We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique, great location”
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
Ranked #20 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice boutique, great location”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Very nice boutique hotel in a great location. The room was very comfortable with a great bathroom. Good shower water pressure and lots of counter space. Plus a magnifying mirror and even a little stool that was a nice touch. Much more space than I expected for an urban boutique.

Bed was comfortable and the linens were good quality. I like that they desk was a little lower so you could actually put your computer on it comfortably, and it rolled around so it was nice to position it where you wanted it. I could have used a few more outlets near the bed so I could plug my phone in, but overall, the room was very well put together.

The checkin was efficient and the staff very helpful. The doormen were really friendly and didn't make me feel like their hand was constantly out for a tip.

They do a breakfast buffet on every floor and it was MUCH better than I expected. It was great to just walk out and grab something. They have a cocktail hour that I never made it to - but will next time.

I ordered room service from Harry Carreys across the street. This is a great idea since they don't mark up the food, and it's great. They do add an 18% gratuity and a $2.50 service charge, but that's totally reasonable. And it was very fast. I think more hotels should do this, everyone does what they are good at!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sylvia_m0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor! We’re pleased to know your stay was a pleasant one and that you enjoyed our complimentary amenities like our deluxe continental breakfast. I’m also happy to hear you appreciated the small touches in our rooms like the vanity stool in the bathroom and the mobile desk station!

Your thoughtful comments about our front office team are appreciated as well. Thank you again for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,654
    642
    145
    38
    19
See reviews for
433
913
114
512
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed at the Amalfi hotel from May 24th to May 28th and had an amazing experience. The location of the hotel was perfect. In walking distance to all attractions and train and subwayline. Great location for shopping as well. The hotel itself was very clean and welcoming. Great touch by adding breakfast in the morning on each floor. Rooms were spacious and clean and beds were very comfortable. All the employees were wonderful and very helpful in reccommending places to visit, tours and of course great restaurants. They offered us water, lemonade which was great on those humid days and most of all were very, very freindly. Many thanks to Chase, Hillary, Karine and all who work at the front desk. Oh yes, and thanks for all the special coupons. We would not have been able to get into certain restaurants without the priority seating. Overall an amazing experience. One last very minor deatail. Providing trays for breakfast would be a great touch! Just a thought. Thanks again for everything. We will certianly visit again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank francesca91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia Ontario Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We loved the welcoming staff here and the added little touches were just fabulous. The lemon cookies at check in were so delicious and a nice gesture. The rooms are not just your average rectangles. They have different shapes and face different textural views. Our friends asked to be moved because they were facing a brick wall and the staff moved them easily. Their new room was so quirky and had a long hallway and then when you turned the corner the bedroom was there! Every night they had free hors d'oeuvres and drinks in th elounge. The drinks were great, especially their signature Amalfatini! They will give you a recipe card even! The hotel is located in the midst of everything on the Miracle Mile! The staff is helpful and wonderfully able to direct you to any attraction you are seeking. We will return when we visit Chicago again! This is such a good deal for its location and it was spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MmeMinou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Olive, Michigan, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We've stayed at the Amalfi now many times, and it's refreshing to have the staff recognize us and call us by our first names. The attention to detail and the numerous personal touches make the Amalfi hard to beat. Add to that an unbelievable location where one can walk to the best Chicago has to offer and you have the recipe for an impeccable time in the Windy City! We really love the evening reception and the breakfast - very nice, and just another example of going the extra mile for their guests.

Can't wait to book again this summer!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms, and the suites are incredible. Very quiet all around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirksey, KY
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

It's the second time we've stayed here. The location is perfect - near the subway and bus stop. The staff is EXTREMELY helpful - especially the bellmen. The afternoon Happy Hour of drinks and snacks was great. Folks gather here to socialize and we met some nice people from around the country during our stay. The breakfast is nothing fancy, but the food is fresh and good and nicely displayed on every floor. The beds and pillows are VERY comfortable. The place is spotless. The furnishings are nice. We would definitely recommend this place. (The view isn't great from some of the rooms if that's a big deal to you.)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank West-Ky-Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I know that as humans we tend to gravitate toward the familiar ...my husband and I went on a whim and decided to look at hotels that did not sound familair to us. We are so glad that we chose the amalfi. From valet to check in to evening reception to the rooms...we were so pleased! The room was spacious and the bed comfortable. The evening reception was fabulous. The location was central to everywhere we wanted to walk to. The breakfast was typical continental ...but having it on every floor was quite the bonus , especially when you don't want to head to a dining room first thing in the morning. Great stay!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cassemlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
What a gracious review! We’re delighted you and your husband decided to give us a try and to know your stay was an enjoyable one! I’m pleased you found our complimentary continental breakfast to your liking—especially the convenience of it being served on each floor! We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your review with the TripAdvisor community and look forward to welcoming you back upon your next stay in Chicago!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

I loved this hotel. The staff was great, and the experience was different than the typical hotel. I enjoyed the happy hour and the breakfast greatly.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachelmae83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 190 in Chicago
2,016 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Property: Kinzie Hotel
Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654-6392
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Chicago
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinzie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago. Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H2O Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. Every evening from 5pm - 8pm, guests are welcome to unwind during our nightly reception in the Double Cross Lounge. Each guest will receive one complimentary drink per night and can enjoy an assortment of hors d'oeuvres. Stay connected with lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you'll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing