We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awesome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Ranked #64 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Awesome location. within walking distance to everything..... Clean, spacious rooms. I had no view, was on the 14th floor.. Had a view of building behind it... And it didnt make a bit of differance to me.. You are there to sleep, shower etc etc... I had a junior suite, and when i walked in thought i had wrong room, but then you turn a corner and there was a good size room with pull out sofa,,, both rooms had big flat screen tvs... Called for linens at 130 am and they shot them right up.. Check in was a breeze... we got there about 1030 in the morning, and check in isnt until 330... doorman told us to try and he was right.. We got right in... awesome hotel and highly recomend....

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steelmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,238
    1,436
    500
    170
    81
See reviews for
1,027
1,448
173
1,014
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (721)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed here St Pats weekend and its a very hotel with a great location on the river, near Millennium Park and walking distance to lots of great spots downtown

Room Tip: They have a variety of room options, lower priced options include city view, they also offer river v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank northshoregirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

The good: Very nice views, centrally located. Fairly nice gym.
The bad: So, so rooms. Leaky faucet. Ventilation cover fell off the wall in room in the middle of the night. Free WiFi !! but so slow as not to be very helpful, even for simple web browsing. The attached restaurant (Hoyts) is fine enough for a hotel restaurant.

Overall it's not bad, but nothing special.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmecm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We spent 2 nights on the ninth floor. Initially we were pleased with the location, cleanliness, comfort and decor. However, on day 2 our room began to smell like an ashtray. Cigarette smoke was pouring through the vents. Before going out to dinner we called the front desk to notify them of the situation. Several hours later when we returned to the room the smoke was so thick you could choke on it. We made a second call to the front desk and they sent up a spray bottle of air freshener. ???? OK. That did not work. Third call. A security guard knocked on our door and shrugged his shoulders. Finally a fourth phone call at 130am and the front desk only offered up a "sorry".

We were clearly unhappy with the service and made it a point to let the front desk know when we checked out. The hotel only offered up a smile and a cheerful "we're sorry". I don't think they really care about their customers comfort, repeat business or referrals.

I would not recommend this hotel as the management is clearly out of touch with the service industry. They were more than ok to send us off after having a sleepless, smokey night. I realize that a guest smoking in one of their rooms is out of their control. But we weren't offered anything in terms of compensation or an effective/alternative solution.

I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank underabluesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garner, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Just stayed here for a conference last week. It is great. Stayed on the 15th floor (plan for elevator time) Wonderful and helpful staff. Convenient location (make sure you go across the river for more views. Comfortable rooms. Will definitely stay here again. Docked them one star because the internet (when it worked) was unbearably slow (clocked 24KB speed sometimes!) and I do all my work via internet so I had to keep going down to the lobby at weird times and still couldn't get my work done. Eventually had to use my phone as a modem.

Room Tip: Choose lower floors to get access to internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank qbanky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

FYI - If you need high speed Internet service, DO NOT choose Hotel 71. Nice hotel, but wouldn't recommend it for business purposes.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GovtCatalyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

There really isn't anything "wrong" about this hotel, but there isn't anything right about it, either. I went to Chicago for a conference and because of its central location and affordable price, we decided to stay here. It is located next to the river in downtown Chicago, within walking distance to many restaurants and shops. The view of the rooms are good, too. HOWEVER, I must say this hotel is really really poorly designed. When you walk into the room you'll see the bed right next to the door which means you WILL hear people talk in the hall way. You can also hear people next door talking on the phone and can hear pretty much every single word they are saying. The closet is literally tiny and can fit maybe 3 hangers. The closet door is a mirror which is nice, but there is no light in front of it!!! Be prepared to look at yourself in the mirror in the dark...

The bathroom is also very poorly designed - the toilet paper is located in the back of and far away from the toilet, which means you'd have to really try to reach for it! There is also a weird magnifying mirror hanging right in front of the bathroom mirror and it is quite annoying. There is air conditioning in the room, but it doesn't tell you the temperature of the room. All there is is a button says "lo-high" "warm- cold" and you have to guess where you want it to be.

The hotel is nice to provide free internet, but the desk is barely useable because there is no electric outlet to plug in your desktop or cell phone or anything else... I had to charge my phone in the bathroom. When you walk into the room you won't be able to turn on the light because there are no lights in the room, except for 1 desk lamp and 1 floor lamp both located on the other side of the room... so be prepared to walk in the dark across the room to find a light and locate the switch.

I am really not a picky person when it comes to hotels and usually am very understanding, but it is just all the small stuff that adds up giving me the impression that this hotel is super poorly designed. They might have tried very hard but really didn't meet customer needs. Sure the location is great and the beds are comfortable, but look how many hotels are around this areas! Location is definitely not their "unique" quality so nobody should say that they recommend this hotel because of the location. Most hotels around here also have great customer service so that is not a winner, either. Like I said before, it is the small things that make a difference, and it is too bad that they failed.

Room Tip: Find a quiet room because walls are thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superkathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sshern, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent visit at Hotel 71. We completed a $20 million renovation in 2011 that included an upgrade to Internet service throughout the hotel. Although our guests have responded favorably, I'd like to receive additional information, so I can determine the reason for the delayed speed during your visit.

Would you please let me know the room number you occupied during your stay at Hotel 71, so I can personally walk the room and address the items you mentioned in your review? The details you noted (closet size, location of lighting, etc.) are not indicative of our guestroom standards, so I'd like to resolve these issues as soon as possible.

I look forward to hearing from you soon. Again, thank you for taking the time to make us aware of the issue. It's comments such as yours that allow us to improve the guest experience.

Best regards,
Steve Shern
General Manager
Hotel 71
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#61 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#15 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#85 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,101 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
LondonHouse Chicago, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Property: Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Address: 71 East Upper Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3755
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#28 Green Hotel in Chicago
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#38 Family Hotel in Chicago
#39 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#66 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront boasts an unrivaled location in the heart of the city--where the Chicago River and North Michigan Avenue meet. Freshly renovated, the hotel updated guest rooms, 24-hour complimentary fitness and business centers, and Hoyt's Chicago-an in-house restaurant located on the lobby level of the hotel. This all-day dining venue features culinary delights inspired by Midwestern tastes and locally grown produce. Whether you're visiting Chicago for business or leisure purposes, you'll find yourself within minutes of your destination--the Loop, Michigan Avenue, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the River North District and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
71 Hotel Chicago
Hotel 71 Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing