We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Ranked #85 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
dunfermline
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Arrived after a long flight from Scotland,checked in effortless and given suite 716,and to my amazement how big it was,the kingsize bed was huge,the suite had two 40inch lcd televisions one in the bedroom which was great, bathroom was also a good size.Breakfast was superb buffet style or made to order omelettes, the free bar at night was a great bonus 5.30 to 7.30 we had some great cocktails it was very busy tho as we were there for St Patricks and the hotel was very busy.the hotel is in a great location just cant be beaten for value cant wait to go back next year well done embassy 5 stars.

Room Tip: 716 had no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aliballyDunfermline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,007
    761
    279
    92
    84
See reviews for
917
365
83
501
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

We had two rooms for six nights over spring break. It was great to have the extra space of the suites. The location of the hotel is wonderful - we walked almost everywhere: The museums, Magnificent Mile, dozens and dozens of restaurants, Rush Street, the Hanckock Center, etc. All the staff at the hotel are great and very friendly. It was great to have a door man to catch cabs for us when needed - sometimes it was not an easy task. Also, they kindly let us have a 1pm checkout for both our rooms - a big help since our train didn't leave until 2 p.m.

The breakfast was good - they happily made egg white omelets for us, which was nice. The first day, St. Patricks Day, was impossibly crowded, but after that we never really had to wait. The only complaint about breakfast is the limited hours. My teenaged kids were sad to see breakfast had already closed when they went down at 9:40 one morning.

The manager's reception is typical - a few munchies and free drinks. The lines weren't too bad for that either. The atrium was really beautiful and was a great place to sit and people watch any time of day.

We were on the 7th floor and could still hear honking and sirens at night. My daughter slept in the living room and could hear noise from the atrium most of the night. Maybe a higher floor would have been a little better. But the beds were comfortable and the room was clean. The cleaning people constantly came around 4:00 p.m. which was annoying. We'd be out walking around all day, and come back exhausted wanting a shower, and that's when they would arrive.

The pool was quite small as other reviewers have said. With so many families at the hotel, it seems the pool should be bigger, and maybe have a deep end. The fitness room, too, was very small. At 7:30 am on weekdays, we would have to wait for a machine. But the machines were nice, and all in working order, which was great.

Overall, the hotel shined in all the most important ways - it was clean, very friendly, spacious, and extremely well located. In six nights, we all fell in love with the City! I would recommend it without hesitation to anyone traveling in Chicago.

Room Tip: I would say as high a floor as you can get, to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

always good here. only complaint is the start time of breakfast on weekends. not customer friendly.

Room Tip: high floor for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nowine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
156 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We enjoyed our stay., The suite was very comfortable for two adults. This is a great hotel for families with its very large breakfast and its reception/happy hour in the evening with snacks and drinks.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M33star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel and we will definitely return. Great location in the middle of downtown and walking distance from all the attractions. Rooms are very clean and very spacious. The service is excellent, free breakfast and evening cocktails give a plus to this hotel. Very nice staff and concierge. The WiFi is not free but there is free access in the business center.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarjiTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

This hotel was excellent! The service from the very beginning was great! The woman who checked us in was awesome. She was so nice and warm. Room was great! View was not (parking garage) but I guess I really wasn't concerned. The rest of the suite made up. The breakfast was really good; anything you want on an omelet, scrambled eggs, french toast, waffles, oatmeal, fruits. Excellent selection. Popular spot, but never had any line or table issues. Hotel is located right by red line, across the street from a Jewel-Osco, on top of a Subway/Starbucks. Mag Mile within a few blocks, Gino's East was excellent, 1 block north then a couple west on Ontario and Wells (bring a marker and write on wall, table, chairs)!! Get a CTA pass at a CVS (1-day $7 - 3-day $14). Chicago's public transit is so easy to catch on to and very reliable. The city is Huge and this was a great way for us to get to Lakeview, Science Museum, Bulls game, Lincoln Park/DePaul, back to Lakeview to see a show at ComedySportz Chicago (awesome!!), Shedds Aquarium (we were there for 4 days). I will be back. This hotel was not only in a great location, but had an excellent FREE breakfast and the entire staff was very pleasant!!

Room Tip: If you don't want a room with a view of a parking ramp, possibly mention you'd prefer a diff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spartantraveler4112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntley, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

The hotel, food, concierge, everything was perfect. Accomodations were roomy and clean. Location is perfect for walking to most attractions. Only issue would be the small swimming pool and jacuzzi was not working.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cadelaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Address: 600 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-3853
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Chicago
#57 Family Hotel in Chicago
#66 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Chicago Hotel
Embassy Suites Chicago
Chicago Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing