We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud but nice”
Review of City Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
City Suites Hotel
Ranked #112 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loud but nice”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

I stayed in a room on the front side of the hotel on the second floor. It was a nice, clean, and comfortable room but was very noisy. The train station next door meant that late at night and early in the morning you could hear the train and the announcements. The radiator in the bathroom made lots of noises through the night as well. My room was small, but well furnished. I am not a light sleeper and was very tired the week that I stayed here so all the noise didn't bother me too much, but this is something to keep in mind if noise keeps you awake.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TijuanaJuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    201
    59
    30
    23
See reviews for
117
152
52
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

My family recently stayed at the City Suites and found it to be just lovely. The standard rooms are rather small, my husband and I upgraded to a suite which was spacious and comfortable though not especially stylish or trendy.

A few upsides that we found include:
--the fabulous shower: I honestly can't remember the last time I had a shower that great (other than at home!)
--The location: if you want to be near Lakeview and right on the L, this is a great option. It also close to things like a frozen yogurt shop, a Jamba Juice, a Potbelly, Ann Sathers, etc...
--There is a lovely "living room" where we spent time relaxing - coffee and tea all day, a microwave, a fireplace and cookies in the afternoon, it was very cozy and comfortable.
--A basic breakfast is included with the room and wifi is free!
--The staff were really helpful and eager to please!

The only downside I can think of is that it was a bit noisy - we could hear people talking both in the hallway outside our room and also outside on the street. My uncle's room was on the other side of the hallway from ours and he said that he could hear the announcement from the platform of the L...

That said, if you don't mind a bit of noise, it's great value for the price!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keshira haLev F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at the City Suites Hotel, Staff very friendly and helpful from check in till check out. Room very comfortable, up & down side to this hotel is it proximity to the L (maybe 100’), we could hear they platform announcements from our room, if you are a light sleeper this will most likely be a problem for you and I recommend staying somewhere else. The heat situation in the rooms with the radiators was a bit of an issue, not knowing a 100% how they work it did make the room temperature a little tricky to regulate. To me these minor issues would not keep me from stay at this hotel again (I will be staying here again in the spring to go to a Cubs game).

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psasquatch99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnsville, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

My college age daughter and I stayed at this hotel for a dance event at Links Hall. We really liked the fact that it was so close to everything. Put us right in the heart of busy Wrigleyville/Boystown. So much to do and see. We loved the old time feel of this hotel and how comfortable it was. We requested a room away from the el station and did not hear a thing. It was very quiet! We hopped on the train which is right next door and took it into the loop and back. Friendly staff! I did not know about the complimentary continental breakfast so that could have been better advertised. We missed it.

Room Tip: I had heard the hotel could be noisy because of the close proximity to the train station. I requeste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNmade15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Stayed for a day and night at City Suites Hotel with my Best friend and twin brother. Had a wonderful time! Love Chicago and Love City Suites Hotel. Coming back Soon!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

My partner and I recently stayed at the City Suites for a long weekend getaway.We got a great rate on their website, $89 a night for a King Suite. The hotel is conveniently located next to the red line stop at Belmont. We called ahead and requested a room on the quiet side of the hotel and of course when we checked in the only available room was on the side next to the train tracks. The room was comfortable and clean but we defiantly heard the train all night long.The suite consistent of two rooms, the living room had a couch, mini refrigerator and a desk. The king bed and pillows were comfy. There was an all night party going on in one or two of the rooms on our floor which also spilled out into the hallway which went on until about 5 AM. So between the train and the party we didn't get much sleep the first night. The staff at the front desk agreed to move us to another room on the quiet side for the rest of our stay. The new room was very quiet however there was a problem with heat, it wouldn't turn off so it felt like we were in a sauna. Our trip was in the middle of December and we had to run the air-condition on high to keep the temperature comfortable. Seems like a big waste of energy. The hotel offers free wireless in the rooms and also free breakfast.This was a big plus and the breakfast was really good and consisted of juice, milk, coffee, hot tea and hot chocolate, cereal, fruit cups, yogurt, doughnuts,Danishes, muffins, hard boiled eggs and Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwiches. The hotel is a great locations for those visiting the bars and clubs in boystown. Lots of great restaurants are right outside the door. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would defiantly stay here again if the price was right.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the train tracks
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kcbeefy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

My sister and I stayed at City Suites in September during a Bridal Market at the Merchandise Mart. Very clean room and bathroom. Comfy beds, nice complimentary breakfast in a.m. Staff extremely attentive and helpful. Sitting area separate from sleeping area. Lots of good reasonable restaurants within walking distance (went to the Thai place twice). The hotel is a 30 second walk to an EL station and the train gets you right into the station to the Merchandise Mart. The hotel is not downtown, kind of a neighborbood but seemed very safe. Free wi-fi @ hotel. Will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room when booking.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank bonniegw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#54 of 190 in Chicago
780 reviews
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#73 of 190 in Chicago
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#147 of 190 in Chicago
229 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Suites Hotel

Property: City Suites Hotel
Address: 933 W Belmont Ave, Chicago, IL 60657-4408
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lakeview
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#81 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#81 Family Hotel in Chicago
#92 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your City Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing