We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great little place”
Review of The Villa Toscana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Villa Toscana
Ranked #9 of 22 Chicago B&B and Inns
Montreal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great little place”
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Nice place with really friendly people. Wifi internet access is free and the room was clean and comfortable and I felt very much at home. Great location close to the subway red line and to lake Michigan. The bathroom was shared but it didn't present a problem during my stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank groovyrogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    34
    19
    7
    8
See reviews for
3
33
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, AZ
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Don't let the cost fool you. All Chicago hotel rates are high. Here you get more. If you like to walk, then this is the place. Both airports, all sightseeing, and downtown are connected by the train. You're in the center of the Halstead community of numerous gay friendly restaurants, stores, and bars. At night, Chicago can be dangerous. Never walk alone.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudyisnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2011

My wife and I stayed here for several days during a recent trip to Chicago. The rooms were smaller than we anticipated, but it was a reasonable trade off for the location in the city. The B&B is a couple blocks from the nearest metro station, and there are several great bars and restaurants surrounding it. We also enjoyed having access to a front porch and garden -- a seemingly rare commodity in town.

The staff was friendly and accessible, although they are not on sight all day. Nevertheless, they are a phone call away and very helpful when needed. The Villa Toscana may not be for everyone, simply because of the small rooms (and bed depending on the room), but it is a good place for those who enjoy old houses and are willing to make some trade-off's to stay in Chicago's trendy North Side. When we visit Chicago next time, we plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yevlakh_Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Location, Location,,this is a great place and its right boytown gay district. Bars, Restaurants are just step away. its a cute place and very clean. Joyce who is working also very nice. I highly recommend it. I def stay here again if I go back to Chicago.
Thank you the Villa Toscana

Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank SoloTraveler1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

I read the other reports on here and I have to admit to having serious reservations about staying in this establishment. However I have to say that I am perplexed as to how this place could receive any negative reports. Joy was welcoming helping with my travel itinerary and going way beyond the call of duty. The area is predominantly gay and very safe to walk around with good access to downtown on the el. I stayed in room 2 which was very comfortable had a great sleep. Would not hesitate to return

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulyp80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2010

As I write this I am in bed CRINGING. I was aware this was going to be bad just because it was way to homegrown for me. Very nice people TRYING to run it but its basically a collapsing house where they try to rent out themed rooms. I had the misfortune of being in a "garden room " which means BASEMENT hole. I should have turned around and left but then I thought "how bad could it be." After a few drinks around 1 am i get back and think - well at least the bed will be comfortable. I pull back the comforter and top sheet and find black hairs all over the bed and the main base sheet covered with YELLOW stains. Horrified, I call the main number and the woman is very apologetic, but says that nobody is "awake" now so they can't do anything... That they would change the sheets tomorrow. Seriously disgusting. There is just NO WAY this can happen in any reputable place... I have been laying all night on a towel on my bed not sleeping just skeeved out. This place has no business whatsoever renting even the cheapest rooms like this. Steer Clear.

M

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank austxmtp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chicago hotels

Toledo, OH
Level Contributor
125 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

The location is perfect being in boyztown. I used to stay here a lot before the Hawthorne Terrace opened up. Two gay guys used to run it and every time I stayed there it was only gay men that stayed there which I lvoed, especially meeting new friends during breakfast. The room were small but since I wasn't in the room much anyway, it was something I could live with and the place was clean.

Once the hawthorne terrace opened, I started staying tehre when I was in the area instead, mainly because it was a little more private and had a parking garage next door and a fitness center.

I stayed there last year because a friend wanted to check it out. I was disappointed in how things had changed. Even though it is in the heart of boyztown, it is no longer owned by gay men. The people staying there are no longer exclusively gay men.

I would recomend for those wanting to stay in the area to just stay at the Hawthorne terrace on broadway. You can book the room right on best westerns site and your reservation is guranteed with a confirmation number immediately.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamesteroh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#53 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Lakeview
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#112 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#71 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa Toscana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa Toscana

Property: The Villa Toscana
Address: 3447 N Halsted St, Chicago, IL 60657-2414
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Villa Toscana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Toscana Bed & Breakfast is an eight-room guesthouse located in the Lakeview/Boystown neighborhood of Chicago, six miles north of downtown Chicago. Our guesthouse is in one of Chicago's most eclectic entertainment districts and center of Chicago's Gay and Lesbian neighborhood, second largest in the United States. Literally steps from our door you will find an exciting nightlife, the beautiful Lake Michigan shores, a thriving theatre district, shopping, and an extensive variety of bars, clubs, and ethnic restaurants. We are also known as the closest accommodation to Wrigley Field, home of the Chicago Cubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your The Villa Toscana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villa Toscana Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing