We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Nearby Hotels
US$627
US$519
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$406
US$373
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
River Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$579
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$1,049
US$975
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$299
US$254
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$399
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Warwick Allerton-Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$634
US$494
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$489
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$598
US$541
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$594
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (5,036)
Filter reviews
5,036 results
Traveller rating
2,445
1,594
603
241
153
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,445
1,594
603
241
153
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmichael jordan's steakhouseexecutive towernew towermichigan avenuegreat locationmagnificent milefitness centernavy piermag mileindoor poolthe riveran upgrademini barking bedcorner roomfew blocksmillennium park
Filter
Updating list...
3,927 - 3,932 of 5,036 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2012

THis hotel has such a rich history on Michigan Avenue. The architecture of the original lobby is striking, and the pool upstairs is a 'must see'.

That being said, the rooms here are a bit small...and a bit dated. Just a touch though.

I am a big fan of Intercontinental, and you will NEVER have a bad hotel experience with them. Never. The rooms are impeccably maintained and serviced. The beds are wonderful. Cleanliness is a religion here....

Chicago is a town of great hotels, and so many others are newer kids on the block....and they have exciting offerings. I stay here some, but prefer the Park Hyatt, the Four Seasons, the Pen, and others.

For value though, this hotel is hard to beat. It really is....

I love you IC, but have to be honest. :)

Ill be back though....always return once in a while!

Room Tip: I like the rooms in the historic tower....for the character of the building.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JamesE339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_CHI, Manager at InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2012

Dear JamesE339,

We appreciate your feedback and value your suggestions.

We can't wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 2, 2012

The Intercontinental has some beautiful function rooms and a great location, but the rooms are very small and they charge extra for everything. Internet service was $17.95. In addition, the staff is less helpful than ideal. In addition, the common rooms were cold!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NewEnglandTraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_CHI, Manager at InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2012

Thank you for the positive comments about our location and meeting rooms. We are extremely disappointed to learn that you feel our service did not meet or exceed your expectations.

We would appreciate deeper insight into your service experience to understand how we can exceed your expectations in the future. Please contact me directly @ robert.deluca@ihg.com.

Warm Regards,

Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the hotel on January 21, 2012. Great location, but service a little to be desired. One of the coldest days in Chicago and NO HEAT in our room! Someone brought up a space heater that barely got warm. When I called and said it wasn't heating up, they said, "takes a while to heat up." They never even offered to relocate us to a room with heat. When I asked about changing rooms, they wanted to charge extra. I was told, "We are giving you a free breakfast." We stay a LOT in Chicago and we have a lot of choices. Very disappointed in the service. On the upside the breakfast and the breakfast staff were great. Upon checking out I complained again to Front Office Day Manager and she gave me her card and said upon our next stay contact her and she would upgrade our room. Sorry, but after that stay can't say there will be a next time.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MicheleV722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_CHI, Manager at InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2012

Dear Michele V.,

We do hope you stay with us in the future. Your feedback is important to us and key to helping ensure our guests have an effortless stay, though out our brand. We would love to speak with you once more. Please message us your contact information, so that we may regain your trust.

Warm Regards,

Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 31, 2012

This hotel is very nice though it can be expensive (we got a good deal), but it is the perfect place to stay if you want to be in the heart of the shopping district in Chicago. Very courteous and helpful staff. Room was great, but I was disappointed that there was a $14 charge for internet connection (you can go to the Starbucks in the lobby and get a free connection).

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fmperucca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 30, 2012

My husband was here on business and I came along just to keep him company and check out downtown Chicago. From the greeter at curbside to the bellmen, valet and front desk personnel all were very friendly and welcoming. Our room was a nice size and very clean. Two comfortable chairs for relaxing. TV on the smallish size but adequate, however, had to have someone come up and "jiggle" wires to get it to come on. Also a friendly employee. Love the button by the door that indicates "do no disturb" or "please clean room". Very convenient.

The bathroom was awkward to use. No towel rack for the hand towel. Had to drape on the sink which resulted in a wet towel several times. The toilet tissue was behind the toilet and difficult to reach. We resorted to "resting" it on the tub. The small ledge was not conducive to personal effects. And lighting was poor. HOWEVER, it was very clean.

I wish there was a lobby where you could sit and watch the foot traffic on Michigan Ave. They did have a Starbucks and a hotel bar with limited access to "people watching". The bar food was very good. Nice staff, very helpful without being intrusive. The Starbucks was very busy but good service quickly. Lots of business people on computers. Fun to check it all out. Good view of Michigan Ave.

We ate at Michael Jordan's Restaurant at the hotel. Nice decor, good staff, not remarkable food. Not bad just not great. A tad pricey but to be expected for the location. On a side note, we enjoyed the bar food so much more.

All in all a good visit and would come again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank florida1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_CHI, Manager at InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2012

Dear Florida 1950,

Thank you for the 4 Star Rating, we look forward to welcoming you back to Chicago soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews