We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rotten food in a dirty place”
Review of Sultan's Market

Sultan's Market
Ranked #734 of 9,525 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Wicker Park / Bucktown
Description: Located in Wicker Park, Sultan's Market offers a variety of fresh Middle Eastern cuisine. Since 1995, we've been cooking up Chicago's best falafel. If it's not our falafel, it's freakin' awful.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
117 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“rotten food in a dirty place”
Reviewed 22 December 2011

went to this place for a quick bite with a friend. the idea and the variety of food were notable, but food itself was cold or rotten and the tables were dirty. the only eatable food were the felafel, but I had better ones in my life.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peschetta831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    33
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Some Stuff Great, Some Stuff Terrible”
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Sultan's Market is the definition of hit or miss. Their sandwiches are cheap and awesome. I'm not a falafel fan, it's almost always too dry or greasy, but I've had the falafel sandwich more times than I can remember at Sultan's. It's just great. It's also kinda healthy, filling dinner for under $5. Ask for the spicy salsa and you'll really get a kick out of it. The chicken shawarma sandwich is really good too. They're both served in a pita pocket with some veggies and stuff (Jerusalem Salad, tahini, I think hummus, etc.). The pita can break apart because of the liquid in there, so be careful, but I still think it's worth it.

Now, if you get a normal meal there, like a normal chicken shawarma dish, then you're in for one of the worst meals of your life. How is this possible? I mean the same meat goes in the sandwich as goes into the dish. Yes, but in the dish, there's no real sauce or anything else decent to dress it up. The rice is bland, and, just ugh. I wish I could explain it better, I really do, but I can't, so, just trust me. For your own sake, trust me.

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rajiv H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Must Try!”
Reviewed 21 July 2011

I have been to Sultan's numerous times and have probably tried everything on the menu. Fabulous! The falafal is never a disappointment. The atmosphere is casual and comfortable; I have even met the owner May! The prices are outrageously cheap and the portions are big. Highly recommended!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ANG1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wheeling
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Have to try!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 28 October 2009

This restaurant is small and sometimes you have to wait in long line...but it is worth to wait and taste the best Falafel ever!!

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank olapot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super tasty falafel”
Reviewed 19 July 2009

Stopped in for a quick bite while in the area and really enjoyed my falafel...spiced just right and perfectly cooked. Had they been open while I was taking the Blue Line back to O'Hare I would have went out of my way to stop off at Damen to grab another for the flight home. It was that good!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dbsweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sultan's Market also viewed

 

Been to Sultan's Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing