We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, Location, Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
AC Hotel Chicago Downtown
Ranked #66 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
116 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Not fancy, but friendly and functional. Wonderful location a short block from the Magnificent Mile and as a driver, I appreciated the very easy route from and to the Interstate.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capegirardeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at AC Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
Dear capegirardeau.
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment regarding your recent visit to the Four Points by Sheraton Chicago Downtown. We are happy you chose our hotel and enjoyed our location on the Magnificent Mile. Thank you staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Downtown Chicago.
Best regards,
Mary Orlando, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    613
    542
    142
    41
    31
See reviews for
351
320
85
279
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

The hotel stay was approximately $250 per night. Which was the going rate for any of the hotels that weekend. It was an okay hotel but not for that price. The pool had to shut down because someone threw up ..... not that they can help that, but we were expecting to keep our 9 year old happy by using the pool. The front staff was exceptional. They got us checked in early. The concierge's were spectacular. Even working extra to get us a "ecologically friendly" taxi cab at my son's request. No in hotel dining room and so we had to order in from a nearby restaurant. The biggest "whine" is that the very next week they were offering the same hotel rooms for almost half the price. I never did find out why that weekend was so booked .... but the room would have been great at the lesser deal. Also, we asked for bedding for the sleeper sofa. Had to call twice ... but those things happen.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThorsMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at AC Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
Dear ThorsMomma,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay at the Four Points by Sheraton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile. Please accept our sincere apologies for the unfortunate situation regarding our swimming pool. We pride ourselves on providing honest, uncomplicated, comfort to our guests and take it very seriously when we fell short of our goal and your expectations. Thank you for sharing your comments regarding our friendly front desk staff. We hope you will allow us another opportunity to serve you when your travels bring you to Downtown Chicago. Please contact me directly for reservation assistance at maryorlando@fourpointschicago.com.
Best regards,
Mary Orlando, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

A good, convenient hotel in the Miracle Mile, close to the Red Line and many restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ndlxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We tried checking in at 3pm and they said our room wasn't ready, even though checkin is at 3. Then the next morning I left my camera behind, I called 10 minutes after we checked out and they said the camera wasn't in the room. Tried reaching the general manager to let her know about the issues we experienced and when she did call me back she said there was nothing they could do about it. Very rude and clearly dishonest staff. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

This is one of my favorite hotels downtown. It is in a great location, one block from tons of shopping on Michigan Ave, attached to a Starbucks, etc. They had a free business center, free gym, and a free pool. The rooms were spacious and Very clean. I will stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gruber03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at AC Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
Dear Gurber3,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Four Points by Sheraton Chicago Downtown. We are delighted you chose our hotel for your stay and look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you back to downtown Chicago.
Best regards,
Mary Orlando, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
229 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I moved to this hotel for the last night of my work stay as prices at the W skyrocketed. It has a decent enough location, but i think I'll opt for one of the other Starwood's in the future.

I arrived around 9:30pm, apparently right after a tour bus had dropped off an entire load of people and when I asked if they have a starwood preferred counter, the said no. They had 2 people checking people in and it took about 20 minutes until I was helped.

I had had my wallet stolen on a previous flight so my husband had called with his credit card and asked them to charge that. Well that turned out to be a disaster and took multiple phone calls, including to my credit card company (the hotel said it wasn't going through) to get everything straightened out but finally it was.

The room is not what i am used to at other Starwood. The bed was comfortable enough, but bedding is not as high quality. The bathroom especially lacks and the room itself is much smaller than other starwoods. I'm Platinum at starwood and I don't think there are room upgrades at Four Points. Also, often breakfast is included at sheraton's, but it wasn't here.

It was a complete joke that the price was close to $300. You could really tell a difference between the staff here versus at other Starwoods. The level of service and professionalism just isn't there. I would say this is a fine option, but only if you get a much better deal than I got.

Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank laurengucsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at AC Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
Dear laurengucsb,
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely apologize for the unfortunate circumstances that occurred during your visit to our hotel. We pride ourselves on delivering excellence in service and honest, uncomplicated, comfort for all our guests. We are sorry we fell short of our goal during your stay. We hope you will provide us with another opportunity to serve you and regain your confidence in our hotel. Please contact me directly for reservation assistance when your travels bring you back to Chicago.
Best regards,
Mary Orlando, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed here for a few days to scope out whether we wanted to move to the city, and the location is fabulous! It is one block away from Michigan Avenue and walking distance to several Chicago institutions like The Magnificent Mile, deep dish pizza restaurants, Portillo's, the Rock and Roll McDonalds, the watertower, American Girl Place, Navy Pier, the Hancock Tower, and department stores. The staff recommended the Grand Luxe Cafe which we head to every time we are in town. The hotel was clean, no noise, fantastic staff. We got a great deal on one of those hotel sites. Fantastic, go here and you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MaryG_from_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at AC Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
Dear bobber73:
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Four Points by Sheraton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile. We apologize for the noise, however happy to hear our staff responded with a wonderful service recovery. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to an extra comfy room on your next visit to Chicago.
Best regards,
Mary Orlando, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
The James Chicago
#44 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,171 reviews
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Chicago Downtown

Property: AC Hotel Chicago Downtown
Address: 630 N Rush St, Chicago, IL 60611-2748 (Formerly Hotel Rush)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Chicago
#76 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#88 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — AC Hotel Chicago Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AC Hotels by Marriott offers travelers a stylish and design focused hotel experience. The AC Hotel Chicago Downtown is located in Chicago's River North neighborhood, a thriving community known for it's exceptional dining, night life and art scene. The AC Lounge, a great place for happy hour or night cap features local brews, craft cocktails and tap wine that highlight AC Hotels unique beverage menus. Elevate your stay with AC Hotels by Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Hotel Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Chicago Downtown / Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
4 Points By Sheraton Chicago Downtown / Magnificent Mile
Four Points Chicago Downtown
Chicago Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing