We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Ranked #88 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Hamburg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Stayed at Hyatt over 4 days for friends birthday. Perfect location in downtown for restaurants and shopping. Got a great deal online, but ammenities at hotel pricey (rent a fridge for your room at $25 and the coffee bar was pricey for coffee and breakfast). Found a grocery store behind the hotel that had fresh salads and snacks at a much more reasonable price. Staff was very friendly and helpful and an overall great stay in Chicago.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZIG34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferKedinger, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hyatt Regency Chicago for this special occasion. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the birthday celebrations downtown Chicago. Hope we can welcome you back to the hotel for many more special occasions. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,514
    2,553
    1,044
    391
    214
See reviews for
1,043
1,404
322
2,870
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,379)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Check in was pretty quick and easy. Ashley was accommodating and friendly and gave me some options when choosing a floor and room. I was placed in the west wing and the double queen room was nice. Upon arriving on the floor, however, I was greeted by a hallway of piled up dirty towels and used glasses outside many of the doors. In fact, there was a pile of used towels and two empty glasses sitting right outside our door. It made it seem like the room was still occupied. Had I checked in early I would have understood that housekeeping hadn't picked them up yet but it was close to 4pm. This made the hallway look disgusting- I have seen cleaner frat house hallways at 10 o'clock on a weekend morning. Even when the towels and glasses were removed the hallways still looked pretty bad. For a 4 star hotel this is unacceptable. We also noticed a few stains on some of the linens. Again, for a 4 start hotel (or any hotel!), not good.

The room was spacious and the bathroom was clean and seemed recently updated. Our room had a particle city/lake view. Hotel is in a good location. For having paid only $86.00 per night via Hotwire, I was happy with the stay. Having to pay for Internet, even in the lobby, is unacceptable.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank HappytoGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Nicely located, convenient to l, subway and bus routes. Meals and services were pretty high; and I live close to NYC. Overall, a good hotel. Could use so renovations to keep up with surrounding hotels, but when the price us right...

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monmouthprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferKedinger, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Glad to read that you were so pleased with your stay at Hyatt Regency Chicago. Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. We hope to welcome you back upon your return to downtown Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We have stayed here several times. You can often times get it on Priceline for $60-$70. Very nice rooms with great views. The place has a fun atmosphere especially in Big Bar upstairs. It's very close to Michigan ave and public transport. The parking is outrageous though. I park at Navy Pier and walk back.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jawkurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferKedinger, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Hyatt Regency Chicago. We understand that prices can add up while traveling, so we have created a Word of the Week on Facebook. Mention this featured weekly word for a day of complimentary Wi-Fi and discounts on parking daily. We hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel soon. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

The hotel has two huge towers and tons of rooms, still, the staff are nice and friendly. My room was the tiniest one they have (each floor has one room that is shorted space because the service elevator is built into the back side of it). It had a queen size bed and was about the same size as hotel rooms in NYC, which is much smaller than the typical room in Chicago. I suppose I was the lucky one who got that room because I booked with Priceline. Still, the room would have been fine, had it been clean. The bathroom had hair all over it. I spent the first 15 minutes of my stay cleaning that up. The mirror hadn't been washed so there were gross spots on it. After the first night, the maid service cleaned the mirror and did a better job cleaning the room, but there was a lovely 10" hair in my wash cloth. The carpet from the living area just abruptly stops and has threads sticking out. It needs something to tack it down and create a more pleasant appearance from the bathroom. There was no channel guide in the room (it was available deep in the menus on the TV) and the information about the hotel was much less informational than it was advertisements.

Room Tip: Do not accept any room that ends in 01. It is the super small room that backs up to the service elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieChiWeenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul_Daly_151, Resident Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Thank you for your review. It is a pleasure to know you find our staff to be nice and friendly. We appreciate every opportunity to provide exceptional service to our valued guests, which adds to our disappointment in the missed steps you shared about the care of your room. I am very sorry about your experiences, and hope you come back so that we can provide you with a perfect stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estero, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

My Hotwire deal at $100/night did not disappoint me with this hotel. I had a quiet, recently renovated corner room (1485) with an interesting view of the Chicago River and two queen beds. The room and bath were stylishly updated and well equipped with storage, sufficient hangers, hair dryer, iron and board, lots of work space, iPod docking alarm radio, and nice toiletries. The hotel is oriented to business travelers and makes it easy to check in for your flights, print boarding passes, and monitor departing flight status. This is a great location for exploring the lakefront, museums, shopping and restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet corner room - 1485 was perfect for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachtango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferKedinger, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay at Hyatt Regency Chicago. We are pleased to see that you were able to enjoy a view of downtown Chicago and the Chicago River from the comfort of your own hotel room. it sounds like our location suited your trip adventures near Lake Michigan, Chicago museums, shopping and restaurants. We hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel upon your return to the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Just stayed there for the National Restaurant Show. The hotel is ok. They upgraded the rooms so they're pretty modern. But for another year my wife and I ate the breakfast buffet in the main lobby... and it is terrible! We travel for business and eat at buffets all over the country... and I think this is the worst. The staff is wonderful and they try to be accommodating but it doesn't make up for the poor quality of the ingredients nor the poor execution of the dishes.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrTravel19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#21 of 190 in Chicago
4,678 reviews
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#71 of 190 in Chicago
5,007 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Swissotel Chicago
Swissotel Chicago
#64 of 190 in Chicago
4,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chicago

Property: Hyatt Regency Chicago
Address: 151 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3709
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Chicago
#47 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#53 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#69 Business Hotel in Chicago
#76 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 2019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the difference between a hotel and a Hyatt when you stay at our incomparable downtown hotel. Set within the epicenter of the city, our AAA Four Diamond Hyatt Regency Chicago is conveniently located in the heart of the city, connected to the Illinois Center and within minutes of the Magnificent Mile. We are excited to announce the completion of our $168 Million renovation! We are eager to show you our new welcoming lobby, engaging check-in pods and check out our three restaurant concepts and menus. Come see the completely transformed Hyatt Regency Chicago! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing