We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile
Ranked #46 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Great location for what we had in mind, modern & nice decor, friendly staff.

Room Tip: After booking I was given the option to post a link to facebook to get a room upgrade. Great perk.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aobersutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,334)
There are newer reviews for The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,544 - 2,550 of 3,334 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2012

Selected the James for my recent business trip after speaking with several friends who recommended this property in Chicago. Was highly impressed with the modern room and felt the service was top notch. Will book again upon my next visit to Chi town!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

My husband and I have traveled all over the world, and were really impressed with the James. Here is what we loved:

*Check out time at 2PM!
*Cleanliness was second to none.
*Concierge gave superb recommendations
*Location, location, location
*The hotel has a car that will drop you off at your destination

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peach91279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We picked this hotel largely because of the many good reviews on this site. Our experience was quite mixed, certainly not up to par with what most others have said.
We arrived on Friday nite and received very friendly greeting at curb, kind help with bags, etc. Another warm welcome once inside, guiding us to check in desk. So, high points for a warm welcome- this was great! Now, the disappointments: No coffee maker in room, just packets of instant and hot water pot- bummer. No coffee shop in hotel, either. Bummer. To make matters worse, our packets of instant were all 'decaf' - didn't discover any of this til Sat. morn.
Called room service Sat am, they sent up some packets; arrived back late Sat. nite. As we entered hotel Sat nite, I asked desk if we'd have coffee paks in our room for Sun am., she said 'yes', but we arrived at our room and, no coffee, and no housekeeping of any kind, either!
We were out all day on Sat., they had plenty of time to straighten the room and drop off coffee- Certainly not type of service you'd expect from a 4-5 star hotel.

Also, ask for an interior room- ours was on 8th floor, above the street and, even with windows closed, we heard honks, street talk, etc. interspersed all nite long.

So, our review is quite mixed. Maybe we were an anomaly- but the hotel was nothing great for us; overall experience here was a bit disappointing.

Room Tip: avoid room with windows above the street- - too much street noise, all nite long...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kirbyfredstpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

kirbyfredstpaul-

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent experience at The James. While I appreciate the high points for a warm welcome, I apologize that we didn't deliver the rest of the way. We have recently change to the Starbucks Via product and water kettle and standard is to stock with 2 regular, not decaf. In addition, we do offer complimentary coffee at the Hostess stand of the restaurant. I'm sorry that we didn't direct you to Marilyn, she would have taken great care of you. As for failure to clean your room on Saturday, I am very disappointed. Will reach out to you offline to get more detail so I can investigate and correct. We do offer twice daily service and I'm disappointed that we somehow missed your room.

Thank you again for the feedback and look for an email from me shortly.

Best,

Patrick Hatton
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We recently spent three nights at The James Chicago for a mid-week winter holiday. The concierge and staff were enormously helpful in providing information about restaurants and sights. We loved the twice daily housekeeping service. Location is perfect for exploring Chicago without a car as it's only a block from Michigan Ave and a nice 15 minute walk to Millennium Park and The Art Institute, among other things. Check out is 2:00 pm, an unheard of convenience if you're catching a flight home later in the day. We will stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annieandzoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

annieandzoey

Thank you for your glowing review about your experience at The James Chicago. Glad you enjoyed the service, location, twice daily maid service and check out time (and hope you enjoyed our beautiful winter weather! It's always 50 degree in Jan!)

Look forward to welcoming you back for your Spring, Summer and Fall mid-week holidays!

Best,
Patrick Hatton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Me and my other half stayed here for a night before heading back to London. We wanted somewhere downtown which was nice, but which we mainly wanted to use as a base to shop and eat. We found a great rate on travelrepublic which seemed a little too good to be true.

We arrived to find the hotel of our dreams (for this type of hotel at least). Staff were incredibly good - professional and friendly. The property itself is obviously very design focused and we did feel rather trendy staying there.

The rooms themselves were large and really well designed, with things like floor lamps and designer chairs and other furniture which we would have stolen if we didn't have to fly home! The bed was comfortable. The place was spotlessly clean. The only disappointment was that the bathroom didn't have Kiehls toiletries (as other reviews suggested it did). It did, however, have very eco-friendly, green products which worked just fine.

The gym was fantastic. It was one of those gyms you'd pay money to use at home. It had everything you could possibly need.

One of the best features of this hotel was the check in-check out times... We automatically had a 2pm checkout time - apparently it's one of the only hotels to offer 24 hour stays... And this is the way it should be! Wifi was free too - which is also how it should be!

Location was great too.

I go to Chicago a lot - for work and pleasure - and I know I'll stay here again. It was such a great experience.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moaksey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

moaksey

One night was not enough for us either! Come back soon and stay a while.

Thank you for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor nation! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best,

Patrick Hatton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

LOVE this hotel. I've stayed a few times - for business and pleasure. The staff is lovely, the rooms are well-appointed and the restaurant.... well, I can't say enough about the food, atmosphere and the service. Overall, this is one of the best boutique hotels in the city. I'll be back again and again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k_bee1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

k_bee1010

Wow! LOVE your review! Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back again and again and again.....

Best,

Patrick Hatton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#13 of 191 in Chicago
1,662 reviews
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile

Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611-2727
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#26 Business Hotel in Chicago
#30 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#33 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $220 - $618 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban hub on the Magnificent Mile and one of Chicago's most celebrated boutique hotels, The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile is a sophisticated nod to Windy City culture. It continues to garner buzz and accolades through its casually sophisticated blend of warmly modern design, intuitive service and thoughtful touches such as complimentary Wi-Fi, early check-in and late check-out, local car service and triple-filtered water. Enjoy convenience at your fingertips with The James Hotels Mobile App and in-room tablet powered by KEYPR offering an intuitive way to discover our amenities and services. Experience The James as a culinary destination with signature restaurant, Primehouse - named #1 Steakhouse in Chicago, Primehouse Bar, a perfect spot to enjoy weekly happy hour specials or a full meal, and The Patio, a seasonal alfresco dining spot. Also featured at The James is The Gym, open 24-hours, The Spa by ASHA, 7,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space, as well as seasonally rotating artwork from local and international artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing