We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Hotel, Perfect Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Ranked #86 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel, Perfect Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

When we pulled up, the doorman not only helped us unpack the car, he also helped my husbasnd remove our cartop carrier and stored it for us since our van wouldn't clear the parking garage with it on. The breakfast was top notch, and despite the fact that it was super busy, the staff never let anything run out. The evening receptions were the same - consistently good, quick service. My kids loved the glass elevators! The room was huge, especially for a city hotel, with tons of storage. It fit our family of 6 (2 adults, kids ages 8, 5, 2, and 4-months) just fine. Great views, excellent location - 15 min. walk to Navy Pier and the loop and less than 5 min. from the Mag Mile. The only improvement needed is the laundry room which has only 1 decrepit-looking washer for an 11-story hotel. And it would be nice if the pool was a bit more private.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RunMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,005
    759
    279
    92
    84
See reviews for
914
365
83
500
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

The location of this hotel could not be any better! We were able to walk everywhere from our hotel room! Even at night, we felt safe in this area. The service was amazing as well. Everyone was very friendly and helpful, from the front desk to the bellhop to the valet parking. The whole experience was great! Rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable. The parking is an additional $50 per night, but it is valet parking and I felt worth it in the area. Wonderful made to order breakfast as well as a buffet, but very busy and is only until 9am. Overall a wonderful stay and we will be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonW0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
188 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

To be downtown Chicago, only a few blocks from Michigan Avenue, have a suite, and have hot breakfast and evening reception - well worth the price of staying at this hotel. Friendly staff. For business or pleasure - a very good choice!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Visitors4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Very spacious suite. One room had two beds with its own t.v. and the other room had a pull out couch with a t.v. and desk. There was a free breakfast buffet with eggs made to order which was nice but very busy since the hotel was full. There was a free happy hour in the evening that was also busy, but a nice touch. The hotel had a good restaurant that had a take out window that worked well when we wanted to eat a pizza in our room. Location was good and very close to MI Avenue and shopping. 10 minute walk to Water Tower Place. We had a nice stay at this hotel and would stay again. It was pricey, but had nice extras.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollyczar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

From the onset, our room was wrong. We had reserved two double beds and they gave us one single king bed. We had to haul the kids back down with all our luggage to modify the room. The front desk was "put out" and gave us a different room. (Room #914). We had paid for a city view room initially and was not given that rather the parking garage! Too not complicate issues further we were happy to have two double beds for the family. Too add to this complaint, the t.v. did not work to order movies for the kiddos...the "room engineer" informed us that the entire building was experiencing problems and that they were sorry for this problem...When asked other guests regarding their t.v., they had NO issues with theirs...We just wished the hotel would not have lied and told us the truth...Too make matters worse, the pool temp was cold and there were no more guest towels left in the pool room! Hotel location was great on a positive note and the breakfast was wonderful given the price of the room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level Contributor
135 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

The Embassy Suites is located just three blocks off Michigan Ave with lots of great restaurants and shopping within walking distance. The hotel was very busy due to spring break however this did not keep the staff from taking good care of all the guest. There was a line for breakfast but the management had prepared well and had plenty of staff to make sure things went fast. The gentleman cleaning up the tables was very nice and carried on conversations with the quest while doing a great job getting the tables ready. The rooms were as expected from a Embassy Suites, large, clean and comfortable. This one will stay on my list of places to stay when visiting Chicago!

Room Tip: I like a higher floor away from all the action in the dining area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieC33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Great Hotel..stayed for conference. Comfy beds..awesome customer service. I forgot my toothbrush so they gave me one at the desk. Ate at the restaurant that is in the lobby Oseteria Via Stato, and it was really good italian food. Would stay again in a heartbeat. Location was central to everything.

Room Tip: Stay a little farther from elevators, they can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank windy1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Address: 600 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-3853
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Chicago
#57 Family Hotel in Chicago
#66 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Chicago Hotel
Embassy Suites Chicago
Chicago Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing