We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Location; Clean Room”
Review of Inn of Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn of Chicago
Ranked #145 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed 15 May 2012

The location is excellent! Steps from Michigan Avenue and walking distance from tons of restaurants and shops. The room we had was very standard and exceptionally clean. Was pleased that the street noise was minimal. Only downsides- water pressure was not strong and there wasn't a Do Not Disturb sign to use.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happymallqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

Dear happymallqueen,
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our central location right off of Michigan Avenue! Our sincere apologies for the sub-par water pressure you experienced during your stay. We will be sure to relay your comments over to our maintenance team and have them investigate the issue immediately. Also, sorry to hear your guest room was missing a "Do Not Disturb" sign, but wish we were able to provide one while you were still on property. We hope to be of service to you again soon.
Best,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,903)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,125 - 1,131 of 1,903 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2012

I recently stayed here for a business trip. We had an issue right at check-in as we were both provided keys to rooms that were already occupied - luckily the occupants were not in the room at the time. This caused another 30-60 minute wait in the lobby after an already long day of travel as we waited for our rooms to be cleaned, even though it was getting close to 6pm in the evening. Definitely make sure you use the deadbolt and chain lock when you are in the room, as you could easily have unwelcome visitors. After everything was corrected, we did receive good service from the housekeeping staff, bellmen (very good at giving directions to wherever we wanted to go) front desk and bartenders.

The location provides easy access to many dining and shopping options. The building itself is old, however fairly well maintained and mostly charming. The beds are very comfortable; I did have to ask for an additional blanket because there is just one VERY thin comforter on the bed. The bathroom is VERY small and no vent or fan makes it very uncomfortable to shower/get dressed in the bathroom. To management - you will want to look at adding some kind of dish to put soap bars in by the sink - when you set the wet soap bar on the sink the water has no where to go and runs down the wall and all over the floor, making the floor slippery and not good on the walls.
There is not free wi-fi in the room which was very disappointing. The elevators probably was the most annoying thing overall ~ long waits for the inadequate elevators and space available, particulary when ppl were checking in/out with luggage. Our room was also right across from the elevator bank and we could here the dinging all night. Overall, we got a decent value for what we received. I would stay here again if I didn't have a better choice, but I probably wouldn't go out of my way to stay here. In all fairness, I also do not care for the hustle and bustle of the downtown area in general, so the location wouldn't matter as much to me.

Room Tip: Rooms across from elevator can get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunseekergirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Dear Sunseekergirl77,
Thank you for your honest feedback. We are sincerely sorry for the inconveniences you experienced during your time at the Inn of Chicago. We understand how frustrating it can be to arrive to a hotel after a long day of travel only to discover an already occupied guest room and then having to wait in a long line at the front desk. We should have had more front desk staff to assist with the long wait. Thank you for sharing your comments regarding the bathroom, we will be sure to share these with our Executive Committee to see if there is anything we can do to prevent water from leaking onto the walls and floor. On the other hand, we apologize if the lack of complimentary internet caused any major inconvenience during your stay.
We realize we did not make the best first impression, but hope you can give the Inn of Chicago another try. The next time you are in Chicago, please contact us directly, so we can ensure that you have a more pleasant stay. You can reach our General Manager, Birgit Radin, at 312.224.2137 or bradin@doubletreemagmile.com.
Warm Regards,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Clran and comfy this hotel is close to n Michigan ave the magnificent mile. Tons of good shopping and restaurant
Choices. Rooms Are standard but offer everything one needs

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

This hotel was a great option for me and my two friends staying in Chicago for 5 nights. Our room was spacious and cleaned regularly. The location is wonderful, the best part of town in my opinion. The terrace is beautiful and a great spot to have a drink and chat. Staff were very helpful booking airport transfers etc. Could not have asked for more. It has been refurbished, but obviously not to Hilton standards- but to people who complain, I can't understand what else you would need/want in a hotel for this price?! Thanks

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Dear Claire S,
Thank you for your review. We hope you and your friends had a nice time staying at the Inn of Chicago. Glad to hear you were able to utilize our terrace during your stay, it is a hidden gem amongst our guests. Just to clarify, we are not owned/ managed by Hilton. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back for another perfect stay.
Best,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for a long weekend to celebrate our 18th anniversary. We found the room to be great and the friendliest staff in the city! Great value and perfect location. I wouldnt want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ramabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Dear Ramabama,
Thank you for your very kind compliments regarding the Inn of Chicago. We hope you and your husband had a wonderful and memorable 18th Anniversary! It thrills us to hear that you wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Chicago, except for the Inn of Chicago! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Hotel was clean, with clean bedding, a great location with some good views from the roof top.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fountainshooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Steps from the Magnificent Mile, and walking distance from Metro, watertower area and Museum of Modern Art. Our corner room was spacious and well lit. Surprisingly quiet for downtown. In room coffee, but none in the lobby and no other extras. Still a great value for the price. Across the street are a 7-11, Dunkin' Donuts, and Burrito Beach.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANNAMARGARET B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#107 of 191 in Chicago
1,808 reviews
Near North Side
FieldHouse Jones
FieldHouse Jones
#91 of 191 in Chicago
132 reviews
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#101 of 191 in Chicago
603 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#143 of 191 in Chicago
2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of Chicago

Address: 162 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3105 (Formerly Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $81 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn of Chicago 3*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the essence of the Windy City, without the high price, at the Inn of Chicago. Just a half-block from the famed Magnificent Mile - where the city's best shopping, dining, and nightlife can be found. We offer a reasonably affordable alternative to the more expensive Chicago boutique hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Inn of Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of Chicago Magnificent Mile, An Ascend Collection Hotel Hotel Chicago
Hotel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Inn Chicago Magnificent Mile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing