We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Christmas trip with the wife.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa D'Citta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa D'Citta
Ranked #1 of 22 Chicago B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville SC
Level Contributor
100 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Christmas trip with the wife.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Came up to eat at Alenia with my wife and found this place 3 blocks away. We got the room with the outside hot tub and overall our time there was awesome. I really don't want to come to town again unless I say here.

Room Tip: One room connects to the deck and outside hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    19
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
51
154
14
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

What a fun experience! Villa D’ Citta is like having your own personal mansion in Lincoln Park. The rooms were extremely spacious with nice amenities. The common area was perfect for breakfast or relaxing after the evening out. And the staff was very accommodating and friendly. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMS030112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika S, Manager at Villa D'Citta, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
THANK YOU for your wonderful review! March is definitely a good time to visit to experience 'your own mansion' for the weekend. Winter here is quite for us, and guests definitely get to experience a more personal service at the Villa. Come summer the rooms do fill up, but if you call early enough you can actually reserve the entire place for family reunions, weddings, ect. ! Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsburg, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We just returned from a wonderful weekend at the inn! I can't believe how at home we all felt there. The inn was very luxurious! The food was super and the rooms were amazing. I had a bridal shower for my daughter there and it was absolutely perfect! Erika, the inkeeper is a doll! I highly recommend it for your next stay in Chicago.!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange Park, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I happened upon Villa D' Citta after finding all of my downtown Chicago mainstays (W, Hilton, Marriott, etc.) full in late January traveling on business. I would have never thought to choose a B&B for business travel but now that I have, I'll look for VDC the next time. VDC was an extraordinary experience and I will have to go back with my wife on vacation this summer. Their Couples Retreat Suite is probably the most romantic accommodation you can get. VDC B&B is decorated with the taste and refinement of a Four Seasons.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jljazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika S, Manager at Villa D'Citta, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
We are so happy you had a good B&B experience! They are all different and we recommend trying as many as possible! Except of course when you are in Chicago, we recommend coming back here ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Erika was a wonderful host for our group. Location is excellent neighborhood with quick access to the downtown attractions. The B&B is a charming brownstone with lots of character and charm. Can't wait to come back again.

Room Tip: Just let Erika help you figure it out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sittingbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We stayed at the villa for a week when our grandchild was born. The location was very convenient for us and it was a very welcoming, comfy home to return to each evening. The staff was accommodating and friendly. Our room was clean, lovely and spacious; however, we could have used more hooks for towels and such in the bathroom.Our thanks to the staff and for the delicious cookies awaiting us each evening.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stayed in Venetian suite for 2 nights. Lovely room with comfortable bed except for a few caveats-- no desk to work, no place to hang towel outside of shower (no bath) so need to walk to bathroom a few steps down to get it, and (my biggest issue) can hear the noise from room above you. Internet service works well. Erika is a very friendly hostess. Seems like a safe neighborhood with both high end typical stores as well as a few unique ones. Ordered food in and there is a huge table downstairs to eat at and can store leftovers in large fridge. On the sat morning one of the staff made a quiche for communal enjoyment and it was delicious.

Room Tip: Maybe top floor to avoid noise from above
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldcollege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika S, Manager at Villa D'Citta, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We sincerely do appreciate you leaving an honest review of your stay and we take your feedback seriously to make changes for the better. Just last week I was talking about putting a coat rack or more places to hang coats/towels in the Venetian, so it is officially on my to-do list! We are also investing in some beautiful rugs to alleviate the sounds from upstairs and they seem to be doing the trick. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon so you can see your advice put to work here at the Villa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#70 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa D'Citta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa D'Citta

Property: Villa D'Citta
Address: 2230 North Halsted Street, Chicago, IL 60614
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lincoln Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa D'Citta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden behind the modest facade of this Chicago greystone lies a true taste of the Italian architecture and style. The Villa D' Citta is a Chicago premier owner occupied residential rental that is nestled in the heart of the city's trendy Lincoln Park neighborhood. The Villa offers an old world comfort and unparalleled luxury, steps away from Chicago’s number one boutique shopping district, along with some of the best dining and nightlife the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa D'Citta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing