We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chicago Business Travel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
InterContinental Chicago
Ranked #74 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
St Louis
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Chicago Business Travel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I scheduled a business trip with the additional purpose of entertaining clients in the evening. Overall I found the hotel clean, good location, helpful staff. But what made this trip the most worthwhile for me was dining in the Michael Jordan Steakhouse in the hotel. Definitely a top notch experience all around.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tcanyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_CHI, Manager at InterContinental Chicago, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear tcanyon,

We appreciate the 4 star rating and will share your wonderful feedback, about Michael Jordan's Steakhouse, with the MJ team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,900
    1,370
    540
    211
    143
See reviews for
842
1,038
211
1,435
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (836)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

We suburbanites decided to spend a few days in Chicago for some shopping, dining, a play, etc. I got a spectacular deal on the price since January occupancy is lower and the hotels downtown want to fill their rooms. The views in these "deal" rooms may not be spectacular but who cares? It was just a base for our wanderings on Michigan Avenue. The hotel is quiet, very nice, rooms clean and well apointed and one of the major pluses is the Intercontinental's location. The weather was unusually warm but even with a cold snap, a walk to the Water Tower shopping complex was easy and we also hoofed it down to Macy's on State Street (using the Pedway). We were favorably impressed by how quiet the hotel was. The only noise one could hear from outside at night was an ambulance siren. There is a Walgreen's across the street where we picked up snacks and bottled water. Be prepared to pay the usual hotel fee for parking your car in their garage. If you must take your vehicle, bear in mind that parking within the downtown loop is expensive. One could come in on a shuttle from the airport to stay here without a vehicle and get around quite easily via cabs or buses. One huge plus was staying mid-week as it was much less crowded walking on the Michigan Avenue sidewalks, less people in the stores and restaurants. Our only negative was a rather steep price for the breakfast buffet (we should have asked first) but a Starbucks with muffins, etc. is located immediately off the lobby area. This was our third stay at the Intercontinental and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the west side facing Michigan Avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichmondBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paducah, Kentucky
Level Contributor
257 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

I stayed at the Intercontinental Hotel for a leisure weekend with my husband and niece and it could not have been a better experience. From Stan who greeted us and took charge of our bags, to the front desk check-in to Sam who delivered our bags and was a wealth of information on the hotel and surrounding area. Our room was clean, nicely appointed and a decent size. The staff everywhere was wonderful. We ate at Michael Jordans restaurant and at the Continental and at both the food was good and waitstaff courteous and attentive. The hotel is right across from Nordstroms and within a few blocks of other great stores. This was meant to be a special weekend for our niece's 18th birthday and the Intercontinental certainly played it's part.

Room Tip: Our room had a view of Michigan Ave and it was great. Request the new tower of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kentucky_Kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_CHI, Manager at InterContinental Chicago, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you for the superb rating and we hope to see you again for your nieces 19th, 20th and 21st birthdays!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

Overall, this hotel was very satisfactory. Our room was a good size with a Michigan Avenue view. The lobby is attractive and front desk, room service and housekeeping attentive. The bell service was horrible. We waited 45 minutes for our luggage to be brought "out" from the bell closet and one of the bags was lost. If we had been flying a commercial flight, we would have missed our flight. The person manning the bell desk said he could not leave to go retrieve our bags and there was no one else to assist. This was unsatisfactory and not up to par for other hotels of this caliber.

Room Tip: Our room was on Michigan Avenue, which was spacious. Other family members had rooms that were much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amimtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

It's everything you would expect from a 5 star hotel. We spent 5 days there and I have 0 complaints. Room was very nice, so was the bathroom, hotel staff was more than kind and friendly, the restaurant is very good, breakfast was amazing. Location: right on Michigan Ave!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fmaspavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_CHI, Manager at InterContinental Chicago, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
We are thankful for your 5 Star rating and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Overall, this is an attractive hotel in a nice Chicago location. The poor rating is a result of the condition of the room when I arrived. I checked in fairly late, after a day of travel. My biggest surprise (or shock) was finding the bathroom door nob covered by a condom. The bathroom did have bath towels, but no hand towels nor washcloths. The carpet had very obviously not been swept. If I had not been in need of sleep, and had I not heard the clerk tell another person at check in there were no more rooms, I would have requested a room change. At least the bedding was fresh. The next morning I reported the condition to the front desk. No apology, just a "we'll make sure the room is cleaned. That evening, the carpet still had not been swept, but at least there were no surprises on the door nob. Great exercise room resulted in poor vs terrible rating.

Room Tip: Select another of the many Michigan Avenue hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, VA
Level Contributor
101 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Premier location on Michigan Avenue. Great old building. Attentive service. But there is alot of competition in this 4-star category in Chicago. The rooms are small, but nicely done and very clean. I was recognized at check-in as a Priority Rewards Platinum and told I had a "special" room reserved for me, but then found out when I got upstairs that it was literally two feet from the elevator in the old tower. Little touches are lacking. After wandering two floors trying to find an ice machine, I finally just went down to the bar in the lobby. The faucet in the bathroom sink was missing the "H" and "C" tabs on the knobs making it look like it needed repair. $2 charge for dialing toll-free numbers. Who does that anymore? If you can get a good rate (which I did in the middle of winter in Chicago), it's a good choice. But if not, I would shop around. It's not a bad choice. Just not the best choice.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McLean4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#31 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,157 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Chicago

Property: InterContinental Chicago
Address: 505 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-3827
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Green Hotel in Chicago
#46 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#58 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#64 Business Hotel in Chicago
#65 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 844
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Chicago is a lot like the city itself: historic but hip, refined but relaxed, cultured but comfortable. A member of Michigan Avenue s architectural elite since 1929, our hotel is within easy reach of Chicago s incomparable museums, stores, theatres and restaurants. Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and Oak Street Beach are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your InterContinental Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing