We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great conference rooms, poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Chicago
Ranked #73 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great conference rooms, poor service”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

The Intercontinental has some beautiful function rooms and a great location, but the rooms are very small and they charge extra for everything. Internet service was $17.95. In addition, the staff is less helpful than ideal. In addition, the common rooms were cold!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewEnglandTraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_CHI, Manager at InterContinental Chicago, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you for the positive comments about our location and meeting rooms. We are extremely disappointed to learn that you feel our service did not meet or exceed your expectations.

We would appreciate deeper insight into your service experience to understand how we can exceed your expectations in the future. Please contact me directly @ robert.deluca@ihg.com.

Warm Regards,

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,984
    1,410
    547
    216
    149
See reviews for
863
1,059
220
1,506
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (868)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at the hotel on January 21, 2012. Great location, but service a little to be desired. One of the coldest days in Chicago and NO HEAT in our room! Someone brought up a space heater that barely got warm. When I called and said it wasn't heating up, they said, "takes a while to heat up." They never even offered to relocate us to a room with heat. When I asked about changing rooms, they wanted to charge extra. I was told, "We are giving you a free breakfast." We stay a LOT in Chicago and we have a lot of choices. Very disappointed in the service. On the upside the breakfast and the breakfast staff were great. Upon checking out I complained again to Front Office Day Manager and she gave me her card and said upon our next stay contact her and she would upgrade our room. Sorry, but after that stay can't say there will be a next time.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MicheleV722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_CHI, Manager at InterContinental Chicago, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear Michele V.,

We do hope you stay with us in the future. Your feedback is important to us and key to helping ensure our guests have an effortless stay, though out our brand. We would love to speak with you once more. Please message us your contact information, so that we may regain your trust.

Warm Regards,

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidwood, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

This hotel is very nice though it can be expensive (we got a good deal), but it is the perfect place to stay if you want to be in the heart of the shopping district in Chicago. Very courteous and helpful staff. Room was great, but I was disappointed that there was a $14 charge for internet connection (you can go to the Starbucks in the lobby and get a free connection).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fmperucca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My husband was here on business and I came along just to keep him company and check out downtown Chicago. From the greeter at curbside to the bellmen, valet and front desk personnel all were very friendly and welcoming. Our room was a nice size and very clean. Two comfortable chairs for relaxing. TV on the smallish size but adequate, however, had to have someone come up and "jiggle" wires to get it to come on. Also a friendly employee. Love the button by the door that indicates "do no disturb" or "please clean room". Very convenient.

The bathroom was awkward to use. No towel rack for the hand towel. Had to drape on the sink which resulted in a wet towel several times. The toilet tissue was behind the toilet and difficult to reach. We resorted to "resting" it on the tub. The small ledge was not conducive to personal effects. And lighting was poor. HOWEVER, it was very clean.

I wish there was a lobby where you could sit and watch the foot traffic on Michigan Ave. They did have a Starbucks and a hotel bar with limited access to "people watching". The bar food was very good. Nice staff, very helpful without being intrusive. The Starbucks was very busy but good service quickly. Lots of business people on computers. Fun to check it all out. Good view of Michigan Ave.

We ate at Michael Jordan's Restaurant at the hotel. Nice decor, good staff, not remarkable food. Not bad just not great. A tad pricey but to be expected for the location. On a side note, we enjoyed the bar food so much more.

All in all a good visit and would come again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank florida1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_CHI, Manager at InterContinental Chicago, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear Florida 1950,

Thank you for the 4 Star Rating, we look forward to welcoming you back to Chicago soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Louis
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I scheduled a business trip with the additional purpose of entertaining clients in the evening. Overall I found the hotel clean, good location, helpful staff. But what made this trip the most worthwhile for me was dining in the Michael Jordan Steakhouse in the hotel. Definitely a top notch experience all around.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tcanyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_CHI, Manager at InterContinental Chicago, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear tcanyon,

We appreciate the 4 star rating and will share your wonderful feedback, about Michael Jordan's Steakhouse, with the MJ team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We suburbanites decided to spend a few days in Chicago for some shopping, dining, a play, etc. I got a spectacular deal on the price since January occupancy is lower and the hotels downtown want to fill their rooms. The views in these "deal" rooms may not be spectacular but who cares? It was just a base for our wanderings on Michigan Avenue. The hotel is quiet, very nice, rooms clean and well apointed and one of the major pluses is the Intercontinental's location. The weather was unusually warm but even with a cold snap, a walk to the Water Tower shopping complex was easy and we also hoofed it down to Macy's on State Street (using the Pedway). We were favorably impressed by how quiet the hotel was. The only noise one could hear from outside at night was an ambulance siren. There is a Walgreen's across the street where we picked up snacks and bottled water. Be prepared to pay the usual hotel fee for parking your car in their garage. If you must take your vehicle, bear in mind that parking within the downtown loop is expensive. One could come in on a shuttle from the airport to stay here without a vehicle and get around quite easily via cabs or buses. One huge plus was staying mid-week as it was much less crowded walking on the Michigan Avenue sidewalks, less people in the stores and restaurants. Our only negative was a rather steep price for the breakfast buffet (we should have asked first) but a Starbucks with muffins, etc. is located immediately off the lobby area. This was our third stay at the Intercontinental and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the west side facing Michigan Avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichmondBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paducah, Kentucky
Level Contributor
257 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I stayed at the Intercontinental Hotel for a leisure weekend with my husband and niece and it could not have been a better experience. From Stan who greeted us and took charge of our bags, to the front desk check-in to Sam who delivered our bags and was a wealth of information on the hotel and surrounding area. Our room was clean, nicely appointed and a decent size. The staff everywhere was wonderful. We ate at Michael Jordans restaurant and at the Continental and at both the food was good and waitstaff courteous and attentive. The hotel is right across from Nordstroms and within a few blocks of other great stores. This was meant to be a special weekend for our niece's 18th birthday and the Intercontinental certainly played it's part.

Room Tip: Our room had a view of Michigan Ave and it was great. Request the new tower of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kentucky_Kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_CHI, Manager at InterContinental Chicago, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you for the superb rating and we hope to see you again for your nieces 19th, 20th and 21st birthdays!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#32 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,842 reviews
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Chicago

Property: InterContinental Chicago
Address: 505 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-3827
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Green Hotel in Chicago
#45 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#58 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#64 Business Hotel in Chicago
#65 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 844
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Chicago is a lot like the city itself: historic but hip, refined but relaxed, cultured but comfortable. A member of Michigan Avenue s architectural elite since 1929, our hotel is within easy reach of Chicago s incomparable museums, stores, theatres and restaurants. Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and Oak Street Beach are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing