We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Nearby Hotels
US$317
US$282
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$525
US$459
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$290
US$252
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$417
US$399
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$585
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$426
US$378
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$474
US$437
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$371
US$319
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Warwick Allerton-Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$340
US$324
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (5,038)
Filter reviews
5,038 results
Traveller rating
2,445
1,596
603
241
153
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,445
1,596
603
241
153
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmichael jordan's steakhouseexecutive towernew towermichigan avenuegreat locationmagnificent milefitness centernavy piermag mileindoor poolthe riveran upgrademini barking bedcorner roomfew blocksmillennium park
Filter
Updating list...
3,931 - 3,936 of 5,038 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the hotel on January 21, 2012. Great location, but service a little to be desired. One of the coldest days in Chicago and NO HEAT in our room! Someone brought up a space heater that barely got warm. When I called and said it wasn't heating up, they said, "takes a while to heat up." They never even offered to relocate us to a room with heat. When I asked about changing rooms, they wanted to charge extra. I was told, "We are giving you a free breakfast." We stay a LOT in Chicago and we have a lot of choices. Very disappointed in the service. On the upside the breakfast and the breakfast staff were great. Upon checking out I complained again to Front Office Day Manager and she gave me her card and said upon our next stay contact her and she would upgrade our room. Sorry, but after that stay can't say there will be a next time.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MicheleV722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_CHI, Manager at InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2012

Dear Michele V.,

We do hope you stay with us in the future. Your feedback is important to us and key to helping ensure our guests have an effortless stay, though out our brand. We would love to speak with you once more. Please message us your contact information, so that we may regain your trust.

Warm Regards,

Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 31, 2012

This hotel is very nice though it can be expensive (we got a good deal), but it is the perfect place to stay if you want to be in the heart of the shopping district in Chicago. Very courteous and helpful staff. Room was great, but I was disappointed that there was a $14 charge for internet connection (you can go to the Starbucks in the lobby and get a free connection).

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fmperucca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 30, 2012

My husband was here on business and I came along just to keep him company and check out downtown Chicago. From the greeter at curbside to the bellmen, valet and front desk personnel all were very friendly and welcoming. Our room was a nice size and very clean. Two comfortable chairs for relaxing. TV on the smallish size but adequate, however, had to have someone come up and "jiggle" wires to get it to come on. Also a friendly employee. Love the button by the door that indicates "do no disturb" or "please clean room". Very convenient.

The bathroom was awkward to use. No towel rack for the hand towel. Had to drape on the sink which resulted in a wet towel several times. The toilet tissue was behind the toilet and difficult to reach. We resorted to "resting" it on the tub. The small ledge was not conducive to personal effects. And lighting was poor. HOWEVER, it was very clean.

I wish there was a lobby where you could sit and watch the foot traffic on Michigan Ave. They did have a Starbucks and a hotel bar with limited access to "people watching". The bar food was very good. Nice staff, very helpful without being intrusive. The Starbucks was very busy but good service quickly. Lots of business people on computers. Fun to check it all out. Good view of Michigan Ave.

We ate at Michael Jordan's Restaurant at the hotel. Nice decor, good staff, not remarkable food. Not bad just not great. A tad pricey but to be expected for the location. On a side note, we enjoyed the bar food so much more.

All in all a good visit and would come again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank florida1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_CHI, Manager at InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2012

Dear Florida 1950,

Thank you for the 4 Star Rating, we look forward to welcoming you back to Chicago soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I scheduled a business trip with the additional purpose of entertaining clients in the evening. Overall I found the hotel clean, good location, helpful staff. But what made this trip the most worthwhile for me was dining in the Michael Jordan Steakhouse in the hotel. Definitely a top notch experience all around.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_CHI, Manager at InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2012

Dear tcanyon,

We appreciate the 4 star rating and will share your wonderful feedback, about Michael Jordan's Steakhouse, with the MJ team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We suburbanites decided to spend a few days in Chicago for some shopping, dining, a play, etc. I got a spectacular deal on the price since January occupancy is lower and the hotels downtown want to fill their rooms. The views in these "deal" rooms may not be spectacular but who cares? It was just a base for our wanderings on Michigan Avenue. The hotel is quiet, very nice, rooms clean and well apointed and one of the major pluses is the Intercontinental's location. The weather was unusually warm but even with a cold snap, a walk to the Water Tower shopping complex was easy and we also hoofed it down to Macy's on State Street (using the Pedway). We were favorably impressed by how quiet the hotel was. The only noise one could hear from outside at night was an ambulance siren. There is a Walgreen's across the street where we picked up snacks and bottled water. Be prepared to pay the usual hotel fee for parking your car in their garage. If you must take your vehicle, bear in mind that parking within the downtown loop is expensive. One could come in on a shuttle from the airport to stay here without a vehicle and get around quite easily via cabs or buses. One huge plus was staying mid-week as it was much less crowded walking on the Michigan Avenue sidewalks, less people in the stores and restaurants. Our only negative was a rather steep price for the breakfast buffet (we should have asked first) but a Starbucks with muffins, etc. is located immediately off the lobby area. This was our third stay at the Intercontinental and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the west side facing Michigan Avenue
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichmondBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews