We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great French restaurant in the heart of Chicago” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cyrano's Farm Kitchen - CLOSED

Cyrano's Farm Kitchen
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: French, Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Near North Side
Cross street: La Salle & Ohio
Transit: La Salle/Ohio bus - close to the Red Line
Description: Cyrano's Farm Kitchen, owned & operated by acclaimed chef Didier Durand, features a fresh, rustic menu from his childhood days in southwestern France. The food is French Farm Cuisine and will remind you of a simpler, healthier, tastier time. The atmosphere is warm and country and features 125-year-old barn wood. Cyrano's Farm Kitchen is located in the heart of River North.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great French restaurant in the heart of Chicago”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

We picked this out of the Lonely Planet guide and were not disappointed. A genuine french restaurant - the chef and some of the staff are french - rather than being a french-themed restaurant. The food was great, reasonably priced and the service was excellent.

I've rated it $$ as you don't need to dress up for this restaurant, and you could have a very reasonably priced meal here - but you could also blow the budget if you chose an expensive bottle of wine and the more expensive options on the menu.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rugbyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    24
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“C'est magnifique!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

If you want to feel transported to Paris, go here!

The ball and I (or is he the chain? :) came here on a warm October Saturday evening hoping for a romantic dinner out and somewhat away from the hustle and bustle of downtown. We were pleasantly surprised to be seated outside in the adorable outdoor area - it's really well set up and is much quieter than just a few blocks east of it.

The food was EXCELLENT - they started us off with a warm baguette along with an extremely tasty "butter" that had feta, sundried tomatoes and some other goodies. Altogether we tried the mussels, escargot, steak frites, coq au vin, and french lavendar crepes and everything was so delicious that when we were done our waiter asked us, "Did you guys eat today?" (we had, of course, but couldn't resist eating every bite and soaking up the sauces with the bread. yuuuuuuum).

We did wine pairings with each course and they were great, too. All in all: c'est fantastique! :-)

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank annanas28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skokie, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Food, Mediocre Atmosphere, Awful Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

My husband ordered Foie Gras for an appetizer and a rack of lamb for his main course. I ordered a grilled romaine salad and had 3 vegetarian sides for my main course (potato/radish au gratin, spinach, and a variation on slaw). We both enjoyed the food and desserts we ordered (apple tart & crepes). Even the bread & buttery spread that came before our meal was excellent.

The atmosphere for a nice French restaurant was a bit over the top. It lacked the elegance for a nice evening meal out. Every table had a white tablecloth, except ours and the table next to us. Usually we wouldn't mind, except the table felt a little sticky, and our loaf of bread was placed on our table without a serving plate. It would've been nice to have that table cloth or a plate.

The service was atrocious at times. When we walked into the restaurant, the greeter had his back turned to us for almost 5 minutes while he was on the phone. We had to ask our server repeatedly to place our order, when our food would be ready, and for a dessert menu. Even when the table next to us received their food before us (they were seated later), we did not receive any communication when our food would be out. My spouse and I are pretty lenient when it comes to service, however for a restaurant of this caliber & pricing, we felt that the service was slow and not always friendly.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank priyasamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Island, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A Great Meal and Experience for two disgruntled diners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

My wife and I went to Graham Elliot for an 8:30 reservation. We had a completely horrible experience and walked out without ordering. Thankfully, we stumbled upon Cyranos a few blocks away and our night changed from terrible to terrific (wow that sounds cheesy). Anyway, we had a great experience overall, and would recommend Cyranos to anyone. We had the Duck Terrine, Roast Rabbit, Halibut, and Lobster Bisque. All four were fabulous. The bread was amazing, and they have a killer house butter. I had a nice french beer and a glass of port to finish the night. Great service and friendly atmosphere.
The next day we went to Purple Pig as our last destination, and it was great too. Both restaurants are a must hit in Chicago. Skip the celebre-chef restaurants where the owners don't cook.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Inhumanimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Service was not attentive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

After reading about this restaurant we were excited to try it out on our last night in Chicago.

After being seated we asked for a minute to look over the wine list. About 5-10 minutes went by and no one came back to take our orders. We finally flagged down a server who was apologetic and took our order. He explained that each server thought the other was serving our table. Sine there were only two servers and this is a small restaurant, I find it surprising they were that confused.

We ordered the L'assiette of seven cheeses and thought they were average. We had better cheeses at wine bars in Delaware. Entrees were the rotisserie chicken and pecking duck. Both were good, nothing spectacular. Although the side of ratatouille as very good.

After declining dessert we asked for the check. About 10 minutes (and no check) my husband got up to ask for the check again. We then waited about 5 - 10 minutes for someone to pick up the bill.

Overall, we would not return. There are many other good restaurants in Chicago that provide prompt service and better than average food.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank suzy0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing