We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regeneration time!”
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
Ranked #20 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We chose the Almalfi Hotel because of the excellent recommendations from relatives who had stayed previously. We could not have been more pleased. The location was prime for our stat, We utilized the 'L' train and the walk was and comfortable 3 block stroll just over the Chicago River. Shopping all over and within very easy walking. A great stop for a brew and to meet new friends is just across the street at 'Harry Caray's Italian Steakhouse.' ALL of the staff at the Amalfi was 'excellent' from the moment we approached the hotel as we were greeted by friendly and smiling staff. The check-in process was again, friendly, smooth, professional and personal (no standing at a check-in desk ~ we were invited to sit down with our receptionist and visited while checking in). The room was very clean and quiet and relaxing. Sure, you could hear some amount of street activity... after all, it is downtown Chicago..not the middle of the country. Each evening, there is a complimentary cocktail hour with food, which was very nice ~ the room does get cozy, but not overwhelming. The morning breakfast (continental style) set up on each floor by the elevator was wonderful. Lots to choose from to get your day going, and it's all set-up for taking back to your room to enjoy. Seriously... this is THE place to stay while in Chi-town.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,681 - 1,687 of 2,589 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2012

My husband and I along with our two teenages decided to speed sring break in the city. The Amalfi hotel was so nice, we had tow ajoining rooms. The rooms were very nice and clean, The staff was very nice. The location of this hotel was prefect. We walked every where. The best place for evening entertainment was at the dualing piano bar right down the block.

The hotel had the best continental breakfest, plus itwas on every floor. Very nice not having to walk down to a lobby before you mouring coffee. The also had a wonderful happy hour eith free cocktails and snacks.

I would recomend this hotel to eveyone! We can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelly r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We stayed here in mid April for 4 nights and from the moment we checked in (early at 1pm) found all the staff here to be extremely friendly and helpful. The room was very spacious for a city centre hotel with all the expected amenities. The bed and linen were very comfortable, great after a day out exploring the city. The free wi-fi, complimentary breakfast and free early evening drinks are all great touches which really enhance your stay. The location of the hotel is perfect for anyone looking to explore the city by foot and or using local public transport and there are plenty of good places to eat, drink and dance the night away close by. If you are looking to hire a car as part of your trip there is a Hertz location one block away too.

The only one minor criticism would be that the size of the towels in the bathroom are pretty small, but at least there were plenty of them.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJT01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

What a wonderful review! We’re thrilled to receive such positive guest feedback about our hotel and our team—we will be sure to pass your thoughtful comments on to them! I’m pleased you were able to enjoy all the restaurants and attractions located around us in downtown Chicago! We truly appreciate the detailed comments and tips you’ve provided for the TripAdvisor community. Many thanks and we look forward to your return visit!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

My wife and I were in Chicago for a combo work/pleasure trip for two days. I selected the Amalfi Hotel over other hotels we've stay at in Chicago for several reasons: The website pictures of the room were nice, the amenities I wanted (free wifi in rooms) were available, great location, and what specially helped to make my decision was the parking/room package, manager's evening wine/ cheese reception and the continental breakfast served on "each floor".

Our room was very clean, bathroom clean and modern. Water pressure great. Room thermostat easy to use, elevators came quickly. The front desk had our reservation and were very helpful with directions. We loved our stay. If you require any of these amenities I highly recommend that you stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SUNBUMSSantaMonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Many thanks for your kind review! It’s a pleasure to know you enjoyed your stay with us and our complimentary amenities like our deluxe continental breakfast and evening cocktail reception. As a frequent business traveler to Chicago, your comments mean a lot to us in maintaining our standards for quality and service. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you to Chicago again in the future!

Cordially,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Great hotel during my visit to Chicago. It has an excellent location and close to so many activities and restaurants. The Amalfi staff are very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable and gave us wonderful restaurant suggestions and helped us with directions for various sites of interest in the city. I will definitely stay there again!

David, from Holland, Michigan

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I was at the Amalfi for 3 nights. I was lucky that the tips i read here were correct. The hotel is on a good location, close to the Michigan Ave. Around the corner there are lot of shops, restaurants, coffees.
The reception of the hotel works quite quick, dont know why, but also the check out was completely uncomplicated.
The room had a good size, with a TV and DVD player, Iphone dock station... cosmetics from AVENA, bathrope, lot of towels, etc. Everything is very clean
The best was the happy hour: everyday at 6.00 pm! This is only for hotel guests. I read some comments that the food is not good, but this is not the sense of this. I mean, there are snacks: like cheese, olives, salami.. I mean, just for the drinks. The drinks were free. The atmosphere was really nice.
And: everymorning there is a breakfast buffett on each floor which contains: coffee, milk, juices, bread, fruits, etc.
I was really surprise about in in an american hotel.
Oh, the WIFI is also free. And the Fitness Center is not huge but has enough for training
I am sure that whenever I am coming next time to Chicago I will stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank estela10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Thank you so much for your 5-star review! We’re pleased to know you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of our central location in downtown Chicago for your shopping and dining needs! I’m happy you found our complimentary amenities to your liking—especially our evening cocktail reception and the selection of Italian hor d’oeuvres! We truly appreciate your gracious review and look forward to welcoming you back upon your next stay in Chicago!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We picked this hotel based on reviews from trip advisor. Husband has been a business traveller before and knows the importance of a clean hotel. Business people expressed the cleanliness ,helpfull staff, ease of a quick breakfast. They were not wrong. Very nice ,clean rooms,very helpful staff, great exercise room,nice breakfast, and an amazing cocktail hour.Location is the best, walking distance to many attractions. Harey Carey's , right across the street ,has the most amazing steak .

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jesse91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#5 of 192 in Chicago
369 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#17 of 192 in Chicago
1,157 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#6 of 192 in Chicago
2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654-6392
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Chicago
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $161 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinzie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago. Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H2O Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. Every evening from 5pm - 8pm, guests are welcome to unwind during our nightly reception in the Double Cross Lounge. Each guest will receive one complimentary drink per night and can enjoy an assortment of hors d'oeuvres. Stay connected with lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you'll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing