We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to stay in Chicago. Great Restaurants & Stores nearby. Train station 3 blocks away.”
Review of Days Inn Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Chicago
Ranked #88 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay in Chicago. Great Restaurants & Stores nearby. Train station 3 blocks away.”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Clean rooms, Friendly staff, Great location. You don't need a car, you can walk to stores, restaurants, and downtown just a 5 min train ride away. Put this on my list of a favorite place to stay in Chicago.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,110
    1,071
    311
    74
    56
See reviews for
960
630
305
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
117 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This is a lovely hotel in a great part of the city! We walked for blocks in every direction and loved watching the people. The hotel is in great shape! The beds were very comfortable. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank W B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eskilstuna, Sweden
Level Contributor
126 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Great hotel with friendly staff at the desk, gave us a lot of advice what to do in the neighborhood. Close by a "L"-station or 151 bus for going downtow. Lots of shops, bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalmas4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Days Inn Chicago for two nights while on a road trip from Pittsburgh. I read the reviews online first and decided this was a good choice and I am glad i chose this one. The hotel is in Lincoln Park, which is a great neighborhood to walk around in and relax. Most importantly the hotel is close to the elevated train line, the brown line i believe and at least 3 bus routes to downtown run right in front of the hotel.

I booked through Wyndham because i am a Wyndham employee but i would pay full price for this room. The manager who helped me, Neil was very friendly and upgraded us to a gigantic bed on the 4th floor. The room was very clean and the room even included a fridge and microwave.

The stay included a continental breakfast which was sufficient for starting the day. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a nice hotel in a great area close to downtown. Note: parking in Lincoln Park is not free and street parking is metered. The two choices are valet for $22 a night or park in the garage for $22 a night. I chose the garage but valet looked capable.

Room Tip: Stayed on the fourth floor which i believe was a business room, it had a large roomy bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We really enjoyed this hotel for 5 nights. We opted for this Hotel about 4 miles from the loop because we wanted a place with good restaurants nearby and a feel of small town. The hotel is well situated and the area that you pass through on the way to the loop is very nice.

The lobby is first class as are the desk clerks and bell hops. The maids are hard to communicate with. I understand that they are Polish and do not read or speak English for the most part. The beds are very comfortable and once my wife got the duvet covers made up correctly we had no other problems with the maids. The room is somewhat small but adequate. It had a small refrigerator and microwave. The toilet was installed on a raised 2 inch block that was a toe thumper. Every time you turned around you were hitting a toe on one side or the other.. A very negative point was a severe safety problem due to a lack of any handhold in the shower. If you loose your balance you are a goner. Another needed improvement were the towels and wash cloths which felt like scrub brushes. My wife thought that they would be improved by a fabric softener but I think it was poor quality. In spite of these two things I am glad that we stayed here. There was a nice grocery across the street and a Panera Bread a few doors away.

We parked the car for $23 a night through the hotel and used bus and train. We bought a 7 day Transit pass and used 3 bus lines at the nearest corner. One of them took us directly to the loop area and returned us (Line 22). The Chicago Transit System is very good and many drivers (with one exception) were very friendly and helpful. Due to circumstances of our doing we had to use taxis 3 times and found them expensive.

Two of the taxis were to and from the Apollo Theater that was near by and running The Million Dollar Quartet. It has been running since December 2010 and may run until December 2012. Very enjoyable and we ate great Chicago deep dish pizza at Lou Malenati’s across the street from the theater.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaGator086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Joseph, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I wasn't sure we'd like being out of the downtown area while visiting Chicago. We have found this hotel to be very convenient to transit into the city proper as well as a short walk from Lincoln Park. The neighborhood is safe and friendly; lots of small shops and restaurants. The desk staff is very friendly and helpful. Our room has been immaculately cleaned each day and was sparkling when we arrived. The TV is not a plasma or led, but we didn't come here to watch television. Everyone from the door man to housekeeping staff have been welcoming. If I come back to Chicago, I'll plan to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2012

The place was clean and all the staff was very friendly and for the most part helpful (one staff member, valet, sent me in the wrong direction at one point. Breakfast was what you would expect from continental. But rooms were small and the TV (room 304) was not HD (and at times with static that in this day you don't usually see) as my friend down the hall was. They should probably update all rooms. There definitely was street noise but it is Chicago. In the future, I would stay at a multi-story hotel and stay towards the top. Overall the hotel is very basic- no pool or gym. But we didn't spend a lot of time there so I guess that was ok (although I would've had time to work out if there was a gym). I probably would not stay there again but for the price, not bad. One last thing, the mattress and pillows were hard. Between the street noise and that, didn't get restful sleep at all while there.

Room Tip: I guess maybe a room facing the alley. Not a good view but quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#145 of 188 in Chicago
3.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#72 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#111 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lakeview
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#54 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Chicago

Property: Days Inn Chicago
Address: 644 W Diversey Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60614-2068 (Formerly Days Inn Lincoln Park - North)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Chicago
#51 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#51 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Chicago 2*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2012/2009/2004 Days Inn Property of the Year (>126 rooms)! Days Inn Chicago is located in the heart of bustling Lincoln Park/Lakeview, just three miles north of downtown Chicago. Guests are within walking distance of dining, shopping and theaters as well as Wrigley Field and Lincoln Park Zoo. A short cab ride will take you to DePaul University, Michigan Avenue, McCormick Place, Millennium Park and Navy Pier. The hotel offers guests free Wi-Fi, a free access to LA Fitness next door, valet parking and upgraded bedding. Days Inn Chicago has also been called Rock and Roll Days Inn because it has been a home away from home for many known bands. You can follow us on Facebook at "Days Inn Chicago" or on Twitter as "DaysInnChicago." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Days Inn Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Chicago Hotel Chicago
Days Inn Lincoln Park
Chicago Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing