We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheets Were Soft as Sandpaper”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Ranked #75 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Stayed 3 nights for an industry conference. Club lounge was a nice perk but not sure it was worth the additional cost to stay on the club floor (other rooms were sold out). Room service was good - but expensive.

Two major gripes:

1) New king sheets were soft as sandpaper. After our first miserable night we asked housekeeping for softer sheets but were told they just got new king sheets and the old sheets had been thrown out. Fortunately I had brought a long sleeve cotton t-shirt and my partner had a silk nightgown or we wouldn't have gotten much sleep on this trip.

2) Peeling wallpaper and ants in bathroom. Not a big deal for me as a guy, but my female partner was not happy.

Mentioned these 2 issues at checkout. Was given a $40 room service credit on a $1200 hotel bill. Employer was covering the hotel, otherwise I would have made a bigger fuss.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David999Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,048 - 4,054 of 5,115 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2011

We spent 3 nights in this hotel and overall while it wasn't the worst experience, it wasn't the best either. The staff is friendly and helpful. The location is good with wonderful views and our room had a great view of the river. But the rooms was small and ordinary. They put us in some sort of suite the first night and the bed was essentially a pull down sofa bed so we had to switch rooms the second night. With a convention there, the hotel was booked and limited on space and rooms. We paid a premium rate for our room and I wasn't at all impressed. The onsight resturant was horrible - over priced and the food wasn't very good. There are great resturants within walking distance and I'd suggest eating out. Housekeeping was horrible. I think the hotel has the potential to improve. I wouldn't stay at this hotel again and my husband thought less of it than I did and isn't interested in staying at any other Sheraton any time soon.

Room Tip: River Views are the best and so are upper floors. Housekeeping is noisy all morning starting at 7am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Had a great stay at the Sheraton. The front desk rep (Brian) accommodated my room type request and even found one with the most amazing view of the river and of the skyline, all because the person in front of me took so long to check in. Everyone from housekeeping to engineering to security went out of their way to acknowledge you and say hello or ask if you were enjoying your stay or needed any assistance. You hardly ever see that anywhere these days and a lot of hotel operators don't seem to understand how far that goes and the impression it makes on a guest. This was the last stop for me on a trip through the Midwest and most of the other hotels I stayed at it was hard to even get most of the staff to acknowledge your existence. Spot On Sheraton Chicago. It really made me fell very welcomed when walking around the hotel. I will definitely make this my go-to hotel when in Chicago.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Attended large professional meeting here. Meeting facilities were fine. Hotel and room clean. Service was professional and friendly. Dining options in-hotel were very limited: basically Shula Steakhouse or room service. (Chicago Burger "in hotel" was shut down.) A bit of a walk to best shopping and restaurant rows; other hotels have more convenient locations. Slow Internet. Would not choose for a personal stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eager_NYtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

The hotel is a-okay.. We spent 3 nights here and to what i can recall, the room is average-sized (similar to the rooms at double-tree). What i like about its location is that it's walking distance to one of the attractions in our checklist ( Chicago's First Lady-- River Cruise), but it's a few blocks away from magnificent mile..1 mile approx, bummer. I guess my only complain is that they charge so much on valet service. Alternative: less expensive parking at the service apartment next door.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monamieandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We had a $300.00 gift certificate that was about to expire so we chose to use it at the Sheraton while in the Chicago area for a volleyball tournament. Total cost of the room was $368.00/night. I get that it is the location that is costly, but I found the room very small and in need of some updating. I was surprised that the rooms were not equipt with wireless. You could use the wireless in the lobby area for free.
Parking is like most hotels in Chicago $50/day.....It is best to park your car and cab it around town.

The bed and bedding were very comfortable, and our view of the water was beautiful.

We had a drink in the bar downstairs...yikes...a rum and coke was $11.00.

The staff in the hotel was friendly, and the room was clean.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Love2vacation2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanitaCEO, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2011

Dear Love2vacation2:

Your review is greatly appreciated...thank you for sharing. I am delighted that you encounters with our associates and the cleanliness of the hotel met your expectations.

I am pleased to let you know that later this year, the hotel begins the first year of a multi-year guestroom renovation project. While we cannot change the size of the rooms, we will be making changes in the furniture and color scheme in the bedroom as well as making changes in the bathroom. I am confident you will enjoy the look and feel of the new guestroom.

I do apologize for any mis-understanding with regard to guestroom internet access as we do now have wireless internet in the guestrooms. I have asked our director of housekeeping to ensure that each room has the internet information card.

We look forward to welcoming you back and to experiencing our new guestrooms!

Warmest regards,


Danita Harth-Bates,
Director of Rooms and Chief Experience Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

I paid over $2,000 for two rooms, 3 nights each to stay here with my family and my sister. Whereas the lobby, location and rooms are great, the hotel is terribly understaffed for the very large amount of guests they have. Staff is mostly a bunch of untrained, rude people. Examples: first, I asked for connecting rooms at check in and "sir, I am unable to find one". Ok, I understand, they may be at full capacity. Second: paid the $49/day for valet parking...called for my car, waited 25 minutes; got my car only after asking several times for it. I had tickets for 5 for the Mary Poppins musical and almost did not make it. When I got back at 11:30pm, there were NO VALET, but a sign that said to go to the front desk...ok, I went and the attendant on duty said with all the best attitude from south Chicago: sir, I need the keys.. they are in the car, I said... to which she responds..sir, I need the keys.. Well, so much for valet parking. On Friday night we wanted to ask about tickets for the musical and the Concierge was no were to be seen. We waited for about 10 min and someone from the hotel walked by and told us he was on a bathroom break. I understand having diarrhea, but only one concierge in a hotel with hundreds of rooms? Worst of all: how many attendants in the front desk for this huge hotel? two. So, lines are long, service is bad, all the employees are in a bad mood. I would say I can swallow this for one night but not for longer than that. Won't stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DNA-Scientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanitaCEO, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2011

Dear DNA Scientist -

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience as a guest of our hotel. I deeply regret that we failed to meet your expectations not once but several times during your visit. Please know that the satisfaction of our guests is our most important priority.

Each of your concerns are being addressed with the appropriate department leader so that we can revise our processes to ensure that we not only have the correct number of agents scheduled on any given day but that our associates are cross-trained to assist with concierge related questions should a concierge not be available.

Please know that your experience is not at all typcial for our hotel and should you decide to give us another try and I hope you will, we will demonstrate that we are able to provide the quality of service you have every right to expect from a Sheraton Hotel.

Warmest regards,


Danita Harth-Bates
Director of Rooms and Chief Experience Officer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#87 of 192 in Chicago
7,009 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#103 of 192 in Chicago
5,297 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#6 of 192 in Chicago
2,202 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Chicago

Address: 301 East North Water Street, Chicago, IL 60611-4534 (Formerly Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Chicago
#30 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#31 Green Hotel in Chicago
#33 Business Hotel in Chicago
#47 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $152 - $540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Grand Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand Chicago is Chicago's premier downtown riverfront hotel, just off Michigan Avenue, and within a short walk of Navy Pier, Millennium Park, museums, shopping and entertainment. The hotel offers spectacular views of either Lake Michigan or the city skyline. Guests enjoy deluxe accommodations, including Sheraton's Sweet Sleepersm Beds, in-room safes, coffee makers, in-room refreshment center, high-speed Internet access, cable television with movies and video games. Club guest rooms, located on the top four floors, feature plush robes, turndown service, complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon hors d'oeuvres. There are five distinctive restaurants and lounges, including the acclaimed Shula's Steak House, health club, indoor swimming pool, sun deck, sauna, and massage therapy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Grand Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing