We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Amazing view and great place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
Ranked #17 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Marlborough, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing view and great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

My girlfriend and I were in Chicago for new years 2012. We got an executive suite and it was phenomenal! The view of the city was fantastic and they had a chilled bottle of wine waiting for us when we got to the room

The location is great. Very central to most things. Service was EXCELLENT!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,562
    621
    135
    35
    19
See reviews for
399
873
110
484
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
monterey park, ca
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in April 2012. Got the corner room. Its a little bit bigger with a lot of windows. Arrived early morning off the red eye and luckily for us, a room was ready. Also, hit breakfast right off the elevator. Nice selection for breakfast. Room was nice, bed was comfy. But the real great thing about this place is the location. In River North, close to the Loop, Michigan Ave and subways. Also went to the happy hour. Lots of food and drinks for all hotel guests complimentary. Would return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank quickjaunt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thank you for your 5-star review! We’re delighted to know that our team was able to accommodate your early check-in and you were able to indulge in our complimentary continental breakfast upon arrival. I’m also pleased you were able to take advantage of our central location in the downtown River North district with sites like the Mag Mile within walking distance. We’re honored to receive such a glowing recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Chicago!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

We chose the Almalfi Hotel because of the excellent recommendations from relatives who had stayed previously. We could not have been more pleased. The location was prime for our stat, We utilized the 'L' train and the walk was and comfortable 3 block stroll just over the Chicago River. Shopping all over and within very easy walking. A great stop for a brew and to meet new friends is just across the street at 'Harry Caray's Italian Steakhouse.' ALL of the staff at the Amalfi was 'excellent' from the moment we approached the hotel as we were greeted by friendly and smiling staff. The check-in process was again, friendly, smooth, professional and personal (no standing at a check-in desk ~ we were invited to sit down with our receptionist and visited while checking in). The room was very clean and quiet and relaxing. Sure, you could hear some amount of street activity... after all, it is downtown Chicago..not the middle of the country. Each evening, there is a complimentary cocktail hour with food, which was very nice ~ the room does get cozy, but not overwhelming. The morning breakfast (continental style) set up on each floor by the elevator was wonderful. Lots to choose from to get your day going, and it's all set-up for taking back to your room to enjoy. Seriously... this is THE place to stay while in Chi-town.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tripoli, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

My husband and I along with our two teenages decided to speed sring break in the city. The Amalfi hotel was so nice, we had tow ajoining rooms. The rooms were very nice and clean, The staff was very nice. The location of this hotel was prefect. We walked every where. The best place for evening entertainment was at the dualing piano bar right down the block.

The hotel had the best continental breakfest, plus itwas on every floor. Very nice not having to walk down to a lobby before you mouring coffee. The also had a wonderful happy hour eith free cocktails and snacks.

I would recomend this hotel to eveyone! We can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

We stayed here in mid April for 4 nights and from the moment we checked in (early at 1pm) found all the staff here to be extremely friendly and helpful. The room was very spacious for a city centre hotel with all the expected amenities. The bed and linen were very comfortable, great after a day out exploring the city. The free wi-fi, complimentary breakfast and free early evening drinks are all great touches which really enhance your stay. The location of the hotel is perfect for anyone looking to explore the city by foot and or using local public transport and there are plenty of good places to eat, drink and dance the night away close by. If you are looking to hire a car as part of your trip there is a Hertz location one block away too.

The only one minor criticism would be that the size of the towels in the bathroom are pretty small, but at least there were plenty of them.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJT01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
What a wonderful review! We’re thrilled to receive such positive guest feedback about our hotel and our team—we will be sure to pass your thoughtful comments on to them! I’m pleased you were able to enjoy all the restaurants and attractions located around us in downtown Chicago! We truly appreciate the detailed comments and tips you’ve provided for the TripAdvisor community. Many thanks and we look forward to your return visit!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SANTA MONICA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

My wife and I were in Chicago for a combo work/pleasure trip for two days. I selected the Amalfi Hotel over other hotels we've stay at in Chicago for several reasons: The website pictures of the room were nice, the amenities I wanted (free wifi in rooms) were available, great location, and what specially helped to make my decision was the parking/room package, manager's evening wine/ cheese reception and the continental breakfast served on "each floor".

Our room was very clean, bathroom clean and modern. Water pressure great. Room thermostat easy to use, elevators came quickly. The front desk had our reservation and were very helpful with directions. We loved our stay. If you require any of these amenities I highly recommend that you stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SUNBUMSSantaMonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Many thanks for your kind review! It’s a pleasure to know you enjoyed your stay with us and our complimentary amenities like our deluxe continental breakfast and evening cocktail reception. As a frequent business traveler to Chicago, your comments mean a lot to us in maintaining our standards for quality and service. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you to Chicago again in the future!

Cordially,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Great hotel during my visit to Chicago. It has an excellent location and close to so many activities and restaurants. The Amalfi staff are very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable and gave us wonderful restaurant suggestions and helped us with directions for various sites of interest in the city. I will definitely stay there again!

David, from Holland, Michigan

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 185 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#13 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#8 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#15 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Property: Kinzie Hotel
Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654-6392
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Chicago
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinzie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago. Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H2O Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. Every evening from 5pm - 8pm, guests are welcome to unwind during our nightly reception in the Double Cross Lounge. Each guest will receive one complimentary drink per night and can enjoy an assortment of hors d'oeuvres. Stay connected with lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you'll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing