We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Ranked #22 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Wonderful experience!”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The Radisson Blu in the Aqua building is beautiful. We stayed for a weekend getaway with family and friends and did not want to leave! The decor is very chic and modern yet had a homey feel. The furniture was unique in design and quite comfortable. Our bed was also extremely lush! We had a suite with a balcony and a gorgeous view. There were lots of things to do just in the hotel itself: swim, gym, indoor basketball court, saunas, outdoor track, movie room, to name a few. The employees were very nice, extremely helpful and we had great service the whole time we were there! We had dinner at the hotel restaurant and the service was outstanding, the food delicious! The hotel is centrally located so it is convenient to most places in downtown Chicago. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: All rooms were great. We were with two other families with different rooms and all of our rooms wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thank you for the review! I am thrilled that you had such a nice time at the hotel and that you were able to utilize some of our amenities. I have also shared your compliments with our chef! Thanks again; I hope to see you back again soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,472
    807
    270
    86
    55
See reviews for
974
1,331
158
1,652
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (812)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

we had an expensive pair of jeans n shirt on hanger and either was taken from cart while bellhops took our luggage from car to room or vice versa......really sucks cuz we loved our stay otherwise....keep your luggage with you at all times!

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ann b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thank you for leaving us a review. I am truly sorry that there was a problem with your luggage when you stayed at the hotel. I have messaged you directly hoping to get more information so that we can look further into this. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to recoup your confidence in us.

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

this hotel has extremely contemporary style but still feels comfortable. my corner lake view room has 2 comfortable queen beds, desk, and extra chair and a balcony. it had a beautiful bathroom with rainshower but no tub. in room coffee was a single cup lavazza machine.

somebody commented about the elevators - they suck. the doors close way too quickly! in the lobby you have to stand considerably back from the doors due to a built out mirrored entry-way. by the time everybody piles out of the elevator the doors are already closing. usually you wait too long for the doors to close and you start frantically pressing the 'close door' button but not here. not fun when you are traveling with children.

the breakfast was menu only (no buffet) but was perhaps the best hotel breakfast i have had in a long time. it was *expertly* prepared - the eggs, meat, potatoes, everything. i would go back to this hotel just for the breakfast...

if arriving via GPS - do yourself a favor and plug in 225 n columbus or the address of the fairmont. if you plug in 221 n columbus you enter from lower wacker and it is very confusing and unpleasant.

the lobby and bar are drop dead gorgeous. enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lemonjuicer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review; I am happy that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. I have passed along your compliments to the Chef regarding the breakfast service and he was honored! I am also looking into your comments about the elevators and am truly sorry for any inconvenience this caused for you. Thanks again; I can't wait for you to come back to the hotel!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waunakee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed 3/31/2012 at the Radisson Blu Aqua and absolutely loved the experience. Staff were very helpful and the concierge recommended a great brazilian restaurant. It is in a great location to walk to many great Chicago sights and restaurants. The rooms are gorgeous! The bed was very comfy too. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahb2011-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! I am thrilled that you enjoyed the hotel and that the concierge recommended you a great restaurant! I hope that we see you back again soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Turned my business trip into a relaxing getaway!
Absolutely the coolest and most lovely hotel...great staff, great amenities,

Room Tip: Room 823, fantastic views and beautiful space! The best hotel, I've been at in a very long time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you for the review! I am glad that we were able to help make your work trip a relaxing getaway! I hope that we see you back again soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I stayed @ the Blu Aqua my birthday weekend of Mar 23. I experienced no wait @ check-in & was told that my request for upgrade to a room w/ a balcony had been granted. Upon entering my room, I was pleasantly surprised to see that my room upgrade was to a corner balcony. My "naturally cool" room It was spacious, uncluttered & very comfortable. There was even a birthday surprise awaiting my arrival, which was a very nice (and delicious) touch! ;+)

My room (1602) is considered a city view rm; however, from the balcony (during the unseasonably warm spring temps that we enjoyed) I enjoyed slices of Navy Pier, the Chicago River & Millennium Park. It very much enjoyed experiencing the changing visibility as the thick fog rolled in/out over the weekend.

The beds were very comfortable and there was a contemporary desk, chair, flat screen TV & 2nd chair for guests' comfort.

The bathroom was spacious, and included a built-in toilet (w/ 2-stage flushing feature), separate soaking tub and huge walk-in rain shower. I was particularly impressed w/ the dual (1) one-touch lighting switches in the bedroom, (2) lighting switches in the bathroom, & (3) thermostats for bed & bath, as it's the small details that are so important in maximing comfort.

Though modern w/ clean lines, neither the room nor the bath felt "cheap" in any way - which unfortunately is how modern is sometimes presented.

Took a self-guided tour of the Blu Aqua's faciliities and was blown away by the size of the fitness area (w/ machines, dumbbells & kettlebells), 1/2 basketball court, sauna and steam room, locker room, game room (w/ poker table, pool table & flat screen TV), media room (w/ overstuffed chairs), indoor lap pool and outdoor terrace (including pool closed for season), perrennial plantings, gas grills, seating & walking/jogging path). I've seen comparable hotel facilities nowhere I've ever been. Blu Aqua definitely benefits from is location w/ the Aqua condominiums on the bldg's upper floors.

The hotel's staff was outstanding as well, pleasant, cheerful and helpful - w/o being bothersome.

Love the area of downtown S of the river & E of Michigan Ave, as it's a convenient location w/o the intense traffic that plagues much of the rest of downtown. I visit Chicago regularly, and took advantage of the Blu Aqua's proximity to the Millennium Station and took the Metra train to church on Sun - leaving my car parked. I was even more impressed that the train ran on schedule (down to the minute). Over the course of the weekend, although I heard a few sirens from the fire station next door, those interruptions were intermittent & very brief.

Didn't eat in Fillini, but it's bright, vibrant & stylish. They'd even opened the accordion windows facing the street, which lended a very nice effect and will add to the streetscape in nice weather.

Did enjoy lunch from nearby Marianno's during my visit, which has an incredible prepared food area that takes up most of the market's 3rd floor, where the food was appetizing, varied (including a sushi bar) and reasonably priced.

My "old" favorite Chicago hotel is a boutique property on State Street in River North. I'll only give you a hint about my hands-down new fave: It's a color! ;+) And I've already booked my next trip.

Room Tip: Request an upper corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamerican1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
I can't thank you enough for your fantastic review! I am honored that you celebrated your birthday with us and that you enoyed the hotel and all that we have to offer our guests. I have shared your review with everyone on our team and we really were touched by your kind words. We hope to see you back at the hotel soon! Thanks again!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milwaukee, wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This is by far my favorite hotel in Chicago. We started with a cocktail in the Fellini lounge. Awesome! When we got to our room, it was so nice. The beds were soft and fantastic, and there were extra pillows in the closet. We also had a rainfall shower. The location was near all the local fun, and we could see the lake and Navy pier from our balcony. I would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: A lake view is of course a perk. It was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tam646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Thank you for a great review; I am honored to be your favorite hotel in Chicago! I hope that we see you back at the hotel soon. Thanks again!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 190 in Chicago
2,091 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 190 in Chicago
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel

Property: Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Address: 221 N. Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-7801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel Chicago is the contemporary debut of Radisson Blu in North America. A true representation of the brand, it is designed to become a destination in itself. Radisson Blu is the upper upscale tier of our global hotel brand, focusing on design, style and attention to detail in every respect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing