We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a good deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
AC Hotel Chicago Downtown
Ranked #65 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Still a good deal”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I wrote a positive review of this hotel last summer after staying with a friend and returned with my husband on a quick visit. It's not fancy, but the location and the price are right. We were delighted to discover a self-serve laundry across from our room; just a dollar for the washer and a dollar for the dryer. Very friendly valets.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capegirardeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fourpointschicago, General Manager at AC Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear PhelpsRoad,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay at the Four Points by Sheraton Chicago Downtown. We are pleased you chose our hotel for your stay in Downtown Chicago and thank you for your comments regarding our staff. Please contact me directly for reservation assistance when your travels bring you back to Chicago. I would be happy to provide you with an extra comfy room and will ensure the room is in a quiet location.
Best regards,
Mary Orlando, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    667
    563
    150
    42
    33
See reviews for
368
342
90
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

The Four Points by Sheraton Chicago Downtown is one of the best deals for a hotel in such a prime location. Located on Rush street, just a block away from Michigan ave, you are in the center of shopping and good restaurants.
The hotel itself has a few things that need to be improved. First, because it is the best deal in town and because of its location, it is often the first choice of tour groups with kids. I stay in this hotel twice a year for the last couple of years and each time I have been there, there have been large groups of high school/ middle school groups that run around and make noise, as kids of that age will do. This is noticeable however because of the thin walls and doors in the hotel.
Also, because the hotel is very popular with groups, the hotel seems to be getting worn out quickly and hasn't been update since opening.
On the good side, the staff at the front desk is friendly and helpful and they have free wi-fi, which is great. This should always be free at hotels and I think it is insulting when Hotels charge $12 per day for this. This is something that I always appreciate with this hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room on a higher floor. The cheaper rooms tend to be on floors 5 and 6 and that is where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PhelpsRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I got a King size bed standard room on the 8th floor. This hotel was very pleasant. Staff seemed to greet your and offer a nice warm smile every time. Regarding the location, it is literally a block over from the Magnificent Mile. Not my type of thing - but plenty of shopping at all your name brand stores plus more are well within reach. The architecture by the river is really pretty. The redline subway is about 4 blocks away. Trader Joe's is just downstairs. Plenty of food options in the area. I recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thesweetscience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2012 via mobile

Good price. Great location just off Michigan Avenue, easy access a few blocks off the interstate and $45 self park in an attached garage. Pretty average hotel, no frills (except free wifi), fairly indifferent staff (not unfriendly, but not extra helpful), very clean and an overall good stay. Paper thin doors, you can hear everyone returning from the bars at 2:00AM. Would stay again for the price and convenience.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank chezehed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

The service over the phone was deplorable. With the exception of the gentleman that answered the phone, each member of the staff that I spoke with was horribly rude. Customer service is a dying thing -- and it's completely dead at this place.

I shudder at the thought of how I'll be treated upon my arrival. If a simple request for two beds rather than one King is such a hassle that causes rudeness and a complete lack of manners, what will the service be like at the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willow2944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grapevine, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Just stayed here again for vacation. Another great stay. The room was a great size. Love having a coffee maker, microwave & refrigerator in the room, with Trader Joe's next door this can save you lots. The staff was always pleasant and very helpful. It is a great location just one block off the Magnificent Mile. Will always stay here for pleasure or business when in town. just great location and value for the cost.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherriB1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dollard-des-Ormeaux, Quebec, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

The hotel is basic, no bar or restaurant. The rooms are basic too, though well maintained. Location is excellent.

What makes this hotel extra special is the staff. Everyone has a smile on their face, everyone says hello, asks how you are, can they help, etc.

Besides being so welcomed I have to admit I had 2 great nights of sleep there.

Room Tip: I had a handicap room which I am sure was wider than a regular room. I did not ask for this, asked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#13 of 190 in Chicago
324 reviews
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Chicago Downtown

Property: AC Hotel Chicago Downtown
Address: 630 N Rush St, Chicago, IL 60611-2748 (Formerly Hotel Rush)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Chicago
#76 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#88 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — AC Hotel Chicago Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AC Hotels by Marriott offers travelers a stylish and design focused hotel experience. The AC Hotel Chicago Downtown is located in Chicago's River North neighborhood, a thriving community known for it's exceptional dining, night life and art scene. The AC Lounge, a great place for happy hour or night cap features local brews, craft cocktails and tap wine that highlight AC Hotels unique beverage menus. Elevate your stay with AC Hotels by Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your AC Hotel Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Chicago Downtown / Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
4 Points By Sheraton Chicago Downtown / Magnificent Mile
Four Points Chicago Downtown
Chicago Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing