We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Nearby Hotels
US$282
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$533
US$459
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$292
US$252
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$418
US$399
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$650
US$618
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$260
La Quinta
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$444
US$378
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$361
US$351
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$474
US$437
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Warwick Allerton-Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$340
US$324
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (7,347)
Filter reviews
7,347 results
Traveller rating
2,804
2,755
1,126
423
239
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,804
2,755
1,126
423
239
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswest towerbig barthe rivernavy pierhuge hotelconvention hotelmillennium parkwacker drivethe magnificent milewrigley buildingmichigan avemini barthe loopvalet parkinghigh floorart institutefitness center
Filter
Updating list...
5,187 - 5,192 of 7,347 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2012

This trip was a last minute adventure. We have stayed in this hotel before but this time got it through priceline randomly and it was a phenomenal deal. Sometimes when we use priceline (and the hotel staff knows upon check in), they treat you differently. Not here! We requested an upgrade and got that too! Rooms are modern, king beds incredibly comfortable, staff are courteous and helpful, breakfast buffet is delicious! All in all, a great stay in Chicago close to both Michigan Avenue and State Street,shopping, museums, the lake, the river, etc. If you're hoping to watch t.v., the satelite coverage is less than mediocre, but we weren't there for that. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irunforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferKedinger, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hyatt Regency Chicago on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased to hear that you had such a lovely trip downtown with us. Thanks for the gleaming recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel upon your return to Chicago. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2012

What can I add to the more than thousand reviews already written? No arguments on excellent location. This is the (probably) largest hotel in Chicago. It is a convention hotel. I stayed during one of the largest conventions in the city. Not a member of Hyatt program.

The hotel was full, but check in was fast at night. I was lucky that my rate negotiated by the travel agency included internet otherwise would have been a $15/day, which is unfortunate. A convention / business hotel should include the internet. My breakfast was included but I had to skip it 2 days as the lines were too long. What was really obnoxious was $25 charge if you placed any personal items in the minibar! That is ludicrous. Most hotels leave a small space for personal items.

The bed was ok. If you select the corner rooms they offer a little more space. The bathrooms I would grade as below average for a hotel of this size. The personal shelf space was minimal, and no bath-robe (should be standard at this level).

The hotel is connected via skyways and passages to Illinois center next door and then a small mall with multiple fast food outlets, LensCrafter, Dunkin Donuts and a CVS that you don't have to go outside for great esp in the winter/rain. Two AMC cinemas are within walking distance

Overall you are paying for the location. Average for everything and I give it poor marks for internet price, putting your stuff in mini-bar pentalty.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeddaCath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Stayed at the Hyatt for a 2 night vacation with my husband (Chicago w/o kids for first time, yea!). The location of this hotel is unbelievable; within walking distance to EVERYTHING! The staff was friendly and helpful from the moment we turned our car over to the valet to checking out of the hotel. And loved the Starbucks downstairs (which I think is always open and also offers quick, cheap bfast things...) Our only complaints (and they really are minor...): The refrigerator only holds beverages for sale and is not cold enough to hold any food (there is a sign inside stating this). Wish we would have checked first before our large Italian meal that we couldn't finish! Hate wasting food and we had to throw our leftovers away. Made sure we didn't order too much food from then on. Also the bathroom seemed to have been cleaned in a hurry...it was not dirty, but not spic and span. The bed pillow had a large stain too; we just put it to the side. To be fair to the Hyatt, we didn't address these things with the staff because we were having a great time! We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryannk777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferKedinger, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hyatt Regency Chicago and for sharing this feedback on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased to see that you had such a nice couples getaway downtown Chicago. Regarding your additional room concerns, we would have been happy to assist you during your stay. Upon your return if you'd like more refrigerator space we do offer rentals to guests. We hope that we can welcome you back for a perfect stay next time! Please follow up with me directly if you have any items you'd like to discuss.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Nice location, exterior of building could use some updates. The room decor was recently redone and very comfortable. The hotel lobby bar although huuuuge closed at 1am, not exciting. Over all nice property. Valet is $50.00 a night just FYI

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1stylinchk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferKedinger, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2012

Thank you for choosing to say at Hyatt Regency Chicago and for giving this feedback on TripAdvisor. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay a the hotel. Upon your return join us on Facebook to take advantage of our Work of the Week to save on parking. We look forward to welcoming you back downtown Chicago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Getting in to the parking garage ( and price )was the only drawback but we did manage to find it on the second try! Check in was a breeze! They offered a upgrade to a city view for 20.00 and it was worth every cent!!! this hotel is located right on the river with the best views of the city. We did not see the lake view as we wanted city views. Make sure to have a drink in the Big Bar as the city lights come on. Beaautiful Staff was wonderful, would/ will stay here again. Everything is within walking distance. You cant go wrong. We were able to get Wi Fi in the lobby and bars so we did not purchase teh WiFi package. Went for fun not work!!

Room Tip: Ask for city view
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisWyoming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferKedinger, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2012

So pleased to read that you had a nice couples trip at Hyatt Regency Chicago. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share this feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back for another couples getaway downtown Chicago. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews