We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Y me”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Ranked #84 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Y me”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I was really excited booking my stay for 3days along with the complimentary parking however....After leaving my bank I'd deposited a large amount of money into my account an hour before I checked in. I was embarrassed because after the rep swiped my card he said that my card had been declined and I went straight to the ATM and then I was able to get some money. I had to use the ATM 3 times with each transaction costing me an additional$3.50. I was embarrassed 3 times. I felt singled out because of my race and I will never stay or recommend this hotel to anyone. I usually stay at JW Marriott. I chosed this hotel because of the parking which was the best feature. I used another account which had over a quarter million in the account and it was declined too. I hate this hotel and your staff is phoney and I know mos def that I make MORE money than all of them behind the desk. Never again will I stay here. I can withdraw money from the same account but U declined the same damn card! U made my stay feel like the fifties and never again will I stay at this hotel! I see why some of the staff boycott this hotel. Everyone should be treated the same!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul_Daly_151, Resident Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
I am very sorry to hear about the difficulties you experienced during the check-in process. Please know that we work to provide a quick and efficient check-in and regret that the processing of your bank card for payment did not work. We do appreciate you staying with us, and invite you to call us directly if you would like to discuss this further. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,337
    2,451
    978
    367
    204
See reviews for
962
1,346
315
2,677
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,344)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Delafield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This trip was a last minute adventure. We have stayed in this hotel before but this time got it through priceline randomly and it was a phenomenal deal. Sometimes when we use priceline (and the hotel staff knows upon check in), they treat you differently. Not here! We requested an upgrade and got that too! Rooms are modern, king beds incredibly comfortable, staff are courteous and helpful, breakfast buffet is delicious! All in all, a great stay in Chicago close to both Michigan Avenue and State Street,shopping, museums, the lake, the river, etc. If you're hoping to watch t.v., the satelite coverage is less than mediocre, but we weren't there for that. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irunforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferKedinger, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hyatt Regency Chicago on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased to hear that you had such a lovely trip downtown with us. Thanks for the gleaming recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel upon your return to Chicago. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
313 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

What can I add to the more than thousand reviews already written? No arguments on excellent location. This is the (probably) largest hotel in Chicago. It is a convention hotel. I stayed during one of the largest conventions in the city. Not a member of Hyatt program.

The hotel was full, but check in was fast at night. I was lucky that my rate negotiated by the travel agency included internet otherwise would have been a $15/day, which is unfortunate. A convention / business hotel should include the internet. My breakfast was included but I had to skip it 2 days as the lines were too long. What was really obnoxious was $25 charge if you placed any personal items in the minibar! That is ludicrous. Most hotels leave a small space for personal items.

The bed was ok. If you select the corner rooms they offer a little more space. The bathrooms I would grade as below average for a hotel of this size. The personal shelf space was minimal, and no bath-robe (should be standard at this level).

The hotel is connected via skyways and passages to Illinois center next door and then a small mall with multiple fast food outlets, LensCrafter, Dunkin Donuts and a CVS that you don't have to go outside for great esp in the winter/rain. Two AMC cinemas are within walking distance

Overall you are paying for the location. Average for everything and I give it poor marks for internet price, putting your stuff in mini-bar pentalty.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeddaCath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Indiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Stayed at the Hyatt for a 2 night vacation with my husband (Chicago w/o kids for first time, yea!). The location of this hotel is unbelievable; within walking distance to EVERYTHING! The staff was friendly and helpful from the moment we turned our car over to the valet to checking out of the hotel. And loved the Starbucks downstairs (which I think is always open and also offers quick, cheap bfast things...) Our only complaints (and they really are minor...): The refrigerator only holds beverages for sale and is not cold enough to hold any food (there is a sign inside stating this). Wish we would have checked first before our large Italian meal that we couldn't finish! Hate wasting food and we had to throw our leftovers away. Made sure we didn't order too much food from then on. Also the bathroom seemed to have been cleaned in a hurry...it was not dirty, but not spic and span. The bed pillow had a large stain too; we just put it to the side. To be fair to the Hyatt, we didn't address these things with the staff because we were having a great time! We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryannk777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferKedinger, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hyatt Regency Chicago and for sharing this feedback on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased to see that you had such a nice couples getaway downtown Chicago. Regarding your additional room concerns, we would have been happy to assist you during your stay. Upon your return if you'd like more refrigerator space we do offer rentals to guests. We hope that we can welcome you back for a perfect stay next time! Please follow up with me directly if you have any items you'd like to discuss.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Nice location, exterior of building could use some updates. The room decor was recently redone and very comfortable. The hotel lobby bar although huuuuge closed at 1am, not exciting. Over all nice property. Valet is $50.00 a night just FYI

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1stylinchk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferKedinger, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you for choosing to say at Hyatt Regency Chicago and for giving this feedback on TripAdvisor. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay a the hotel. Upon your return join us on Facebook to take advantage of our Work of the Week to save on parking. We look forward to welcoming you back downtown Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wyoming
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Getting in to the parking garage ( and price )was the only drawback but we did manage to find it on the second try! Check in was a breeze! They offered a upgrade to a city view for 20.00 and it was worth every cent!!! this hotel is located right on the river with the best views of the city. We did not see the lake view as we wanted city views. Make sure to have a drink in the Big Bar as the city lights come on. Beaautiful Staff was wonderful, would/ will stay here again. Everything is within walking distance. You cant go wrong. We were able to get Wi Fi in the lobby and bars so we did not purchase teh WiFi package. Went for fun not work!!

Room Tip: Ask for city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisWyoming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferKedinger, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
So pleased to read that you had a nice couples trip at Hyatt Regency Chicago. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share this feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back for another couples getaway downtown Chicago. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
133 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I stay at this property every year for Whiskey Fest. I am always impressed that the are always properly staffed at every turn. Valet, check-in, concierge, bell men, the bars and restaurants....NO WAITS!

I love it! 'Cuz I can get right to the whiskey!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobbTob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferKedinger, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you for staying at Hyatt Regency Chicago for Whiskey Fest. We appreciate your feedback on TripAdvisor. Glad to hear that you made such a great connection with our hotel staff. We hope that we can welcome you back into the hotel downtown Chicago prior to the next festival. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Swissotel Chicago
Swissotel Chicago
#60 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,882 reviews
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#66 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,454 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#99 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chicago

Property: Hyatt Regency Chicago
Address: 151 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3709
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Chicago
#47 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#51 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#69 Business Hotel in Chicago
#76 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 2019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the difference between a hotel and a Hyatt when you stay at our incomparable downtown hotel. Set within the epicenter of the city, our AAA Four Diamond Hyatt Regency Chicago is conveniently located in the heart of the city, connected to the Illinois Center and within minutes of the Magnificent Mile. We are excited to announce the completion of our $168 Million renovation! We are eager to show you our new welcoming lobby, engaging check-in pods and check out our three restaurant concepts and menus. Come see the completely transformed Hyatt Regency Chicago! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing