We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would stay there again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chicago Getaway Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chicago Getaway Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Bolungarvík
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would stay there again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

We got there and were updated to our own private room! The free breakfast and wi-fi is a nice touch. Not alot going on for the under 21 guests that cant go to the pubcrawls.. A bit frim the trainstation into the city.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kristruna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    907
    540
    118
    51
    41
See reviews for
153
249
580
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

I stayed in the Getaway last summer for 8 nights & it was the best idea I had all summer. The breakfasts are brilliant catering for everyone, the planned nights out and trips around the city are A1 with an outing everyday on a weekly planner. Great atmosphere. The BBQ's are fun and its a very social hostel. Will be back all the way from Ireland!!

Room Tip: Get a room with a bathroom as the communal showers and toilets can be a few minutes away from the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bekka T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

The location is great and rooms are top notch. We had a large group over and after a long flight from Ireland (8 hours) and a 40 minute taxi ride from O'Hare we were all tired. The staff were friendly, got us checked in quick and were very helpful through out the stay.

The card system for doors is very good in the evenings you can only access the building and from common area to the rooms by card. So even when we landed back in late from a night out we had no issues getting back into the hostel. Just don't lose your card, it'll cost you 5 bucks and you won't get in. Lucky enough no one from our group lost one.

There are a number of bars with in walking distance and the table toppers at the lionshead were good value for money if you have a large group that like beer!

Lincoln Park & Lake Michigan are near by, if you don't mind walking and exploring the sites. The redline Fullerton stop for the 'L' to downtown is around a 7 min walk from the hostel which is very handy.

Breakfast in the morning was great and free!!! A selection of cereal, bagels, toast, fresh fruit & coffee!

When we were over there was a mini heat wave which is abnormal for March time in Chicago, which made the rooms pretty hot and hard to sleep at times! The Air conditioners don't normally go into the rooms until later in the year when it gets very hot and humid. But still I couldn't recommend this Hostel highly enough! We all had a great time in Chicago!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ardcrinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goiania, GO
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Greatest common area possible and a very helpful and friendly staff.
Best services you could expect from a hostel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hugomcastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

I organized a trip for a 18 piece luxembourgish wind band. I discovered the Getaway Hostel by chance when I was looking for a place to stay for my band.
And what you see on the website&great facebook page IS TRUE! It is even better! After a long transatlantic flight we arrived at the hostel, and I got for the first time in contact with the Team! I felt immediately at home, superfriendly&cool(and this was always the case!!)
The building itself is awesome, it is all modern&clean! The rooms itself are great, beds are clean and comfortable, airconditioning in the room was great, especially in august.
The card system for doors is great, in the evening you can only access the building/way to the rooms by card, which is important. As we had expensive instruments with us, we could leave them in our rooms , and explore Chicago!
The location of the hostel is great, just a few meters away from pubs&all you need to be happy! Lake Michigan is also near by as well as a CTA stop.¨
Breakfast in the morning was great! All you need, fresh fruits,good coffee & more!

All in all i was very very happy to have stayed at this place, especially because i did not know what was waiting for me & my group in Chicago, because i only knew the hostel from photos!

I will for sure return to the Getaway Hostel!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luxembourg1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

The location is great, the decor and rooms are top notch - this is more a hotel than a hostel. The only drawback is that very fact. In a hostel you expect a bit more sharing, bit more queuing for the toaster, perhaps chatting with the new people who just got in and maybe take part in some drinking games there and then in the hostel. This isnt the case with the Getaway. Not as much interaction despite the common rooms, especially for a single traveller or couple from another country. There are posters advertising various events , but these inevitably take place in some sort of local bar, rather than in front of the tv.
Definitely worth going to though. Major tip - there is a brilliant little deli-shop that sells almost everything you can imagine. Try the chocolate dessert - blows your mind.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

I have stayed here twice already, but it has taken me some time to get on here and write a review. I am a business man, and I am always looking for a getaway any chance I can get. And also I am a single night-owl who loves to let loose every chance I can get.

In November of 2011, my friend me a glowing recommendation for this hostel, and to be honest I was not really sure about a hostel. But I gave it a try because I was really REALLY needing a couple of days away, and I couldn't afford much. But what I discovered when I walked in was beyond my wildest expectations! It was a very clean, organized, PROFESSIONAL, and friendly place. All four of these qualities are very important for me when it comes to any lodging, and most places have all but forgotten these concepts for the sake of higher profits. What this place does is attain to all those while the prices stay down, and I like that, especially in Chicago where everything is so expensive.

Another thing was the concept of sharing a room with six other people from different countries, which I will admit kind of petrified me at first, but making new friends was beyond easy to do and I got along real well, especially since the staff doesn't let a lot of wildness happen. A lot of the people I met became my drinking buddies that night... particularly since that night a darling lady took us all to a blues club, which brings me to the night owl part. I stayed there two nights, but they provide fun for all seven. Every night it's something. It's like the United Nations at the hostel but the nicest people are there. If you want to be alone, there are so many things to do surrounding the hostel and the staff is a bunch of know-it-alls when it comes to what to do in Chicago, to which I rejoiced. I WANT know-it-alls and not just some idiot in the front desk watching TV and responding to questions with "uh i dunno"

It was just as good as the first when I returned in January. And I also plan on coming back next month for St. Patrick's Day. And the staff will also know that this is the place I plan to stay every time I come to Chicago for one of my "getaways"... keep up the wonderful work and I shall see you all real soon!

Room Tip: bottom bunk... especially if your like me and like to keep with the ground, if you know what i mean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#69 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Lincoln Park
Days Inn Chicago
Days Inn Chicago
#84 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#47 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Lakeview
BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
West Town
Urban Holiday Lofts
Urban Holiday Lofts
#4 of 57 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago Getaway Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Getaway Hostel

Property: Chicago Getaway Hostel
Address: 616 W Arlington Pl, Chicago, IL 60614-2682
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lincoln Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Chicago Getaway Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable Style in Chicago's Chic Lincoln Park Located in Chicago's affluent Lincoln Park, the Chicago Getaway Hostel is rewriting the house rules on hostel style. Policies once etched in stone are being cast aside in favor of fresher, friendlier approach. Membership fees are out and hotel-like amenities are in at this stately 1928 Georgian Revival landmark that, ironically, returns to its early 20th century roots as a boardinghouse for women. Today, all guests are welcome to enjoy free breakfast, free WiFi, free linens, free housekeeping, a 24/7 chef-caliber kitchen and a BYOB policy. Add nightly events like pub crawls, brewery tours and barbecues and it's easy to see why Chicago Getaway is fast becoming the city's favorite spot for affordable short-term and extended-stay accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Chicago Getaway Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Getaway Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing