We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
Ranked #18 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bristol, TN
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great location and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Just visited for 4 nights. I must brag a little on this hotel. Great location, great staff, and great perks. 9 out of 10 staff members were excellent and really tried to make you feel like you were at a top notch hotel. (we won't talk about the 10th since no hotel can be perfect.) The hotel is in the perfect location to walk to Mag mile, restaurants, all of the theaters, and Navy Pier. The breakfast was just enough to carry us over until lunch. The only tiny and I do mean tiny thing that I will mention (which is no reflection on the hotel) the alley directly behind the hotel is filled with dumpsters (30-I counted) and for some reason they choose 5:30am to dump them so you will wake up early if you are a light sleeper but I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Well done!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank threedragons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,599
    629
    138
    35
    19
See reviews for
411
886
111
497
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McHenry, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

Well Done Amalfi!!!

After being away for several years, my wife & I decided to celebrate our anniversary at Hotel Amalfi. We found the hotel to be every bit as wonderful as we remembered. The hotel itself is elegant, modern and hip without being pretentious as well as being located in the heart of down town Chicago. Our room was a minor suite, an unasked for but greatly appreciated upgrade, which was roomy & very comfortable. The amenities were fantastic! The delicious, complementary continental breakfast was well appreciated and got you ready for a full day on the town. The managers open bar & antipasti in the evening was a wonderful touch as well. The real jewel of this hotel was its staff! They all were very helpful and courteous. Special props go out to Karem Garcia, the Concierge, who picked up from our conversation that it was our anniversary and sent us a decadent plate of chocolate covered strawberries as a gift that evening.
My wife & I had an excellent time at Hotel Amalfi & look forward to our next stay. Thank you Karem! Thank you everyone! We are defiantly going to talk Hotel Amalfi up among our friends!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Many thanks for the lovely review! We’re delighted to receive such positive guest feedback about our hotel and our team. I’m so happy to hear Karem was able to make your anniversary a memorable one and will be sure to pass your comments on to her! We truly appreciate your glowing recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

In for business, 5 day stay. Great location, staff and rooms. Needed a special gift for my son and the staff went out of their way to accomidate. Breakfast on all floors is so convenient and the nightly happy hour was nice too. Bed's very confortable, room had all you could need. Hope to return soon. Chicago is a great city, people are so nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMAiken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012 via mobile

Confused by the rave reviews for this hotel - there was nothing wrong with my stay but nothing particularly special either. It is a smartish hotel in a good location with limited facilities. Felt more like an 'apartment hotel' than a typical 4 star hotel. Breakfast served outside the lift on each floor - why is that a wow factor? Just said to me that they didn't have the space anywhere else. Wasn't particularly cheap either - $400+ for a standard room. Wouldn't return.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdavies2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you for your comments. We take pride in the quality of service we deliver and I am disappointed to learn that it did not live up to the high standards we set for ourselves. As for our rates, they do fluctuate based on occupancy both at the hotel and in the city. We feel that with our value-added amenities, our rates are competitive for the city. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with the TripAdvisor community and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Cordially,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

My girlfriend and I were in Chicago for new years 2012. We got an executive suite and it was phenomenal! The view of the city was fantastic and they had a chilled bottle of wine waiting for us when we got to the room

The location is great. Very central to most things. Service was EXCELLENT!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monterey park, ca
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in April 2012. Got the corner room. Its a little bit bigger with a lot of windows. Arrived early morning off the red eye and luckily for us, a room was ready. Also, hit breakfast right off the elevator. Nice selection for breakfast. Room was nice, bed was comfy. But the real great thing about this place is the location. In River North, close to the Loop, Michigan Ave and subways. Also went to the happy hour. Lots of food and drinks for all hotel guests complimentary. Would return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank quickjaunt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thank you for your 5-star review! We’re delighted to know that our team was able to accommodate your early check-in and you were able to indulge in our complimentary continental breakfast upon arrival. I’m also pleased you were able to take advantage of our central location in the downtown River North district with sites like the Mag Mile within walking distance. We’re honored to receive such a glowing recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Chicago!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

We chose the Almalfi Hotel because of the excellent recommendations from relatives who had stayed previously. We could not have been more pleased. The location was prime for our stat, We utilized the 'L' train and the walk was and comfortable 3 block stroll just over the Chicago River. Shopping all over and within very easy walking. A great stop for a brew and to meet new friends is just across the street at 'Harry Caray's Italian Steakhouse.' ALL of the staff at the Amalfi was 'excellent' from the moment we approached the hotel as we were greeted by friendly and smiling staff. The check-in process was again, friendly, smooth, professional and personal (no standing at a check-in desk ~ we were invited to sit down with our receptionist and visited while checking in). The room was very clean and quiet and relaxing. Sure, you could hear some amount of street activity... after all, it is downtown Chicago..not the middle of the country. Each evening, there is a complimentary cocktail hour with food, which was very nice ~ the room does get cozy, but not overwhelming. The morning breakfast (continental style) set up on each floor by the elevator was wonderful. Lots to choose from to get your day going, and it's all set-up for taking back to your room to enjoy. Seriously... this is THE place to stay while in Chi-town.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,298 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#16 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,984 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#15 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Property: Kinzie Hotel
Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654-6392
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Chicago
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#16 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinzie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago. Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H2O Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. Every evening from 5pm - 8pm, guests are welcome to unwind during our nightly reception in the Double Cross Lounge. Each guest will receive one complimentary drink per night and can enjoy an assortment of hors d'oeuvres. Stay connected with lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you'll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing