We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great and convenient stay for the weekend!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Ranked #59 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great and convenient stay for the weekend!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Stayed at the Renaissance for 3 nights, after not being able to get a confirmed 2 Queen Bedroom at the Marriott Magnificent Mile.

After not being able to get a 2 Queen room at the other property, the check-in clerk said that they had availability at the Renaissance property, just 1 mile away at the rate of $135/night, and said we can just do a walk-up check-in.

Upon arrival at the Renaissance, the check-in line was quite long, and there was no real distinguished line for Marriott Elite Members. When we told the clerk we wanted to do a walk-up reservation, she said the rate was $165. I then told her the whole story, and even pulled out my Marriott iPhone App, to show her the special elite rate. After going in the back for about 8 minutes, she finally said she can honor it, as if she was doing us a favor?

The rooms are typical of what you would expect from a Renaissance property, although its slightly showing its wear. Beds are very comfy, and the water pressure in the shower is very powerful! What's also great is that the hotel offers complimentary bike rentals during their summer months!

What makes this hotel a selling point is it's location, and how quiet it is. The property is located next to all the major subway lines, and a lot of restaurants, small shops, Walgreens, 7-11, and banks and ATMs.

Overall, a great, convenient, and comfortable stay. I would most definitely stay here again if the price was right!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maarcsays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    797
    568
    154
    46
    24
See reviews for
306
368
78
578
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

I stayed in this hotel for three nights. The room was spacious. The bed was very comfortable, and the staffs are nice. The only problem is some of the rooms on the east side of the hotel (rooms numbers that end with 02-20), are too close to the train track, so it can get noisy. I stayed in room 1718 my first night and I could hear the train until 2.30 AM, so avoid the east rooms. The last two nights I stayed on the north side of the hotel (river view side), and it was much quieter, and the view was nice. The gym and pools are great and you can access them 24/7. Overall, it was a very good hotel, but it was not as nice as some of the Marriott/Renaissance hotels that I've stayed in before. You can actually get a better deal and nicer views at the Marriott-Magnificent Mile just a few blocks away.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the east side of the hotel (rooms numbers that end with 02-20)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TechDbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Great 5 day stay! Easy and quick check in/out! Best experience so far! Will definitely stay again! The only thing would be the L train--it was a little noisy and we were on the 22nd floor. If you stay here--probably ask for the front room facing towards the river to avoid the noise. Buy will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krist1ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
105 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

This property is close to everything Chicago has to offer! Walk across the street in front of the hotel and you are at the Chicago River with a fabulous view. Walk across the street in the back of the hotel and you are at the Chicago Theater and multiple subway stops. The beginning of the "pedway" starts just to the side of the hotel on State Street. The pedway is a serious of underground walkways with shops and restaurants and they even have guided tours.

Room Tip: Ask for a North facing room so you can get a view of the River and Skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindyzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Was in Chicago for a quick 2 night stay for a conference. This hotel is in an excellent location within walking distance to a lot of great restaurants and the major conference hotels.
I loved the lobby and the overall vibe of the place... very busy but in a good way.

Here are the room highlights:

Room- regular king-size bed room with ample size.
Bed: very comfortable
Bathroom: curtain tub/shower combo with excellent lighting and size
AC: worked very well, was able to maintain comfortable room temps throughout stay
Miscellaneous: flat screen TV but not HD cable... sadly, you come to expect this for a 4+ star hotel... my only gripe really. Great closet space and a nice desk/area for work.

I would very much recommend this hotel for business or fun.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2011Bruins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We took our kids (ages 3 and 7) for a quick weekend trip to Chicago. The lobby is very impressive-looking. It's large and beautiful. There's a bar area toward the front of the hotel. There's also a coffee shop in the lobby area. If you go a little downstairs, there's an asian dumpling placed called Wow Bao and a few other little shops.

DINING
The 2nd floor has a restaurant. The front desk said it was casual and fine for small children. We went right at 5 p.m. on a Saturday night, and it was okay, but I think we would have felt rather out of place any later than that. The food was very good. My husband had the filet and I had a salmon dish. My only complaint is that our water glasses appeared to have small bits of paper floating in them, which was odd, and my glass had a chapstick imprint of someone's lip on the edge. Something I really liked about the restaurant is that it has several "wellness" choices built in -- dishes low in fat, calories, or just overall better for you than the average restaurant dish.

ROOM
Our room was very clean. The beds were nice and firm. The bedding all seemed to be very clean. The bathroom was clean, including the shower and the shower head (a lot of times there's a decent amount of mildew build-up when you look there). Another commonly dirty spot -- the hairdryer. The one in this bathroom was clean, which was a pleasant surprise. I think it's an easy thing to overlook and therefore never clean.

ROOM SERVICE
Because my 3-year-old was getting antsy in the restaurant, we left without getting dessert. We ordered room service a little later. We had a spiced chocolate cake, and the kids each had ice cream. It came quickly and with four (clean) iced water glasses. There is a $3 delivery charge and a 20% service charge on top of the food price, and then you have to tip on top of that, just FYI. It was a little pricey for simple desserts, BUT worth every penny for avoiding a big scene with our 3-year-old in the restaurant. Oh, and the room service menu has a wider variety of "casual" choices on it. You can get a burger, a chicken or shrimp caesar salad, a French dip sub, etc... and these are not choices when you are dining in.

POOL
The pool was very nice and had a greeter of some sort. The pool is adjacent to their spa area. If it's a crowded week/weekend, I would recommend bringing your own towels down. The pool usually has them there, but a large group of people depleted the supply before we got down there. There's also a hot tub and a steam room. The pool was nice, but it was very crowded.

BREAKFAST
The breakfast was delicious. There were a lot more children around and people were overall dressed very casually (people in sweatpants and t-shirts in some cases). They had an omelet/pancake station. They had an assortment of cereals and a wide array of fresh fruit. The hot dishes available were eggs, egg whites, French toast, pancakes, potatoes (with thyme?), bacon, and sausage. You could also order off of the menu, but the buffet had almost everything you could want.

LOCATION
This hotel was very convenient to everything we wanted to see. It's in a very nice part of downtown and it felt very safe.

We loved this hotel and hope to go back again!

Room Tip: We paid a little extra for a room with a view. We had a river view on the 20th floor and it was BEAU...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GregAndKaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

I had opportunity to stay at this property from February 9 -February 11, 2012. I arrived downtown just before noon and called as I was on my way to see if I could check in before my 1230 meeting. The operator and then desk clerk was very helpful in getting me in my room early. The food at the reception on Friday night I attend was fabulous, everyone was very nice and the complementary shoe polishing service was impeccable and definitely recommended. The only down fall like most Marriott properties is they charge for Internet access. That said there is a Starbucks connected to hotel which does not and I always enjoy Starbucks on breaks.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise ask for a higher rooms as it is next to elevated "el" tracks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dubelaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,304 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#40 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
LondonHouse Chicago, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Address: 1 W Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#22 Family Hotel in Chicago
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#36 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#39 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 560
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merging the business of the Loop with the pleasure of State Street and Chicago’s Theater District, the newly renovated Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel invites discovery at every turn. Winner of a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, the Renaissance Chicago enthralls from the moment you enter the lobby – featuring a VIP Club Lounge, Artist Studio, Coffee Bar and Library. Unwind and revitalize in one of the 520 guestrooms and 40 suites featuring unique amenities with marble accents complimented by skyline views of the city's architecture. Wind down inside this luxury hotel in Chicago’s Rejuvenation Center boasting a refreshing indoor pool and indulgent spa treatments. Experience this downtown Chicago hotel’s distinctive and hip scene with local flair, delectable dishes and creative cocktails. This premier Chicago theater hotel is steps away from upscale shopping, fine dining, the theater district, and famed Millennium Park. Your own Windy City experience awaits at this downtown Chicago boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Marriott so you can book your Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Chicago Renaissance
Renaissance Chicago Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing