We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Ranked #75 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 June 2011

The service at this Sheraton was incredible. Chief Experience Officer Danita was great, and allowed us to check in a few hours early. Even though it was incredibly busy, we only waited about 3 minutes to check in, and the staff were more than accommodating. They even allowed us to leave our bags at the hotel after checkout the next morning while we walked around the city. The only thing that wasn't 5 star were the bathrooms - the paint job was not great, and there were some areas of the walls that were peeling. Also, it is kind of strange to have to pay to use their wireless internet. Other than that - great!We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennifermkeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,190 - 4,196 of 5,117 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2011

Right on the river a short distance from Michigan Ave. Great amenities with several restaurants in the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pra759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Very affordable for location and amenities. Within walking distance to Navy Pier. After late night in Chicago, got room service, which was delicious and easy. Use underground parkade across from NBC Tower, is about half the price of the parkade beneathe the Sharaton. Room was clean and comfortable. Would definately stay here again because of the price.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristen3218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Sheraton is a nice hotel. No doubt about it. The location isn't all that great. Michigan Ave is where everything is at.

Pros - 1) Nice hotel. 2) AMC theaters, Walgreens, & Dominick's (a local grocery store) is within walking distance.

Neutral - 1) Michagan Ave is a 10-15 mins walk.

Negative - 1) Pillows... HORRIBLE!!! I had to stack all of my pillows on top of 1 another to get a decent sleep. 2) Not a lot of variety of restaurants within walking distance in my opinion. (However, the hotel will give u a list of restaurants "in the area" and ones that deliver.

Overall the stay is good. Not many things to really complain about.

Side notes - 1)If you're looking to be in the heart of things in downtown get a hotel off of Michigan Ave. 2)If you're gonna stay @ the Sheraton (or off of Michigan Ave stay) eat @ Yolk. Wonderful breakfast!!! Not expensive. Big portions. However, the restaurant can be extremely crowded depending on what time u go. They close @ 3 (the one off of Ohio street does @ least). 3) Public transportation is not like NYC. Didn't see a lot of stops/subway entrances by the Sheraton. However... Please save yourself some money and take the L (their public transportation system) to O'Hare airport. It literally gets you to the airport. Real simple. Simple as can be. & the hotel has a print off of how u get there too. 4) Free wifi and touch screen computers on the floor below the lobby. So no need 2 buy Internet service in your room unless you have too.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atiyah1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Front Desk manager not willing to admit mistake:
Manager leaves nasty message regarding declined credit card. According to bank, hotel was entering invalid expiration date, which is why charges were being declined. When customer tried to explain this to front desk manager, manager kept insisting customer provide another form of payment. Customer told manager there was nothing wrong with card, and requested rude manager submit the charges again with the correct expiration date, manager disappears in back for 10/15 minutes, finally returns stating charges have been authorized. Should not have gone this far, when customer is spending their hard earned money….listen!! The military may not bring the money that the general public brings, however, the money is just as green and spends just as well.
How many other guest has this happened to, who did not question the matter?

The hotel is wonderful, the overall staff is great, magnificent/outstanding. However, one over zealous employee ruined my last few days there. In a hotel of this caliber, this should never be allowed to happen!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paige52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

My wife and I were in Chicago to celebrate an anniversary and planned a long weekend May 20-23. Before the trip, I received an e-mail from Danita, the chief experience officer at Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers asking if there was anything she could do to make our visit more comfortable.
I e-mailed her saying that it was our anniversary and could she arrange for a room on of the highest floors overlooking Lake Michigan and also recommend the name of a local florist. She immediately wrote back saying she could accomodate my request and when we arrived the room was on the highest floor, the 34th with an terrific view of Lake Michigan. Also she sent up a delicious plate of dipped strawberries with a large bottle of Evian water. I contacted the florist she recommended and the flowers were excellent. Also, when we checked in, the front desk clerk, upon learning we were there to celebrate our anniversary, gave us breakfast coupons for full breakfasts each of the three days of our stay. I've stayed in many hotels over the years and this one was excellent as was the service!

Room Tip: Contact the chief experience officer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soxfan05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

This is not what I call a 4-star hotel. My room's furniture was old and shabby. The thermostat was ancient and clumsy. The lunchtime dining room was closed by 2 pm. My only remaining choice was a poor fast-food burger joint in the basement with food served on paper plates, styrofoam cups, and plastic utensils. I tried reaching room service twice that evening to have dinner served in the room. Both times I sat on voice mail for an interminable period.

Room Tip: Pass it up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blevine3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#87 of 192 in Chicago
7,015 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#102 of 192 in Chicago
5,301 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#6 of 192 in Chicago
2,202 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Chicago

Address: 301 East North Water Street, Chicago, IL 60611-4534 (Formerly Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Chicago
#30 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#31 Green Hotel in Chicago
#33 Business Hotel in Chicago
#47 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $151 - $537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Grand Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand Chicago is Chicago's premier downtown riverfront hotel, just off Michigan Avenue, and within a short walk of Navy Pier, Millennium Park, museums, shopping and entertainment. The hotel offers spectacular views of either Lake Michigan or the city skyline. Guests enjoy deluxe accommodations, including Sheraton's Sweet Sleepersm Beds, in-room safes, coffee makers, in-room refreshment center, high-speed Internet access, cable television with movies and video games. Club guest rooms, located on the top four floors, feature plush robes, turndown service, complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon hors d'oeuvres. There are five distinctive restaurants and lounges, including the acclaimed Shula's Steak House, health club, indoor swimming pool, sun deck, sauna, and massage therapy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Grand Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing