We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Ranked #12 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Palomar as part of a weekend getaway in Chicago. I planned the trip as a surprise celebration for my husband's PhD graduation. Our room was beautiful. The hotel accommodated our request for a high floor with great views. The room was very clean, the bed was super comfortable and the bathroom (King spa room) was awesome!

All the staff we encountered were very friendly and genuine. Michael, the front office manager, and Mark, the concierge, truly went above and beyond for us. My husband is a huge Rick Bayless fan and Michael and Mark were able to get an autographed cookbook for him (a request that the restaurant ignored), which was no easy task! I truly appreciated the extra effort and it helped us have a very memorable weekend. This experience has made me a true Kimpton fan!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joannrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Dear joannrg:

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our property. I am thrilled that our guys were able to get you an autographed cook book from Mr. Bayless. Not an easy feat.

We look forward to having you return soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,748)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,953 - 1,959 of 2,748 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed at the Palomar Chicago for 2 nights from 11 March. My wife, who booked the hotel, emailed ahead and asked for a corner room. They gave us a corner rooom on the top floor. The room was very large and extremely comfortable. It felt more like a suite. The bed was the most comfortable we had in USA. The staff were friendly and helpful and check in and out was a breeze. Most of the major spots in Chivage are within walking distance. This was the 3rd of a 4 leg trip to USA and we only stayed in top hotels. I highly recommend this one. It was very relaxing. We were disappointed that we had not booked with the same hotel group in other locations. And yes, I would stay there again. P/S go to Chicago, it is a great city. Do the river cruise..

Michael

Room Tip: The hotel will accommodate requests if possible if you contact them ahead of your arrival. Well woth...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I decided to go "off the grid" and book outside of the conference hotel for a conference at McCormick and booked a room at the Palomar based on tripadvisor. I was not disappointed. This is a very stylish hotel - rooms are very tastefully decorated, large, with all the amenities you'd want (comfortable desk / chair, nice lounge chair, iPod docking station, large flat screen), comfortable bed.

It is simply a pleasure staying here - you are not nickeled and dimed. If you are a Kimpton InTouch member you have free fast internet. The gym is stunning - large, high floor overlooking the city, great equipment. Food in the hotel restaurant, Sable, is very good. Nice free coffee and sweets in lobby.

Location is a bit off beat and path, but actually is close to Miracle Mile and I grew to like the neighborhood

Room Tip: There seems to be a fire station on the Southwest corner of the hotel and the ambulances and fire tr...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bugdocsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Stayed here 3 nights over spring break. Hotel staff was warm, friendly and efficient. Ate breakfast at Sable, it was excellent. We walked to many other great restaurants as this is a convenient location to lots of restaurants and shops. Enjoyed a glass of wine during the happy hour. My teen age kids enjoyed the pool in the evenings and I enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere and adjacent terrace on the 17th floor. My only warning - watch your shins on the corner of the bed! Other reviewers mentioned the noise of fire trucks as the fire station is close by, we stayed on the 9th floor and it never disrupted our sleep. Will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, the views are great.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MidwesternMom69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed at the Palomar this past weekend. The location was perfect - close to great restaurants and just a couple of blocks from Michigan Avenue.

The first day we had a problem in our room. We called the front desk just expecting the problem to be fixed. Within 5 minutes, housekeeping was in our room fixing the problem. A hotel manager also called within just a few minutes offering a free upgrade on our room for the weekend.

Overall, the service was outstanding. Not only was the front desk and management great, but the concierge were extremely helpful and knowledgeable. We'll definitely be back to stay at the Palomar!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smes1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Dear smes1102:

Thank you so much for you review. We apreciate all of the kind words and we are pleased we were able to handle the problem with your room in an efficient and effective manner.

We sincerely look forward to your return.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

My family spent the night in Chicago during spring break. The staff was great to us and our kids. They had a goodie bag for the kids when we arrived with a scavenger hunt that they loved. The indoor pool and sundeck on the 17th floor provided great views and fun. We enjoyed our stay and all the amenities.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Dear Laura E:

Thank you so much for posting a review. We are so glad the kids had a fun time - we especially love the scavenger hunt as it really seems the kids get a kick out of it.

We hope to see you back with us again soon.

Take care,

Nabil Mouabyed
GM - Palomar Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

The Palomar is a boutique hotel located on State Street in the Loop. The hotel has a very small lobby with friendly and efficient front desk staff. Though if there are a few people checking in it at the same time the lobby gets crowded and chaotic with no clear place for people to queue during the check in process. In fact the lobby is so small that a few people waiting in the front desk area will also be blocking traffic from the elevators.

The decor is contemporary and clean without overpowering. The colors are a little on the dark side with a generally brown / earth tone pallette to the decor. The hallways are quiet and somewhat dimly lit, but do not feel unsafe.

The room was small but sufficient with a king bed and and an integrated bureau/wall unit with a nice flat screen tv mounted in it and deocrative vases on either side with accent lighting that was a nice touch. There is a nice plug station on the desk area to allow charging of various devices and decent lighting. The bed was very comfrortable with a supportive mattress and nice linens. The bathroom has a sliding door with a full length mirror and interesting kohler fixtures in the sink and bathtub (except for the showerhead, which was generic). Water pressure was good, and bath products were very nice.

Room service menu was interesting and reasonably priced, though the service ends at 11pm.

Overall a very pleasant experience for a short business trip.

Room Tip: Try the truffle popcorn from the room service menu
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joylama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 191 in Chicago
2,438 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#23 of 191 in Chicago
4,772 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 191 in Chicago
2,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#9 of 191 in Chicago
2,861 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago

Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4803 (Formerly Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $235 - $675 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing