We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb practical choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Ranked #52 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2011

If you're after a boutique hotel or the sort of place where you're tipping flunkies every 5 minutes, then look elsewhere. If, however, you want a huge room with a full kitchenette and washer/dryer in the perfect location, then Comfort Suites is for you. Very friendly, helpful staff too.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lapine006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2011

I enjoyed reading your review and thank you for your business. I am so happy you found our staff helpful and friendly and that you enjoyed the size of your suite and our amenities, we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,859)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,508 - 1,514 of 1,859 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2011

I had a room high up in the sky. Good size - a lounge, and a bedroom. Issue was noise from the street over 2 nights - Chicao police/fire sirens woke me up, several times. Just too much street noise gets into the room. A shame.

Coffee in room, iron and board, 2 x TV's. Bath and shower all OK.
Nice comfortable bed.
Breakfast on ground floor - OK.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank expectant customer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2011

We appreciate your review and thank you for your feedback. While we were disappointed you found the street noise to be too loud, we are happy you enjoyed the size of your suite and complimentary breakfast. Next time please ask for a west facing room to avoid some noise. We hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We recently booked this hotel room for our dear friend's bachelorette party. We searched for many days for any room in the loop, as hotels all over the city said they were booked. It came down to a handful of hotels, but we lucked out and the comfort suites had a single room left - The executive suite. We were told that there would be a king bed and a pull out bed and that if we were quick, we could snag a roll away or two for no additional charge. We looked at some photos and a very helpful youtube video showing what the inside looks like, noting the full-sized kitchen would be excellent for continued drinking throughout the night. Although pricier ($500/night after taxes) than the simple double rooms that you see on priceline, we understood that we were getting quite a bit more than a simple double room already and sealed the deal.

When we got to the hotel room, we couldn't have been happier with the decision. To begin, the hotel bumped us up free of charge to the presidential suite. This suite is on the 26th floor. It can best be summarized by calling it a two-bedroom apartment. In fact, some of the attendees noted that the hotel room was probably bigger than their apartments. Two bedrooms with king beds in each, two full bathrooms, a washer/dryer, full-sized kitchen, dining area with an actual dining table, living area, loft complete with spiral staircase to access the loft, and a balcony with a great view of the river and the Chicago Tribune building. The location was great. We were able to walk to everything that we needed in the city. The rooms were clean. Even our resident clean freak (the bride!) loved it. The staff was great, and completely put up with a gaggle of drunk ladies with great humor. Without a doubt, $500 was a steal for this room.

tl;dr - Pricier than the base room cost at other hotels, but significantly less expensive than anything else comparable. Great location. Clean rooms. Friendly staff. Full-sized kitchen. Free wifi. Washer/dryer in-room. Great view. Would repeat.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spoilers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2011

Thanks so much for your review. I was happy to read we were able to create a memorable weekend for you, your guests and the bride. Whenever returning to Chicago please contact us directly to take care of you. Thank you again for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2011

This hotel was like a little hidden gem, across the street from Millennium park and close to the gorgeous shopping district. The front staff were super happy to help me out with every little stupid question I had! The room was fully equipped with all of the luxuries of home including a washer and dryer which was helpful for drying my wet clothes after being caught in the rain. Breakfast comes included with all the standard fixings expect for one surprise, a waffle maker!!!! I highly recommend peanut butter with bananas on your waffles, Yum! The coffee flowed endlessly, the beds were too comfy to leave, and the office center was handy to print out my e-tickets.
I had a great time in Chicago thanks to Natalie and her amazing staff. I will be staying here the next time I come down, its like a home away from home!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolerudat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2011

Thanks for the review, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We like to think of our hotel as a hidden gem too. We are glad you found our location convenient and our staff helpful and friendly. Hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2011

We stayed in this hotel this april. We took the Kings suite and we are overall pleased with the hotel's service, rooms, location and amenities. The wifi in the room was very useful. The microoven and refrigerator also helped as I had a three year old child with me and I could make some food for her in the room itself. I thought it was a good value for money and it was because of staying in this hotel that I could see so much in a weekend. I wrote a detailed review in yahoo. Read if you wish...
http://www.associatedcontent.com/article/8043355/hotel_review_comfort_inn_and_suites.html?cat=8

Room Tip: The kings suite is great
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pinkali1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2011

The staff of The Comfort Suites is appreciative of your business and for taking the time to write a review. I am happy you got to take advantage of our full equipped kitchens and other great in room amenities. Please come back and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

The location of this hotel is it's major selling point. Put simply it is close to just about everything whether you are walking or plan on using public transport. The rooms are nice and clean and quite spacious, especially the one bedroom suites. All rooms are well equipped and come standard with a large refrigerator and kitchenette.
The only real let down is the complimentary breakfast, which although it is complimentary it lacks any real variety and is lacking in the taste department. The only taste that does exist is pretty much pure sugar.
Overall the family thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the Comfort Suites were family friendly relatively well appointed and certainly in a fantastic location

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderers98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2011

We appreciate your review and I was so happy to read that you enjoyed our location. I am glad you found value at our hotel and got to visit Chicago’s top attractions just steps away from our hotel. I appreciate your business and hope to greet you upon your return trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

This property was advertised as a special through Travelzoo, but since the deal was a non-refundable room, we were able to book an AAA special for a couple of dollars more. The staff was super friendly (one receptionist addressed my husband by name throughout our stay!). The rooms were extremely spacious, remodeled, clean, and surprisingly very quiet at all times. The location, right on Michigan Avenue, was ideal and convenient to all attractions. We took the subway from the airport, and the walk to the hotel was a few short blocks. The breakfast was adequate and hardy. I honestly can't think of one negative thing to write; it was our first time to Chicago, and we'll certainly be back. It is a wonderful city with so many things to do.

Room Tip: Check the website often for deals
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank audreydunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2011

The entire staff of the Comfort Suites thanks you for your review and business. We always enjoy reading the feedback our guests share and I am thrilled you had a wonderful experience. We hope you will come visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#65 of 191 in Chicago
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop

Address: 320 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-3705
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#42 Family Hotel in Chicago
#45 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $154 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the award-winning Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue Chicago. Located in the heart of downtown Chicago on North Michigan Avenue. Select from a range of beautifully designed studio, one- and two-bedroom downtown Chicago suites featuring nearly twice the space of the typical hotel room at a better value. Spacious and distinctly contemporary, each Chicago hotel suite blends the full range of guest amenities and services with an upscale residential feel and sweeping downtown views. Enjoy home-style comforts such as full kitchens, washers and dryers, complimentary high-speed Internet, and flat panel LCD televisions. Outside, the Windy City's best shopping, dining, and entertainment - including the famed Magnificent Mile - are just steps from our front door. Venture out and explore all that makes up our extraordinary city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Chicago
Comfort Suites Chicago
Chicago Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing