We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Ranked #134 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
“Great location!!”
Reviewed 16 April 2012 via mobile

Yes its true the hotel is a little old and outdated. But great staff, good price, and awesome awesome location. Just minutes from millinum park and the red line train. Deff reccomend!!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank lclements08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    599
    714
    297
    178
See reviews for
438
473
225
453
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

My title really states it all, but I can't emphasize enough how rude the front desk was. For that reason alone, I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoshBaskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chicago hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Stayed here for a 2 nights. This was not a very pleasant hotel to stay at. Got a room with a double bed that was very dirty at the end of the hall by the fire exit. Elevators had a bad smell and were very slow, and one of them always seemed to be out of service. I also found the staff to be rude and inattentive.


In my opinion, the only thing it has going for it is the location. I would not stay here again, and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldtraveller3654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
119 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Stayed here with may aunt when we went to visit my brother in Cincinnati (cheaper to fly to Chicago and bus down to Cincy...go fig) in Sept of '10. Anyway we were visiting Chicago and picked this place for it's location to things and price. We got a good deal on a three night stay and I think I know why. This is an older building which seems to not have been updated for quite a while. The front desk was helpful in terms of addressing our concerns. Our first room was basic however it wreaked of cigarette smoke. Though the rooms are non-smoking it seems all the years of smoking are now embedded in the walls, ceiling, and carpet. We asked for another room which they did find for us. We got a slightly larger room with a kitchenette. The bathroom was nice and large since we got a handicap accessible room (this was good for my aunt). Though basic it was a nice step up from the first room.

The room contained 2 full sized beds which were OK, nothing special about them. Though the room was large it was facing the street so it was noisy at night till about 1am or so. after that it was OK. The AC was old and noisy so it did help drown out some of the noise but of you don't want any noise this may not be the place for you. I wold say around a 2 star hotel and that incudes the location as a plus. It is situated between the happenings of Magnificent Mile and the large number of museums towards the southern end of town. There is also a Red Line stop a couple of blocks away for getting around.

There are other hotels in the area which may be nicer and perhaps only slightly more so do our homework and compare for your intended travel dates and you could be in for a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Get room away from street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beenaround73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We usually make the Travelodge our first stay whenever we want to be in The City. It's inexpensive and located across the street from Grant Park, and within walking distance of The Chicago Museum of Art, The Field Museum and Shedd Aquarium. The Red Line Harrison Station is only two blocks away. Our first room was small and dusty. We were happily upgraded to a larger double kitchenette at no extra cost! It's not fancy, yet you do get just a bit more for your buck. The free WiFi , location just off Michigan Avenue, access to food stores, and public transportation, are major bonuses. If push comes to shove there are better hotels right across the street!

Room Tip: Book well in advance online and negotiate an upgrade if not happy with your reservation. Have a back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StvnWllms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

As my first visit to Chicago and being a poor college student...I resorted to this hotel. If only I knew..I would have paid 1 million more dollars to go anywhere else. A park bench is cleaner and more safe. I got scabies (not knowing) thinking I just had a temporary itch...It turned into a 5 month HORROR FEAST of itching. EXCRUCIATING. DON'T GO HERE. I AM SERIOUS. YOU WILL GET SOMETHING..IF NOT SCABIES..BED BUGS..OR SOME DISEASE.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bluexessence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

This was one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in. Dirty, 20 years overdue for remodeling, small room, poor service and elevator ride was a scarey experience. They initially checked me into a room with someone else in it and as I waited at the front desk to get a new room there were several other guests behind me that had the same issue.

The shower was coated in someone elses hair and the chair in the room looked like it hadn't been cleaned in 10 years. Old single pain windows on cold windy Chicago night didn't make for a good nights sleep.

I asked for an iron to be delived to my room three times and it never came.

Would recommend staying anywhere else but here.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#133 of 189 in Chicago
1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#33 of 189 in Chicago
1,933 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#101 of 189 in Chicago
4,957 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Property: Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Address: 65 E Harrison St, Wabash St & Harrison St, Chicago, IL 60605-1614
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago 2*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Chicago Travelodge
Chicago Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing