We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Location, Fun Atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hard Rock Hotel Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
Ranked #103 of 186 Hotels in Chicago
Boonton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Location, Fun Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

The first time we stayed at this property last year, we woke in the morning to find the entire property without hot water....in December. Not fun. This stay was so much more pleasant. The service from the front desk staff was quick and courteous, the lobby and spacious rooms were clean and well decorated and the location right on Michigan Avenue can't be beat. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
It is very exciting to see that we have improved so much since your first stay with us! Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed a spacious, clean room as well as our modern atmosphere. It is also great to see that our staff was courteous and efficient, and we hope you had a fun time exploring the city. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,027
    814
    401
    165
    108
See reviews for
367
858
159
602
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed at the Hard Rock Chicago on a weekend trip to Chicago because of a coupon on Living Social for half off a night's stay. The hotel is in a really good location on Michigan Ave (between the Magnificient Mile shopping and the Millenium Park/Art Institute) so we were able to walk everywhere. Also, there was a parking garage on the same block so there would not be a hassle to park (we did use valet though to get the full 'rock star' experience).

The hotel itself was very 'rock star': everything was black, grey or dark purple and dark. Our room and bathroom were decent sized; the furnishings were sparse but fit the theme. We had a corner room on the 7th floor with nice views of the skyline. The room service was also good, not exceptional but satisfying. Since neither of us play guitar, we did not take advantage of the free Fender rental; I was too nervous about breaking it to attempt it. The drawback with the hotel was noise; the doors allow for noise to come through and street noise was audible. And because its a 'rock and roll' hotel, the other guests like to enjoy in rock and roll behavior (aka loud).

We did not take advantage of the China Grill or Angels & Kings club to review them.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on Wacker Avenue on a higher floor for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kropee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Thank you very much for your review! We are so pleased to see that you enjoyed a great deal at our hotel, and we are glad that you felt like a rock star in the city. It is wonderful to see that you liked our atmosphere and had a nice time in a spacious room with an enhanced view of Chicago. We are really looking forward to launching our new restaurant concept in a few months, and we hope you return to try that and Angels & Kings. We appreciate your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

For the price I got, this was a fantastic deal! The rooms were very clean and very modern. The view from our room left a little bit to be desired, but we didn't go to Chicago for the room view. The hotel is very secure as you need your key card to use the elevators. It's relatively close to the "L" stations too.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teez52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
It is awesome to see that you got a fantastic deal at our hotel! We are thrilled that you enjoyed our clean, modern atmosphere, and we are so happy to see that you felt safe at our secure property as well. We hope you had a fun time exploring the city, and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you very much for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

My wife and I took an un-scheduled trip to Chicago, IL this past weekend for our birthdays. The Travelocity rep said the Hard Rock Hotel in Chicago off of Michigan was a 4 star rated hotel and recommended it. I normally check stuff like this out before going on a trip but this time I let her handle the trip. I decided to read the reviews the next day on tripadvisor and was pleasantly surprised that there were quite a few 5 star ratings and those with issues were acknowledged my management. I could only hope it was this good for us. Fast forward to the next business and my Positive review of the Hard Rock. It was Great. The room was nice and spacious and the location to everything was a nice perk too. We pretty much didn't try anything else at the hotel since we were out and about everyday till late but everytime I needed directions somewhere or a recommendation, the Concierge was more than happy to help us out...Nice guys. Just to add we decided to be adventurous and take the CTA from O'Hare to downtown Chicago and I was not disappointed there either. The "L" train, or Blue line, gets you to Clark and Lake, where we needed to get off, and walk down to Michigan and the hotel is around the corner from there. Compared to a 30-40 dollar cab ride, we paid $2.75 a ticket each one way and it was safe. So put the Hard Rock Hotel Chicago on your list of places to stay at.

Room Tip: Make sure and don't get a room with a connecting door. ONce of the people in the adjacent room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Wow! We are absolutely thrilled to see that you and your wife had a wonderful birthday celebration at our hotel! It is wonderful that our concierge staff was more than happy to assist you, and it looks like you had a fantastic time exploring Chicago. We are really happy that you enjoyed staying in a spacious, comfortable room, and we sincerely appreciate your feedback. Thanks so much for your glowing review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

My family and I had a great time at the Hard Rock Hotel this weekend, and it was perfect for celebrating my son's 16th birthday. It was a guitar-loving teenager's dream to be able to check out a high-end electric guitar and take it to our room for him to play! They give headphones with the guitars so you don't rattle the walls and disturb other guests, which is nice. But I would have liked to have heard him play - the headphones make it impossible for anyone to hear but the musician who is playing the guitar.

I expected the "rock star" theme to be more extreme than it was, but it was rather subdued. The lobby was tiny, dark and had loud music blaring, which was a bit odd (hard time hearing at check-in and getting directions from the concierge), but yet made us feel like we were in for a good time. It was fun to go floor to floor to see which rock star was featured on each level and to see some memorabilia.

The room was stylishly decorated. However, it was dark in the room's hallway and especially dark in the bathroom which made it very difficult for my husband to shave and me to get ready in the morning. There is a very dimly-lit makeup mirror that did little to no good. No one likes to get ready in the dark! The beds and pillows were very comfy. My main complaint in the room was the windows - they did very little to drown out the street noise and we were 22 stories high! Drawing the curtains did offer some help, but the blaring sirens that we heard throughout the night sounded like they were right in the room with us.

Staff was friendly, concierge was extremely helpful, valet was professional. We had to wait well beyond check-in time for our room to be ready which was a pain, but they gave my husband some free drink tickets to use while we waited. Too bad the free drinks didn't help us as it was a family trip and we aren't big drinkers.

Room service is extremely overpriced. We are experienced travelers and know what to expect, but $15 for a scoop of ice cream ($9 + $3 fee + tax and tip)? Ridiculous!

The Hard Rock Hotel is within walking distance of several good restaurants and some shopping.

Honestly, this hotel is average as far as downtown Chicago hotels at this price range go, but my son loved it, so I'm giving it a "very good" rating.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, request a room that isn't on a corner. The windows aren't well i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LovesIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
We are so pleased to see that you and your family had a fun time celebrating at our hotel, but we wish you had been more impressed with our atmosphere. Although it does not look like our hotel was your style, we are glad to see that your son had a blast rocking out with one of our Fender guitars and enjoyed his birthday vacation. It is wonderful that our staff was so helpful and professional, and we really appreciate your feedback so we can provide more positive experiences in the future. Thank you very much for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

My wife and I stayed here for our 20th wedding anniversary weekend. Bellhop was great. Gave us 4 free passes for drinks. Concierge gave us free comedy passes. Great place.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank packer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you very much for your glowing review! We are so honored that you celebrated your wedding anniversary at our hotel, and we are thrilled that our staff helped make your stay special. Congratulations! It looks like you had a wonderful time in the city, and we appreciate your comments. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

My wife and I spent two nights at the hotel and we both enjoyed the stay. I especially felt at home because the personnel did not wear costumes like some hotels have their bellman and valets wear; this is a fine hotel that does not make you feel that you do not belong there. It has a very nice fitness center, at no charge and open 24 hours. The location is terrific, close to museums and shopping as well as restaurants. If you want a stuffy hotel that is very formal don't come here. If you want a good time, this is the place.

Room Tip: If you pay a little more a room with a view is available. If you book at their website I believe tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redinked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockMGR, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
We are absolutely thrilled that you were so comfortable at our hotel! It is wonderful to see that you enjoyed our recently renovated fitness center, and it looks like you had a blast exploring the area surrounding our centrally located hotel as well. We feature upgraded room types with enhanced city views, and we do offer complimentary WiFi for reservations booked directly through our website. Thank you very much for your review! We are glad you shared your thoughts with us, and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#60 of 186 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#9 of 186 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Chicago

Property: Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
Address: 230 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-5906
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#63 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#83 Business Hotel in Chicago
#85 Family Hotel in Chicago
#85 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown Chicago, IL hotel offering suites, spa services, pet friendly rooms, meeting space and wedding venues. Guests can also enjoy nightlife at the hotel’s bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Chicago
Chicago Hard Rock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing