We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Big Bus Chicago: Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour by Open-Top Bus
1,740

Book in advance
from
C$69.57
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Buckingham Fountain
from C$69.57
More Info
from C$58.45
More Info
from C$52.82
More Info
from C$67.39
More Info
Reviews (3,429)
Filter reviews
3,429 results
Traveller rating
1,998
1,062
292
50
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,998
1,062
292
50
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grant park lake michigan city skyline visiting chicago navy pier the bean versailles backdrop benches dusk landmark beauty lakeshore stroll downtown sculptures
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 3,429 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2024

A Chicago Landmark, the Buckingham Fountain located in Grant Park is beautiful. It is best experienced when it is illuminated at night during the summer months when the fountain is working. The water is turned off during most of the year and a visit here is not worthwhile during those times. The photo with the fountain and the Chicago Skyline in the background is stunning.

Date of experience: April 2023
Thank TravelingSoccerLoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 2, 2023 via mobile

I’ve been to Chicago several times, but always in the fall, so the fountain has always been turned off. I had high hopes going here, but it didn’t rate five stars.

The fountain is open 8 AM to 11 PM, May through October. There is supposed to be a nighttime light and music show, but the night I went, it was just the regular lights. It’s supposed to be every hour on the hour, so I waited quite some time to no avail.

It wasn’t five stars for me for the following reasons: no light and music show as promised, no benches or seating (maybe it was moved for lollapalooza, but doubtful), and there were tons of those annoying cycle rickshaws wrapped in neon lights. They just kept circling around the fountain blasting Miley Cyrus.

This is a neat display, and is one of the largest fountains in the world, so it’s worth a visit, but the city could make it more hospitable to visitors with some seating and actually stick to the show schedule.

Date of experience: August 2023
1  Thank hrobinson1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 22, 2023 via mobile

This was on my list of things to see while visiting Chicago. It is a must see! It is larger and more impressive than I expected

Date of experience: June 2023
Thank 308kellip
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 20, 2023 via mobile

Very cool fountain. Big and unique you don’t see many like this everywhere. Lots of cool flower gardens in the area, near the lake. Just a pretty spot to check out

Date of experience: June 2023
Thank 629ashleyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 18, 2023 via mobile

One of the best fountains we have visited and we saw a lot recently on a tour of Western Europe.
Such a relaxing vibe with so much seating scattered around that you really get the chance to stop, take a breath and admire its design and capabilities.

Date of experience: June 2023
Thank amidlifeadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews