We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #46 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
beachlover101101
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

This was in a great location. The lobby was very hip looking. The outside doors are locked at night which made me feel safe. The room I stayed in was small/queen bed. The streets were loud at night and the tub was not clean (hair in it). However, it was fine for a one night stay. I missed the super comfy beds the Marriot brands usually have, but like I said - fine for one night.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank ExperienceAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanie K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Thank you for your response! Our lobby is super hip and unique compared to other Marriott's! Next time you stay with us, please request a room with a king bed, compared to a queen. Those rooms are about 70 sq. feet larger and I am confident you will enjoy those rooms. Also, some of our rooms face Ontario Street, which can be quieter at night. However, due to our location, downtown Chicago, traffic is always busy on the streets. We look forward to making your next stay even better than your first!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    784
    577
    107
    31
    15
See reviews for
438
356
82
387
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Very friendly staff. Family friendly ( waffles) and near it all! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bri1759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
GREAT STAY, GREAT WAFFLES, GREAT REVIEW!!!

Thank you for choosing the Fairfield Inn & Suites while in the Chicago area. We really work hard to provide all our guests with a memorable stay at a valued price. I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed our location, breakfast and city!

We look forward to being "your home away from home" next time you’re in Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed here over the Christmas Holidays for 1 night. The location was great. Within walking distance to many restaurants & shopping What a great value for the downtown area. The room was a little small, but we weren't in it that long anyways. It was just the 2 of us.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richdeblove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Thank you for your kind response! Our staff is so glad to hear you enjoyed your time spent with us during the holidays. We are so close to all the fun events and shopping Chicago has to offer. Thanks again for sharing your experience with our fellow travelers! Please come back and visit during the summer months as we are walking distance to Navy Pier and the beautiful Chicago Lakeshore!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Fairfield. The location is amazing, very close to the Magnificent Mile and great shopping. The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially Carlos. The rooms were very nice and the beds were oh, so comfy. Also, there is a great continental breakfast. We will stay here again on our next visit to Chicago!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colleen5034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanie K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Thank you for your review. I am so glad you hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Carlos is an exceptional front desk agent and knows the area extremely well. Always ask any staff member for information. They are very insightful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stow, Ohio
Level Contributor
74 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

It's hard to find a hotel room in the city of Chicago for less than $100, let alone a GOOD hotel room. This hotel was very modern, with a super friendly staff that was very accommodating. We actually screwed up our reservation, thinking that we had reserved a suite when we hadn't.

The hotel was able to offer us a second room at the original rate, even though the current rates were much higher. They also provided us a much needed roll away at no additional charge. Everyone got free complimentary breakfast (included with stay). This was strictly continental plus a waffle maker... very crowded but there was ample space we were able to grab a table.

The parking fees are high, but we didn't have a car so that didn't matter. The fitness room also contained some treadmills with tvs and an elliptical. The hotel also offered free wifi. The next time we stay in Chicago, we will definitely look to this hotel first.

Room Tip: Room descriptions online can be a little misleading... Guest Room does not mean a separate area in y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BTCompKSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
WOW!!

Thank you for a very honest and detailed review. This will surly help other travelers make a decision when considering our property.

I so glad to see you appreciated our "original" design and modern lobby and room accommodations. We are "One of a kind".

Reading your comments concerning our "friendly" service truly is great to see as we are always grateful for our valued guests and return visitors.

The breakfast area is a very busy at times, but we do a lot with the space we have, and I'm glad you were able to get a table and relax before seeing all Chicago has to offer.

Thank you again for sharing your comments with our Trip advisor community!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batesville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stayed here in August 2011. The positives about this hotel is that it is within walking distance 2-4 blocks to some really great restaurants and a cab ride to Navy Pier. The room was very nice with internet service, extra towels and fluffy pillows. The negatives about this hotel is the first room they gave us only had one queen bed, well this didn't work since we are a family of four, so we had to call the fron desk and arrange for another room , they appologized and sent us to a double queen, which had the view of a roof top and air conditioning eqipment. What we did not like was the price that had been quoted us changed when we checked out, we stayed three nights with the first night at the quoted price around $200 and the other 2 nights at a $150 increase in price per night, we flipped out!!! I asked why the increase since this was during the middle of the week Tuesday-Thursday and they said anytime a big concert series comes through rates increased to weekend prices. They did not change the rate to what we were originally given. We will not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindy0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanie K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Thank you for your review. I am glad the front desk was able to accommodate you and your family to a room with two beds. When you stayed with us, I am assuming you visited during the Lollapalooza Music Festival in Chicago. Although August is a great time to visit the city, our rates do fluctuate depending upon events in Chicago. Feel free to contact us before your next visit and we can look into dates that better suit your budget and during no major events/festivals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

This place delivers on many aspects but of course that depends on your expectations. If you're looking for affordability, comfort and location, this place scores on all three. This was a quick business trip and I needed a place that's affordable and comfortable and this place served that purpose! Monica at front desk was professional and helpful. She called my room 15 mins after I checked in just to see if I was satisfied with the room. And I should mention I never experienced this with 4-5 stars hotels that I have stayed in. The property itself is clean and modern. The lobby is nice and spacious with big screen tv. Elevators are always available. Hallways are well lit. The room might be on a small side to some but I found it to my liking, which is cozy. The bed, mattress and pillows were all in good shape and comfortable, no noise from neighbors next door or cars or constructions outside. I slept through the whole night, but heater can be a bit noisy for light sleepers. Bathroom is quite small but served its purpose with no problem. Hot water available for the duration of my shower with good water pressure. The location really cant be beat only steps away to Magnificent Mile and most attractions are within walking distance. You can walk from Oak St. Beach all the way down to Buckingham Fountain or hotel to Navy Pier (some might find this task daunting). Banks and convenient stores are nearby not to mention the restaurants for every tastes. Did not get a chance to take advantage of free continental breakfast, free internet with good speed was included in the room rate which was $69 a night. If you get hungry in the middle of the night, you can call front desk for menus of restaurants that are open late and delivers. All expectations were met and then some, I'd definitely return!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uscballer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanie K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Thank you for your excellent review. It was so informative for future travelers. Please keep us in mind for any future stays in Chicago. We look forward to taking care of you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Address: 216 E Ontario St, Chicago, IL 60611-3258
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#38 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Family Hotel in Chicago
#50 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Marriott Flagship Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago downtown hotel. Our unique, contemporary hotel features 15 stories, located in the heart of the Magnificent Mile, with 185 guestrooms and suites. We are friendly, fun, but yet down to business. We provide a comfortable, affordable oasis in Chicago’s Downtown. All rooms include breakfast and high speed Wi-Fi Internet. We are one of the closest hotels to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Chicago Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Fairfield Inn Chicago
Fairfield Chicago
Chicago Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing