We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Ranked #13 of 186 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

This Kimpton ticked all the boxes. Great location within walking distance of many attractions, excellent staff, large clean rooms. All in all an very enjoyable stay. The hotel restaurant 'Sable' was also excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CMB13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear CMB13:

Thank you so much for your review of our property. We are so pleased we were able to make your stay so enjoyable and that you managed to get to Sable, our restaurant next door.

Take care,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,893
    544
    83
    19
    10
See reviews for
619
917
118
476
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Medina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Great location and everything is well kept and nice touches throughout. Just a nice vibe throughout.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DoBeyondToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Best hotel ever,clean,great location,and just a dream home away from home.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank falcon_scranton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

My one night stay at the Palomar was great in every respect. The room was spacious, clean, comfortable, and well decorated. The service was friendly and helpful. The location was convenient walking distance to all the sights and landmarks downtown. The price relative to comparable nearby hotels was excellent (and as usual, by being a member of the Kimpton loyalty program, I also got a nice little minibar credit).

I really can't complain or criticize anything about my stay, which says a lot because I can be quite critical. Nice job on this hotel, Kimpton!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikelovesutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitewater, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

I'm picky with hotels and the Palomar is very very good. Pro's: Service as good as any hotel I've stayed at in a longtime. New clean rooms with modern amenities. Stylish decor. Location in the heart of the city. Room service is quick. Cons: poorly designed first floor that creates logjams of people at the main doors, front desk, and elevators. Don't bring a car unless you want to pay a lot to park, but that describes all hotels in the area. It would be nice if the room service had better appetizer options. Would return. We stayed for two nights at 144/night.

Room Tip: Pool and workout room are on the 17th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uww326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear uww326:

Thanks for the review of our property - we appreciate the feedback and the detailed pros and cons list. As always, we continue to work on improving everything we do so your feedback is very helpful.

We hope to see you back at the Palomar soon/

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

I'm a fan of Kimpton hotels, but the Palomar in Chicago really exceeded my expectations. The service was fantastic, from the doorman to the front desk staff to the wine reception folks. The rooms were gorgeous, comfortable, and spotless. The gym, on the top floor, was a nice surprise -- quite large with plenty of cardio machines (treadmill, eliptical, bikes, rower), free weights and fitness machines, and other equipment (platforms, mats, jump ropes, etc.).

In short, I would stay here again in a heart beat, whether in town for business or pleasure.

PS: The Sable restaurant (attached to the hotel) was very good too!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonCreeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Hotel Palomar Chicago brings you excellent service, a warm smile, from all the staff that we encountered during our stay! The street noise was the same as any big city , emergency vehicles etc, but not load enough to disturb you. the room was well porpotioned and very clean overlooking the river..awesome. therer are over 100 galleries at your feet, along with boutiques, great dining, lively nightlife and outdoor activities on the Chicago River. Just steps away from world renowned shopping on Michigan Avenue. It is perfectly postioned for everything, a really convienient for museums also.

And in a city known for great cooking, Sable Kitchen & Bar stands out. A bit pricey though, but breakfast was very good! Sunday brunch was excellent , the restaurant very busy at weekends so you would need to book a table.

The hotel does really give you exceptional Services and Conveniences
The evening wine hour in the lobby living room is great way to to meet up with other people if you are on you own, they are not stingy with the wine either!

If I had one complaint and it is minor, the pillows are way tooo soft!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidaygoogler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear holidaygoogler:

We really appreciate the time you took to review the Palomar Chicago and all of the detailed information about the property and surrounding area. It truly is a fun, vibrant part of Chicago and so easy to access everything by foot, cab or train.

We hope to see you back at the Palomar Chicago soon.

Warm regards,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#15 of 186 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,219 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 186 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,068 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#10 of 186 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#9 of 186 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#14 of 186 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Property: Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 186 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing