We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Sofitel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #23 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Jackson, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great stay at the Sofitel”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I booked the Sofitel for $113 a night on Hotwire, which is a pretty good deal to begin with. I had called a few weeks prior to arrival to ask for a high floor room and a king bed. When we arrived, they informed us that Hotwire bookings are for "standard" rooms, floors 14 and below. They could not grant our request, but they did give us a room on the 14th floor with a terrific view of the Hancock Tower. I was very pleased with how this was handled. Some hotels (especially upscale ones) will treat you like second-class guests if you book through Hotwire or Priceline. I feel the Sofitel treated our request with respect and did the next best thing to giving us an actual upgrade. This earned major points from me right from the start.

The location of the hotel is great, right between Rush and State streets on Chestnut St. This means you are just steps from a great breakfast at Tempo Cafe, great pizza at Pizanos, groceries at the Potash market, bars and restaurants on Rush St, and Michigan Ave shopping.

The lobby is not huge, but has a welcoming vibe...a little bit dark and classy feel to it, with fresh flowers all around. The restaurant is on your left when you enter. We didn't dine there, but they do have free coffee and tea at the restaurant bar in the morning.

There are 5 elevators, so we never had to wait for one. The room, 1411, was excellent. It is of medium size with a large bathroom. The room has a comfy king bed, a Bose radio with iPhone connection, large windows, soft carpet, and FREE wireless internet. The internet is not blazing fast, but it is free. The bathroom is spacious and very clean, with a separate walk-in shower and bathtub. The L'Occitane bath products are excellent. The housekeeping staff is great. You never even notice them, they are so efficient.

I've wanted to stay at the Sofitel for years, and it didn't disappoint. It compares favorably to our stays at the Hilton Conrad and the Westin River North, also in Chicago. We would definitely stay here again, especially with a great price on Hotwire.

Room Tip: The best view seems to be the one facing East toward Michigan Ave. If you are facing North or West...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msu17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,918
    1,003
    183
    59
    41
See reviews for
675
1,598
313
1,024
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Bloomfield, MI
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We have stayed in the Sofitel New York and this hotel was more impressive. The location is perfect. Very easy walking distance to Michigan ave. From check in to check out, the service was top notch. The rooms are very clean and well kept. We enjoyed a nicely prepared French breakfast in the hotel restaurant (a little pricey). The hotel rate was very reasonable. Will be back soon.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelieverMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Great location! Great atmosphere and lobby. Rooms are on the small side, but what makes the Sofitel the most specials and the place I always return to is the RIDICULOUSLY comfortable bed. I've spent thousands of dollars to recreate it at my home and I just can't do it..

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shower-Critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Sofitel was very well thought out, both in the common areas and in the rooms. It had many touchs we appreciated, such as a small light in the bathroom so you did not have to turn on the main light if you used it during the night. The staff was very friendly, and it did not seem to be the institutional friendliness where they are checking off the box as instructed from above. I am sure they are trained to be friendly, but they do a better job of following through than most places. The service was excellent without being smothering. Our room was not large, but in a big city, is was more than adequate for two people. The room and our stay was not perfect, but we would have to search for minor issues to complain about.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I like Sofitels. They are usually very similar and you know what you are getting. A comfy bed, decent breakfast, clean rooms and in a good location. The Water Tower doesn't let you down on any of these, however having just come from the Intercontinental Time Square I miss a few of the touches they have. No easily reachable power sockets near the bed for example. The IC has lamps with sockets built in, spread out over the room, so never a problem finding somewhere convenient to charge up the many devices you now carry. No iPod dock so you can charge up your iPod or iPhone, though there was a Bose player with an aux port.

Wifi should be free, it costs so little to the hotel to provide so it's good to see the Sofitel offering it free, however what they mean is they give you an extremely low throughput for free, but you have to pay if you want to do anything more than browsing. Wifi reception in my room was also extremely poor. It didn't work near the desk or sofa, and near the bed it kept cutting out. Maybe the strange building shape means they didn't put their APs in properly?

I did get upgraded (due to their loyalty program) but from a high floor room to a low floor suite. They tell me it's their policy to only offer high floors on request. Bit odd, but they did sort out a new room after a bit of pushing them.

Overall it's a nice hotel but they could do a with a bit of a refurb and think about what guests need nowadays.

Room Tip: Request a high floor, there are no views form the lower ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chistery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We needed a hotel for a quick one night stay and wanted to make sure we were close to Rush street and the bars for some entertainment. Our favorite steak house is close by as well, so when we decided to use Hotwire to get a good rate, we really hoped we'd get either the Four Seasons or the Sofitel because of their location and fancy digs. We were not disapointed with the Sofitel at all. Great location, linens were very high quality as were the room interiors. Small rooms, but your downtown Chicago in luxury, not at the Residence Inn O'Hare. The designers made good use of space with the closets and seating etc. Great layout and no complaints what-so-ever. We'd go back. Don't miss the french breakfast in the cafe either, not cheap, but very yum.

Room Tip: Choose a room high up and away from the elevators for the most quiet location. All the interiors wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crimsonrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Good rooms with wonderful spacious bathrooms. Centrally located. Very helpful staff.
It is a busy commercial hotel but we stayed on a weekend and found it was pleasantly quiet.
Good rates. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teresian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 190 in Chicago
2,790 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#8 of 190 in Chicago
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#22 of 190 in Chicago
4,601 reviews
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#14 of 190 in Chicago
2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611-2664 (Formerly Sofitel Chicago Water Tower)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Chicago
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#19 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing