We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Ranked #64 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

The room for some reason surprised me given it is a 3.5 star hotel. It was very comfortable. I had requested a premium city view King room. It had lots of mirrors, lots of lights, lots of electrical outlets, a very comfortable bed with nice linens, and a large bathroom (shower only). It was ideal size, layout, and perfectly furnished for a one week trip on business.
Beware it does not have an inroom safe, so no storing a laptop or other valuables. Also, no honour bar, so bring your own snacks (there was an empty fridge to store)! And most strangely, when I called down for room service, they told me I didn't have the right menu?! That was frustrating and turned me off room service!... so somewhat disorganized in that dept.
I booked the city view because for me it wasn't worth paying for a view of the river. However, what they don't tell you, is that it's worth paying for the river for another reason....... if you have the 'city view' then you may back onto the alley where about 15 different garbage trucks roll through each night emptying dumpsters... On the 9th floor, it's extremely loud. If you don't like listening to garbage trucks at night - pay for the view!
Other than that the hotel was nice. I didn't have much interaction with the staff at all. The gym is overly adequate for a 3.5 star hotel or any hotel for that matter - a variety of equipment, mirrors, towels, and a view of the river.
I'd stay again, but I'd pay the premium for the river view....... my guess is that facing Wacker is quieter than facing the alley!

Room Tip: to avoid the sound of trucks emptying dumpsters in the alley all night, opt for the river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaerolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,238
    1,437
    500
    170
    81
See reviews for
1,027
1,449
173
1,014
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
314 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 393 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Our group of four stayed at Hotel 71 for St. Patrick's Day weekend. We chose Hotel 71 based on the positive TA reviews, location, and cost.

Upon check-in, reception was friendly. I arrived at 10:00am and was able to check-in early. Since we were arriving at different times, my friends were given keys to the room upon their arrival. Unfortunately, due to the St. Patty's Day festivities, riverview rooms were not available. Regardless, from the 32nd floor, our view of the city was amazing. As mentioned in previous reviews, the room was huge. Upon our request, housekeeping quickly provided extra towels, glasses, and coffee cups.

While we didn't spend much time in the room, our stay was comfortable. The hotel is in a great location. The Magnificent Mile is within walking distance. Lots of great stores and restaurants in the area. BTW-Sweetwater Tavern and Grill is amazing!

Check-out is normally at noon. Since several of us were running in the Get Lucky marathon, we asked for a late check-out. We were given until 12:30 to check-out.

For a quick getaway, our stay was fine. Just a warning: The elevator was a bit slow.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank forensicsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Enjoyed our stay at hoyel 71 - an older hotel - but with that comes massive rooms.

the location is fantastic. very central and close to everything you would want - amd the bar downstairs has great doos and service.

Staff were verry helpfull and attentive.

Beds and pillows were very comfy.

A few oddities;
* No safe in the room - theres one downstairs in the recpetion for guest to use.
* No bar fridge in the rooms - so while theres tea and coffe facilities you need to send down and pay $8 for some milk to be delivered via roomservice if you like white tea/coffee..


Overall an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank t04st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevens Point
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Went for a weekend getaway in Chicago and stayed at Hotel 71. Great hotel, good rate- went during low travel time but good rate none the less. Decent view from the large window and we didn't go for the riverview which I'm sure is better. Room was spacious, staff were awesome- very helpfull to us out-of-towners. Hotel is nicely loctated in downtown Chicago, we walked to many places even in the winter. I would go back there

Room Tip: The room we had was nice with a good view-32nd floor. The riverview is better but we didn't plan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jspoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Awesome location. within walking distance to everything..... Clean, spacious rooms. I had no view, was on the 14th floor.. Had a view of building behind it... And it didnt make a bit of differance to me.. You are there to sleep, shower etc etc... I had a junior suite, and when i walked in thought i had wrong room, but then you turn a corner and there was a good size room with pull out sofa,,, both rooms had big flat screen tvs... Called for linens at 130 am and they shot them right up.. Check in was a breeze... we got there about 1030 in the morning, and check in isnt until 330... doorman told us to try and he was right.. We got right in... awesome hotel and highly recomend....

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steelmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed here St Pats weekend and its a very hotel with a great location on the river, near Millennium Park and walking distance to lots of great spots downtown

Room Tip: They have a variety of room options, lower priced options include city view, they also offer river v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank northshoregirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

The good: Very nice views, centrally located. Fairly nice gym.
The bad: So, so rooms. Leaky faucet. Ventilation cover fell off the wall in room in the middle of the night. Free WiFi !! but so slow as not to be very helpful, even for simple web browsing. The attached restaurant (Hoyts) is fine enough for a hotel restaurant.

Overall it's not bad, but nothing special.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmecm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#61 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#15 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#85 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,102 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
LondonHouse Chicago, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Property: Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Address: 71 East Upper Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3755
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#28 Green Hotel in Chicago
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#38 Family Hotel in Chicago
#39 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#66 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront boasts an unrivaled location in the heart of the city--where the Chicago River and North Michigan Avenue meet. Freshly renovated, the hotel updated guest rooms, 24-hour complimentary fitness and business centers, and Hoyt's Chicago-an in-house restaurant located on the lobby level of the hotel. This all-day dining venue features culinary delights inspired by Midwestern tastes and locally grown produce. Whether you're visiting Chicago for business or leisure purposes, you'll find yourself within minutes of your destination--the Loop, Michigan Avenue, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the River North District and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
71 Hotel Chicago
Hotel 71 Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing