We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Ranked #78 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 8 April 2012

staff have been warm, welcoming and very helpful regarding local restuarants and events. The room was clean, great views and comfortable, especially the linens. The location, price and linens will keep us coming back.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view and ask the desk for help getting into the Yolk for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,888 - 3,894 of 5,132 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2012

We spent four days in Chicago at the Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers and had a wonderful time. The location was fantastic, within walking distance of many great restaurants, museums, and shopping. The river/lake view from our room was beautiful and the staff were extremely helpful. Definitely recommend!

Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
Thank CoolKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We were told we could check in when we got there at 5:00pm but would be called on our cell phone when we could get a room because they didn't have any rooms ready. 4 hours later, they hadn't called and we walked back in to see if there was a room ready so we could sleep somewhere with our 6 year old! After a LOT of "discussion", they finally agreed to give us the room we had reserved over a month earlier and already paid for! Without any compensation for the hassle and them acting like this was not a big deal, we stayed because we had paid for it but will NEVER use a Sheraton again!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dstep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The staff was very nice, check in was quick, even with a line of guests waiting to check in. Rooms were clean and the bed was very comfortable. Hotel was in a great location which was easy for us to walk to many different places. Our children loved the pool and the pool area and locker rooms were very clean. We ordered room service for dinner one night and the food was excellent!! We will be staying here next time we visit chicago.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We are having a great time in Chicago, so this is not just a review written by some disgruntled traveler. This is an honest assessment of this crappy, substandard hotel that we were unfortunate enough to have booked. Here is what we got:

First, in order to get a $40 per night discount on the room, we had to pay up front on the phone... two days and nights, unrefundable. Okay, so we did: $103 a night as opposed to $143. So the room was paid for and he HAD to stay there.

Finding the hotel was VERY difficult, even with a GPS. We had to use the GPS and call the front desk.... "we think we're in the area, but we're underground in what looks like a boiler room." "Yes, that's the parking area. Park and take the elevator up...." So we parked in this dingey, damp, VERY DANGEROUS looking underground roadway, and scurried to find an elevator to take us up before we were mugged, robbed, raped, and plundered.

So we get to the lobby... and keep in mind, we are, two casual acquaintances....and we had ordered a room with 2 double beds. NOPE! Although we paid in advance for our two double beds, the hotel had none. Instead, we HAD to take one king sized bed and a roll-away. We argued, begged, pleaded, etc. But there was nothing we could do. We paid in advance, so there was no refund...... and now we HAD to take the single bed and the roll-away. There was no alternative and the hotel guests made it VERY clear, almost to the point of anger.

The room had a dismal view of a parking lot. No mini fridge (you can get one, but it's $30 bucks more). The shower head WAS GREAT! The only thing that was good about this hotel. The WIFI costs $19. It is not free!

AND.... have you ever heard of a "continental breakfast" that costs $19 a person? Yep! No free breakfast here.

This is really a crappy place! As I said, we are having a great time in Chicago. But this hotel is clearly a low low low point of our trip. This is a city filled with hotels. If you want to stay somewhere nice and accommodating......who won't pull a bait-and-switch, lock you in and give you something else, give you a room with a poor fiew, charge you for a fridge, wi fi, and breakfast, and give you poor service on top of it all, then YOU DO NOT WANT TO STAY AT THIS HOTEL!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin K, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear Tom A.,
Thank you for your very thorough review of our property. While it pains me to read of your dissatisfaction with your experience, we do appreciate the feedback that gives us the opportunity to improve.

I do apologize about your desired room type not being available upon check-in and regarding the associates' demeanors that assisted you. I have forwarded your notes about your interactions to our Director of Front Office so she can follow-up directly with the team.

I would also like to apologize about the location of our parking garage in relation to the hotel. I understand that it can be a little confusing but can assure you that the area is very safe. Our property safety and security team is centered just across the sheet as you enter the doors to the hotel and are proud to say that there has not been a security incident in the that area in over 10 years.

I can also understand your dissapointment with the charge for our in-room WiFi but would like to point out that as of January of this year, we are happy to offer free WiFi to our hotel guests in our lobby and in the Link Cafe.

Finally, I would like to apologize for the miscommunication regarding our continental breakfast in LB Bistro. Although we do label the breakfast option as a "continental", it encompasses much more. With the $19 Contintental Breakfast, you can enjoy all offerings from two of the pod stations in the restaurant, including made-to-order parfaits with over 10 ingredients available, a create-your-own smoothie station, fresh squeezed juice/smoothies of the day, steel-cut oatmeal, assorted cereals and that's only one pod! At the second pod, we have an assortment of fresh baked pastries and breads, made-to-order pancakes and a create-your-own crepe station with both sweet and savory fillings options.

If a lighter breakfast is more what you are looking for, we have ala carte options in the restaurant and the Link Cafe, where you can enjoy fresh pastries, breakfast sandwiches and an assortment of Starbucks coffee drinks.

Once again, I sincerely apologize that we were unable to exceed your expecations during your stay and hope that you will give us the opportunity the next time your are in Chicago.

Warm Regards,
Kevin Kalkut

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This hotel is huge and so they host a lot of large meetings and conferences. With thousands of guests at any given time, there is no personal service for the average traveler. The location is in the heart of Chicago with good access to almost everything. The facilities are convenient and fairly well-maintained. There is a fee for everything.

As an example, knowing that hotels have hundreds of mobile device chargers left behind every day, I asked about borrowing one from the concierge for my stay since I'd forgotten mine. They offered to charge my device at the Concierge Desk. Then proceeded to open drawers literally crammed to the brim with chargers to find one to fit and then I waited patiently in the lobby until there was enough charge to get on with my life, however, they couldn't possibly lend me one because someone else might need it.

I stay here during conferences because it's convenient and because I know what to expect

Room Tip: The higher floors are better and a lake view is always nice. Stay away from elevators and ice makers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmf22purple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Staff was very nice, good location, but bathroom was outdated compared to the rest of the room. The floor was VERY slippery whether you were wearing shoes or barefoot - had to be VERY careful. Had a great view of Navy Pier and was able to walk nearly everywhere. Only complaint was the bathroom - bedding was plush and temperature easy to control. Very quiet which was nice.

Room Tip: Would ask for room overlooking the river or navy pier. Higher level floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bailey01Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#90 of 192 in Chicago
7,075 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#104 of 192 in Chicago
5,341 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 192 in Chicago
2,233 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Chicago

Address: 301 East North Water Street, Chicago, IL 60611-4534 (Formerly Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Chicago
#30 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#31 Green Hotel in Chicago
#33 Business Hotel in Chicago
#47 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $157 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Grand Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand Chicago is Chicago's premier downtown riverfront hotel, just off Michigan Avenue, and within a short walk of Navy Pier, Millennium Park, museums, shopping and entertainment. The hotel offers spectacular views of either Lake Michigan or the city skyline. Guests enjoy deluxe accommodations, including Sheraton's Sweet Sleepersm Beds, in-room safes, coffee makers, in-room refreshment center, high-speed Internet access, cable television with movies and video games. Club guest rooms, located on the top four floors, feature plush robes, turndown service, complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon hors d'oeuvres. There are five distinctive restaurants and lounges, including the acclaimed Shula's Steak House, health club, indoor swimming pool, sun deck, sauna, and massage therapy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Grand Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing