance. Giving without the expectation of receiving is the Waldorf Astoria Chicago way.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the very near future.

Sincerely,
Richard Evanich
General Manager
(312) 646 1300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,736
    205
    98
    29
    17
See reviews for
485
856
105
391
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

As expected the service at the hotel was amazing. From the concierge, Mark, with spot on dinner and show reservations to everyone else on staff impeccable service was offered at all times. The rooms were comfortable and spacious. I would recommend one with a balcony if you are going when the weather is nice. The electric light switch system was slightly too high tech for me, but a novel idea. I'm sure if I called the front desk they would have properly explained it to me. Spa is amazing, go even if you arent getting a service to use the sauna and steam room. Obviously meals and drinks are pricey but that is to be expected. The high level of service and comfort is worth the price.

Room Tip: Get a balcony if the weather is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank merestarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElysianHotel, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for your feedback with regards to our concierge Mark Morasca, as well as your positive comments with regards to all of our team. We pride our team as our greatest asset to our hotel.
On your next visit with us we will ensure to explain the in room lighting system to you during your room orientation by one of our Guest Service Ambassadors.
We look forward to your next stay with us,
Sincerely,

Richard Evanich
General Manager
(312) 646 1300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

First time guest here, will not be my last. Service was unexcelled - staff take their cue from the guest - when we were in a rush, staffers snapped into action for us, and when our pace was more leisurely, they mirrored our pacing to serve us in a more leisurely fashion.

I admire that apparently any staff member can do anything - each time I rang the operator asking to be put through to the right department (valet, restaurant, concierge as just three examples), the operator asked what I needed and instantly said 'consider it done', be it the car being brought around, a restaurant reservation being made, or a city map marked with an off-site restaurant being brought to my room. Staff are top notch in every way, not one person made a misstep in any way during my week's stay, and my colleagues also made mention of their happiness that we chose to stay here.

Regarding location I at first marked it as good, not excellent, but then realized that I really like this location: off the main drag, one way street in front so much less traffic, less noise, less pollution. I had a large balcony and enjoyed using it. The weather was fine and I could actually conduct business via cell phone from the balcony without my phonemates once saying where are you, I can't hear you, what is that noise etc.

We ate on property at Balsan and it was a revelation - the food was so very good that we canceled one off-site dinner engagement so we could eat in Balsan again. Just as good the second time. Did not get chance to try RIA but that just makes me want to come back sooner rather than later. There are also innumerable wonderful restaurants within a five minute walk of the hotel, and when it was obvious we were walking somewhere rather than taking our car, the doorman offered for the hotel's car and driver to drive us where we wanted to go in town as a complimentary first-come first-serve service, what a welcome surprise.

Another surprise is the TV placed behind the bathroom mirror; I loved that and it's an indication of how much thought has gone into this entire place.

I noticed the same level of pleasant professional service and care to every guest throughout my stay, and when meeting guests in the elevator or bar or lobby, we all had smiles, knowing that we were the smart ones to stay at this lovely hotel in this fascinating city.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HotelFanDeluxeYes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElysianHotel, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Chicago. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay.

Sincerely,

Richard Evanich
General Manager
(312) 646 1300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

My third business trip to Chicago and my third stay at the Waldorf Astoria (formerly Elysian). I look forward to my stays here as the suites are beautiful. It's not cheap, particularly the dining and spa, but it's of a high standard. The service is first class and they've retained the Elysian's no-tipping custom which I welcome.
The only improvement I could suggest (and have) is for in-room coffee making facilities (English tea too if they really want to wow!).
The location is also great for shops and restaurants - plenty within a very short walk.
I can't wait to go back - I'd even stay here for pleasure and that's really saying something.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nadine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

My arrival at hotel started magically. I truly love the cobblestone entrance and the lobby. Very classy and understated. I find the check-in to be seamless and warm for such a luxury hotel. While I didn't have a spa service, I did take in the steam room and terrace of the spa. It's a real treat. We had a dinner at the casual (for this hotel) bistro and I loved it. And the bar seemed to be hopping in the evening. I heard they craft a fine cocktail. The street noise was minimal and the rooms were beautiful. A wonderful spa bathroom that I wanted to stay in all day. I think the things I would change about the place would be the lack of a "club level" which I must admit is my favorite part of most luxury hotels. I just love going up to a floor where you can have a cocktail or espresso and just enjoy a quiet moment outside of your room. I know it seems like a shallow complaint, but we did pay $600 a night for the room, and an espresso maker wouldn't hurt. I can hardly get up without my strong coffee and heading down to the lobby for coffee first thing is not ideal. That being said, anyone who stays here will feel like royalty.

Room Tip: The rooms all looked big and bright. But a terrace is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Betty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
187 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

Great hotel in so many ways-just not my fav. I expect if I were a spa person, I may have rated the W-A 5 stars, but they're not my thing. The room was very nice, & the bathroom was primo, w/ double sink & separate tub & shower. Beds were good but not terrific. It's obviously the luck of the draw, but I'm a huge 'view' person. Even a simple, active city street can be satisfying, but I'm never completely happy looking out at the back of another building, as was the case last wknd. It feels terribly confining, despite the oversized room. The location is great-just off Rush w/ the coolest restaurants & 2 blocks from Michigan Ave's Magnificent Mile shopping. I was unable to try the W-A's 2 Michelin-starred main dining room, but did have an expensive snack at Balsan (see review). I will reiterate in closing that the hotel's service was the best I've ever encountered. The doorman even ventured several blocks to find a cab for my sis-in-law on a busy Monday morning.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tubman74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

I've lost count of the times I've stayed at this property as the Elysian, but my first as a Waldorf Astoria. While many or indeed most of the staff are the same, the experience is not - Reservations are a disaster, dont know availability, get reservations wrong and apparently have not transferred data on previously loyal Elysian guests. The staff weren't smiling or indeed as friendly as they used to be....Although if this was my first visit I may not have noticed as much. It's ranking just "average" with me now. Would flowers in the lobby kill them ( token gesture on the front desk noted)???

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank luxurytravelguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 189 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#4 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,599 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#7 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Chicago

Property: Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Address: 11 East Walton, Chicago, IL 60611-1412 (Formerly Elysian Hotel Chicago)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Five-Diamond Waldorf Astoria Chicago(formerly The Elysian Hotel)is located in the heart of the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood amognst the Magnificent Mile and Oak Street famed restaurants, retailers and lakefront. The award-winning 188-room hotel through innovative services and technologies, creates a new experience in luxury – energetic and fashion forward, warm and welcoming, and fresh and engaging. Amenities include a 14,000 square-foot spa & health club; 4,500 square feet of private event space; European-inspired bistro, Balsan; haute bar Bernard's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing