We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Big Bus Chicago: Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour by Open-Top Bus
1,740

Book in advance
from
C$69.57
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Buckingham Fountain
from C$69.57
More Info
from C$58.45
More Info
from C$52.82
More Info
from C$67.39
More Info
Reviews (3,429)
Filter reviews
3,429 results
Traveller rating
1,998
1,062
292
50
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,998
1,062
292
50
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grant park lake michigan city skyline visiting chicago navy pier the bean versailles backdrop benches dusk landmark beauty lakeshore stroll downtown sculptures
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 3,429 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2019

We wandered down to have a look at the fountain without realising that the pipes that feed the fountain are drained in the winter months to prevent them freezing. It must be a magnificent sight when it is operational. It did give us a good opportunity to look at the statues unimpeded.

Date of experience: November 2019
1  Thank Philippa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 14, 2019

We rented bikes and rode up and down the lakefront. It was so nice to see a variety of people walking, running, riding, running their dog, skating, and all getting along on a beautiful summer day.We stopped at Buckingham fountain and I never get tired of the beauty imposed by this structure. A must see on a visit to Chicago - day or night, any season of the year.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank jmrdfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 8, 2019

I was looking forward to coming to Chicago and seeing this fountain. I don't know why, Ive just always wanted to see it, and I did see it - empty. Yeah, no water. Most annoyingly, we were here on 1-3 May and there were signs everywhere saying the fountain was due to be turned on 5 May. Sigh.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank BagmanNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 31, 2019

a must see during the day and at night too. Make sure to walk around the entire fountain and walk a few more steps to the lake

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank ISOtravelbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 30, 2019 via mobile

Everything about this historic 1927 fountain is gigantic. It was built for a huge sum of money in its time, the equivalent of about $11 million, by a private citizen as a memorial to her brother. It shoots a huge 150-foot-tall jet of water into the air during its water shows, which happen from April to October. Even its symbolic meaning is “huge” in the sense that ‪the fountain‬ is meant to represent nearby Lake Michigan itself. If you’re in Grant Park, especially during the warmer months, make it a point to see ‪the fountain‬ in action.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank AlexB10499
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews