We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location, amenities, and staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
Ranked #18 of 186 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lisle, Illinois
1 review
“Great location, amenities, and staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Amalfi with two other couples and had a wonderful time! The location of the Amalfi couldn't be much better; the proximity to restaurants, bars, and clubs provides a great base to explore the city. The room was spacious and clean. We loved the manager's reception and the breakfast service on each floor. Large bathroom made it easy for both of us to get ready at the same time. Highly recommend this upscale and sleek hotel and can't wait to stay there again!

Room Tip: Our room on the 5th floor overlooked Kinzie to the south and State to the east. No problems with no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel_R_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
What a kind review! We’re thrilled to know you and your wife had such a wonderful stay with us and found our location in the River North district a “great base to explore the city” as you so fittingly put it! I’m pleased you found our rooms to your liking—especially our spacious bathrooms! We truly appreciate your gracious words and look forward to welcoming you back upon your next stay!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,576
    625
    138
    35
    19
See reviews for
406
879
111
487
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

I just stayed at the Amalfi with my sister and niece (6 years old) while we played tourist in Chicago. The staff was amazing and hotel was the perfect experience. Clean, modern and I loved the breakfast service on every floor (lots of folks in their jammies grabbing a pastry or coffee. The nightly cocktail hour is such a great idea. How nice to be able to unwind after a long day hitting the sites. Nordstrom's is conveniently located around the corner along with tons of great restaurants and sites within walking distance. We had several special requests and the staff were responsive and fast to meet our needs. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for your thoughtful review! We’re delighted to know you had such a nice stay with us and were able to take advantage of our central location in downtown Chicago—especially with Nordstrom’s and the Magnificent Mile within walking distance!

I’m also pleased that you enjoyed our complimentary amenities like our deluxe continental breakfast conveniently served on each floor, as you mentioned. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the TripAdvisor community and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Cordially,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charleston, sc
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

my friends and i stayed at the amalfi for a long weekend of shopping, eating and drinking. the staff here are wonderful, great breakfast and evening manager's reception. room was super clean with no problems. great shower pressure and spacious bathroom is much needed for 3 girls getting ready at the same time. small and quiet. can't wait to visit again -

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank courtchick54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelby Township, MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

I travel to Chicago for work about every other month for an entire week, and I always choose to stay at the Amalfi. Not only is it a great location with excellent rooms, but the staff there are nothing short of perfection. The experience designers are always helpful and welcoming and the bellmen are fantastic. They even recognize me now when I come to town because I stay there so often. The breakfast on every floor is great, and I always attend the happy hour. The price is usually reasonable, and even if I was going to the city for pleasure I would still choose to stay there. It's my favorite!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gvile
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

had a great time at a great hotel. staff was wonderful. food was wonderful. quiet. close to good shopping, dining, attractions. can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tillielover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We all know travel can be stressful and where we reside upon our travel is absolutely important. I travel to Chicago nearly 7 times a year and choose Amalfi Hotel not only for the convenience and great rooms but the staff and overall experience is worth it. There are endless restaurants and convenient shopping whether you wish to shop State or Michigan Avenue.

Safe Travels to you…

Derek Smith

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
181 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

It was a very good location for us - and a nice place. The staff was very helpful including for a couple special requests that we made. The happy hour was nice with some decent hors d'ouerves. The breakfast is kind of different with presentation near the elevators on each floor - but features good coffee and a pretty wide continental offering. A couple times we saw things run out on our floor but generally they seemed pretty on top of keeping it stocked.

My room had some noise from a parking garage door that would beep at all hours, but generally the sound proofing seemed good for a busy location.

Rooms were comfortable and a bit stylish. Internet was very good though it did halt a couple times. Pricing is quite reasonable for the location - all in all a very good choice.

Room Tip: Not much view so rooms in the back could be a quieter choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSpear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#14 of 186 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,966 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 186 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#9 of 186 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#15 of 186 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Property: Kinzie Hotel
Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654-6392
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Chicago
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#16 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinzie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago. Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H2O Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. Every evening from 5pm - 8pm, guests are welcome to unwind during our nightly reception in the Double Cross Lounge. Each guest will receive one complimentary drink per night and can enjoy an assortment of hors d'oeuvres. Stay connected with lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you'll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing