We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location with a couple service issues”
Review of The James Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The James Chicago
Ranked #43 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
239 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Good location with a couple service issues”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We found the James through samatha brown and the travel channel. We booked a deluxe king but were given a double studio, so our initial check in wasn't smooth, we had to move. The concierge wasn't extremely helpful with suggestions and when I asked for any coupons she dug up a couple but when I looked closely, they expired in 2010. If you valet, don't leave anything in your car, we waited 45 min for a pair of shoes. We would have gone to the car ourselves but were told we could not. On the positive, book the insider promotion, half rate valet parking and a $50 resturant voucher. The room was older but remodeled, I found the bed very comfortable, very nice bedding. The large bottles of bath amenities ( shampoo, conditioner etc) are in a locked wall caddy. I didn't really want to use used products so I obtained personal size bottles from the cleaning staff. Room service was good, overpriced as with any nicer hotel. The courtesy ride from the James to one of the attractions was a nice bonus. All of the bellman were very friendly and helpful upon checkin and checkout.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cleanhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,992
    855
    217
    88
    51
See reviews for
476
1,266
181
746
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The James is a wonderful property, very modern decor with an active bar, but what really makes it shine is its service! From the front desk to the doorman to the cleaning staff, they did a fantastic job! The concierge left a little to be desired (seriously - how can you not know how to navigate the train system when you work in downtown Chicago?) but luckily the others made up for what he lacked. The complimentary ride to the restaurant was the best! Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The rooms are on the small side but efficiently designed. The corner rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank INArchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We visited las weekend the James, it is a very nice hotel in Chicago. Its location is near the magnificent mile, restaurants, stores and a metro station. The hotel itself is very chic, with nice decorations, ammenities and the a very comfy bed. Maybe the reception could be more attentive, but nothing to complain.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank velezmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Great location for what we had in mind, modern & nice decor, friendly staff.

Room Tip: After booking I was given the option to post a link to facebook to get a room upgrade. Great perk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aobersutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Selected the James for my recent business trip after speaking with several friends who recommended this property in Chicago. Was highly impressed with the modern room and felt the service was top notch. Will book again upon my next visit to Chi town!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

My husband and I have traveled all over the world, and were really impressed with the James. Here is what we loved:

*Check out time at 2PM!
*Cleanliness was second to none.
*Concierge gave superb recommendations
*Location, location, location
*The hotel has a car that will drop you off at your destination

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peach91279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st paul
Level Contributor
147 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We picked this hotel largely because of the many good reviews on this site. Our experience was quite mixed, certainly not up to par with what most others have said.
We arrived on Friday nite and received very friendly greeting at curb, kind help with bags, etc. Another warm welcome once inside, guiding us to check in desk. So, high points for a warm welcome- this was great! Now, the disappointments: No coffee maker in room, just packets of instant and hot water pot- bummer. No coffee shop in hotel, either. Bummer. To make matters worse, our packets of instant were all 'decaf' - didn't discover any of this til Sat. morn.
Called room service Sat am, they sent up some packets; arrived back late Sat. nite. As we entered hotel Sat nite, I asked desk if we'd have coffee paks in our room for Sun am., she said 'yes', but we arrived at our room and, no coffee, and no housekeeping of any kind, either!
We were out all day on Sat., they had plenty of time to straighten the room and drop off coffee- Certainly not type of service you'd expect from a 4-5 star hotel.

Also, ask for an interior room- ours was on 8th floor, above the street and, even with windows closed, we heard honks, street talk, etc. interspersed all nite long.

So, our review is quite mixed. Maybe we were an anomaly- but the hotel was nothing great for us; overall experience here was a bit disappointing.

Room Tip: avoid room with windows above the street- - too much street noise, all nite long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kirbyfredstpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
kirbyfredstpaul-

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent experience at The James. While I appreciate the high points for a warm welcome, I apologize that we didn't deliver the rest of the way. We have recently change to the Starbucks Via product and water kettle and standard is to stock with 2 regular, not decaf. In addition, we do offer complimentary coffee at the Hostess stand of the restaurant. I'm sorry that we didn't direct you to Marilyn, she would have taken great care of you. As for failure to clean your room on Saturday, I am very disappointed. Will reach out to you offline to get more detail so I can investigate and correct. We do offer twice daily service and I'm disappointed that we somehow missed your room.

Thank you again for the feedback and look for an email from me shortly.

Best,

Patrick Hatton
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
dana hotel and spa
#54 of 189 in Chicago
3,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago

Property: The James Chicago
Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611-2727
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#26 Business Hotel in Chicago
#29 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#33 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban hub on the Magnificent Mile and one of Chicago's most celebrated boutique hotels, The James Chicago is a sophisticated nod to Windy City culture. It continues to garner buzz and accolades through its casually sophisticated blend of warmly modern design, intuitive service and thoughtful touches such as complimentary Wi-Fi, early check-in and late check-out, local car service and triple-filtered water. Enjoy convenience at your fingertips with The James Hotels Mobile App and in-room tablet powered by KEYPR offering an intuitive way to discover our amenities and services. Experience The James as a culinary destination with signature restaurant, Primehouse - named #1 Steakhouse in Chicago, Primehouse Bar, a perfect spot to enjoy weekly happy hour specials or a full meal, and The Patio, a seasonal alfresco dining spot. Also featured at The James is The Gym, open 24-hours, The Spa by ASHA, 7,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space, as well as seasonally rotating artwork from local and international artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The James Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing