We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I will stay here again”
Review of The Villa Toscana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Villa Toscana
Ranked #9 of 23 Chicago B&B and Inns
theCrankyProfessor
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“I will stay here again”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

The Villa Toscana is perfectly located for the happy walker -- not many more than 3 blocks from the Addison L station, and not more than 4 from Belmont. That will get you anywhere on a North/South Chicago axis! And it's in the heart of Boystown for those inclined that way. There are more restaurants in the immediate vicinity (Halsted and Broadway) than anyone needs for a several day stay.

I stayed on the ground floor rear, so NO noise issues from the close-by bar patios. Breakfast is great for the Carbovores - I had yogurt and fruit (which were abundant, too). There was cheese, but I didn't bother.

The deck in the garden is very nice - I was lucky to enjoy it in March in the sun!

Room Tip: Be sure to check for en suite bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theCrankyProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    34
    19
    7
    8
See reviews for
3
34
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Elkhart, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We had a wedding to attend in Boystown and this place was really close to the venue. We were thrilled with our stay. It's tucked back in from the street and the courtyard and front porch are picturesque. We stayed in The Venetian, which had a private bathroom. The room was a bit small but adequate. The bedding was of good quality and the bed very comfortable. The kitchen was well stocked for breakfast with a variety of fresh croissants, bagels, muffins, fruit, cereal, yogurt, juice, coffee and tea. After checking in, we didn't see anyone the rest of our stay although we heard doors closing a couple of times. It was very quiet and peaceful. They also gave us a parking permit and we were able to park within a block. We would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: If you want a private bathroom, make sure to ask which rooms include one. Some rooms have a shared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Nice place with really friendly people. Wifi internet access is free and the room was clean and comfortable and I felt very much at home. Great location close to the subway red line and to lake Michigan. The bathroom was shared but it didn't present a problem during my stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank groovyrogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, AZ
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Don't let the cost fool you. All Chicago hotel rates are high. Here you get more. If you like to walk, then this is the place. Both airports, all sightseeing, and downtown are connected by the train. You're in the center of the Halstead community of numerous gay friendly restaurants, stores, and bars. At night, Chicago can be dangerous. Never walk alone.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudyisnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2011

My wife and I stayed here for several days during a recent trip to Chicago. The rooms were smaller than we anticipated, but it was a reasonable trade off for the location in the city. The B&B is a couple blocks from the nearest metro station, and there are several great bars and restaurants surrounding it. We also enjoyed having access to a front porch and garden -- a seemingly rare commodity in town.

The staff was friendly and accessible, although they are not on sight all day. Nevertheless, they are a phone call away and very helpful when needed. The Villa Toscana may not be for everyone, simply because of the small rooms (and bed depending on the room), but it is a good place for those who enjoy old houses and are willing to make some trade-off's to stay in Chicago's trendy North Side. When we visit Chicago next time, we plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yevlakh_Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Location, Location,,this is a great place and its right boytown gay district. Bars, Restaurants are just step away. its a cute place and very clean. Joyce who is working also very nice. I highly recommend it. I def stay here again if I go back to Chicago.
Thank you the Villa Toscana

Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank SoloTraveler1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

I read the other reports on here and I have to admit to having serious reservations about staying in this establishment. However I have to say that I am perplexed as to how this place could receive any negative reports. Joy was welcoming helping with my travel itinerary and going way beyond the call of duty. The area is predominantly gay and very safe to walk around with good access to downtown on the el. I stayed in room 2 which was very comfortable had a great sleep. Would not hesitate to return

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulyp80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#54 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Lakeview
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#112 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#73 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa Toscana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa Toscana

Property: The Villa Toscana
Address: 3447 N Halsted St, Chicago, IL 60657-2414
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Villa Toscana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Toscana Bed & Breakfast is an eight-room guesthouse located in the Lakeview/Boystown neighborhood of Chicago, six miles north of downtown Chicago. Our guesthouse is in one of Chicago's most eclectic entertainment districts and center of Chicago's Gay and Lesbian neighborhood, second largest in the United States. Literally steps from our door you will find an exciting nightlife, the beautiful Lake Michigan shores, a thriving theatre district, shopping, and an extensive variety of bars, clubs, and ethnic restaurants. We are also known as the closest accommodation to Wrigley Field, home of the Chicago Cubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your The Villa Toscana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villa Toscana Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing