We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Big Bus Chicago: Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour by Open-Top Bus
1,742

Book in advance
from
C$69.50
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Buckingham Fountain
from C$69.50
More Info
from C$58.40
More Info
from C$52.77
More Info
from C$67.33
More Info
Reviews (3,432)
Filter reviews
3,432 results
Traveller rating
2,001
1,062
292
50
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,001
1,062
292
50
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grant park lake michigan city skyline visiting chicago navy pier the bean versailles backdrop benches dusk landmark beauty lakeshore stroll downtown sculptures
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 3,432 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2019

At first look the Buckingham Fountain was spouting like a geyser way up into the air. It then settled down to a more grouped effect. I thought it was beautiful. I understand that the fountain is timed to reach it full height after so many minutes. Someone mentioned at least once every hour but I am not sure how often.

There is symbolism about the sculptures so you might look up on line for the details about the fountain to get a better appreciation of this structure. We had a guide there with us.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank yellowbirdVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 13, 2019

The fountain, located in Grant Park, reminded me of the fountain in Central Park, NY. With the Boston Marathon coming up in a few days, the tents and port-a-potties basically made taking photos difficult.

Date of experience: October 2019
2  Thank LoriGrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 13, 2019

South of the Millennium garden the other park area you can easily locate the Buckingham Fountain, in full flow in the summer its worth locating and getting some spray from it, beautiful fountian.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank TeamWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 12, 2019

This was my first trip to Chicago and while it is a historic fountain, now that I've seen it once I probably wouldn't go out of my way to see it again. I really enjoyed Grant Park and the walk across from the fountain to Lake Michigan. Lovely area.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 10, 2019 via mobile

Whilst in Millennium Park we decided to head over to Buckingham Fountain as we had read about the shows.

There was a lot of work going on within the park to prepare for the Chicago marathon and this did spoil the view of the fountain with the skyline in the background.

Sadly during our visit we didn’t see the show but nonetheless the fountain was impressive.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank hannahw504
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews