We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Read the Terrible Reviews” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Raffaello Hotel
Ranked #90 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Read the Terrible Reviews”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Was in the process of booking this hotel for a week in December and was encouraged by Tripadvisors recommendations. However, having read these terrible reviews I wonder how Tripadvisor can stand behind this recommendation when so many people have had such a horrible experience. The management of the Rafaello would be better off if they did not respond with the same useless rigmarole, how ridiculous to invite people to come back to what one reviewer called "a hole" and give them a second chance. Do they not realise that for many people their holiday is a hard-earned and long anticipated event to which they travel great distances and arrived tired and hopeful in their selection. I know from personal experience the heartbreak involved in taking your family to a bad hotel and I wouldn't wish it on my worst enemy. Tripadvisor, PLEASE TAKE NOTE

Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank goyadublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JermaineAnderson, General Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review. I’m disappointed to read your opinion of our hotel has changed in part due to reviews. Our goal is to provided 100% Guest Satisfaction, One Guest at a Time. When a guest leaves our hotel unhappy we will work diligently to correct any problem. Although, I’m not certain you stayed with us when you have a chance please contact me @janderson@chicagoraffaello.com .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    826
    734
    256
    123
    90
See reviews for
495
678
105
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

By boyfriend and I stayed here after spending a night on the town with friends. The rooms were darling, but good in size for a boutique hotel. The rooms were clean and the bed was comfy. We ordered pizza from a local place, the menu was provided by the front desk, and it was delivered. We had a living social deal and were really pleased with this hotel. Great location!! The only down fall is the parking, they make it seem as tho self parking is easily accessibly and that a discount will be provided at check out. We tried to receive this discount and were told we went to the wrong lot. Parking is poorly labeled. Over all we would go back!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kbo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Quaint hotel with an ideal location! We walked everywhere. I love being in walking distance to the water, shopping, great restaurants and sites. The hotel is hip and as a bonus a block way from the crazy traffic and noise. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LiveNowLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
135 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I joined my husband on his business retreat for 2 days in Chicago and the whole group was staying at this hotel. We had a suite on the 7th floor and it was very spacious and quiet and the bed was comfy.The bathroom was huge with a big glass shower (no tub) and granite counters. One thing I missed was a make-up mirror. We never had to wait for an elevator (as in previous reviews) and I found the fitness centre to be adequate. I really enjoyed the location of the hotel. I was able to come and go so easily and shop along the Magnificent Mile and come back whenever I needed to. There were lots of restaurants and coffee shops nearby and I could bring food back to my room and relax. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There is a very small bar in the lobby and our group was able to use it for a kick-off gathering before going out to dinner the first night.
Previously we have always stayed at the Ritz Carlton in Chicago and I would say that this hotel is of course not as luxurious but it is very good value at a great price. And I appreciated that I could come and go with ease and be able to shop and sightsee so closeby. It was a great choice for our business group.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank h0lym0ly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, NE
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed here last Thur-Sat. A block or two off Michigan Ave, right next door to the Hancock. Great location. Beautiful hotel, small, boutique. It was very quiet. Small hotel bar, which amazingly was open past 1:00 a.m. on Friday. Rooms were nicely appointed with microwave, fridge, mini-bar, snacks. And a Keurig coffee maker. Rooms were actually quite spacious compared to other downtown hotels. Bathroom was lacking counterspace but shower was great. Staff was very friendly, especially the doormen.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet3764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We have stayed at the Raffaello on many occasions due to its terrific location and small size charm. The staff is very nice, the rooms are spacious, and you can't beat the proximity to the Gold Coast neighborhood. Unfortunately, on several occasions we have experienced rooms that just won't cool off enough. The bed and linens are like sleeping in a cloud.....until you wake up drenched in perspiration. Not all of our rooms have had this issue, but it has happened enough that we are considering a change of locations for a week long stay.....in July.

Room Tip: Corner rooms seem to be larger, and if you are a family of five, the hotel has suites with not only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
299 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Very nice find in downtown Chicago. Great location, great rooms & reasonable! I would definitely stay here again & recommend to friends. Watertower Place/Michigan Ave is just one block away. Close to the lakeshore, too!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GBCheesehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#72 of 189 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Streeterville
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Gold Coast
The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffaello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffaello Hotel

Property: Raffaello Hotel
Address: 201 E Delaware Pl, Chicago, IL 60611-1713
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#60 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#69 Family Hotel in Chicago
#70 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Raffaello Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago’s only completely non-smoking 4-star boutique luxury hotel has the best location of any 4-star hotel, just steps away from Michigan Avenue in the heart of the Gold Coast. The famed Magnificent Mile, is just steps from Raffaello Hotel’s front door, as is shopping, theater, nightlife, restaurants, clubs, Navy Pier, Hancock Observatory, museums, zoos, and beaches. Amenities include breakfast room service, massage treatments, manicure and pedicure by Windy City Massage, concierge services, 24-hour business center, PC computer kiosks, 24-hour fitness center, valet parking, valet laundry, mini-bars, microwaves, rain forest showerheads, flat screen LCD TV’s, DVD players, in room safes, luxurious bathrobes, all cotton terry bath towels, 350 thread count sheets overlaying goose down duvets. 18th floor meetings and convention center. Every guest room is non-smoking as are the public areas validating our claim to being Chicago’s only completely non-smoking luxury boutique 4 star hotel, just off Michigan Avenue, the Magnificent Mile. Our newest addition, Drumbar, sits atop the 18th floor. Drumbar is a multi seasonal destination with a speakeasy style inside lounge and outdoor garden terrace. Designed as a drinking establishment to deliver warmth, style, and an energetic spirit of old meets new. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Raffaello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffaello Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing