We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,386)
Filter reviews
5,386 results
Traveller rating
2,615
1,600
715
293
163
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,615
1,600
715
293
163
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivernavy pierthe club loungeshula's steakhousewithin walking distanceconcierge deskmichigan avewhole foodsthe magnificent mileself parkingmini fridgefitness centercorner roommillennium parkhotel is in a great locationmag milethe loop
Filter
Updating list...
4,116 - 4,121 of 5,386 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2012

staff have been warm, welcoming and very helpful regarding local restuarants and events. The room was clean, great views and comfortable, especially the linens. The location, price and linens will keep us coming back.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view and ask the desk for help getting into the Yolk for breakfast.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We spent four days in Chicago at the Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers and had a wonderful time. The location was fantastic, within walking distance of many great restaurants, museums, and shopping. The river/lake view from our room was beautiful and the staff were extremely helpful. Definitely recommend!

Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
Thank CoolKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We were told we could check in when we got there at 5:00pm but would be called on our cell phone when we could get a room because they didn't have any rooms ready. 4 hours later, they hadn't called and we walked back in to see if there was a room ready so we could sleep somewhere with our 6 year old! After a LOT of "discussion", they finally agreed to give us the room we had reserved over a month earlier and already paid for! Without any compensation for the hassle and them acting like this was not a big deal, we stayed because we had paid for it but will NEVER use a Sheraton again!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dstep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 7, 2012

The staff was very nice, check in was quick, even with a line of guests waiting to check in. Rooms were clean and the bed was very comfortable. Hotel was in a great location which was easy for us to walk to many different places. Our children loved the pool and the pool area and locker rooms were very clean. We ordered room service for dinner one night and the food was excellent!! We will be staying here next time we visit chicago.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We are having a great time in Chicago, so this is not just a review written by some disgruntled traveler. This is an honest assessment of this crappy, substandard hotel that we were unfortunate enough to have booked. Here is what we got:

First, in order to get a $40 per night discount on the room, we had to pay up front on the phone... two days and nights, unrefundable. Okay, so we did: $103 a night as opposed to $143. So the room was paid for and he HAD to stay there.

Finding the hotel was VERY difficult, even with a GPS. We had to use the GPS and call the front desk.... "we think we're in the area, but we're underground in what looks like a boiler room." "Yes, that's the parking area. Park and take the elevator up...." So we parked in this dingey, damp, VERY DANGEROUS looking underground roadway, and scurried to find an elevator to take us up before we were mugged, robbed, raped, and plundered.

So we get to the lobby... and keep in mind, we are, two casual acquaintances....and we had ordered a room with 2 double beds. NOPE! Although we paid in advance for our two double beds, the hotel had none. Instead, we HAD to take one king sized bed and a roll-away. We argued, begged, pleaded, etc. But there was nothing we could do. We paid in advance, so there was no refund...... and now we HAD to take the single bed and the roll-away. There was no alternative and the hotel guests made it VERY clear, almost to the point of anger.

The room had a dismal view of a parking lot. No mini fridge (you can get one, but it's $30 bucks more). The shower head WAS GREAT! The only thing that was good about this hotel. The WIFI costs $19. It is not free!

AND.... have you ever heard of a "continental breakfast" that costs $19 a person? Yep! No free breakfast here.

This is really a crappy place! As I said, we are having a great time in Chicago. But this hotel is clearly a low low low point of our trip. This is a city filled with hotels. If you want to stay somewhere nice and accommodating......who won't pull a bait-and-switch, lock you in and give you something else, give you a room with a poor fiew, charge you for a fridge, wi fi, and breakfast, and give you poor service on top of it all, then YOU DO NOT WANT TO STAY AT THIS HOTEL!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin K, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

Dear Tom A.,
Thank you for your very thorough review of our property. While it pains me to read of your dissatisfaction with your experience, we do appreciate the feedback that gives us the opportunity to improve.

I do apologize about your desired room type not being available upon check-in and regarding the associates' demeanors that assisted you. I have forwarded your notes about your interactions to our Director of Front Office so she can follow-up directly with the team.

I would also like to apologize about the location of our parking garage in relation to the hotel. I understand that it can be a little confusing but can assure you that the area is very safe. Our property safety and security team is centered just across the sheet as you enter the doors to the hotel and are proud to say that there has not been a security incident in the that area in over 10 years.

I can also understand your dissapointment with the charge for our in-room WiFi but would like to point out that as of January of this year, we are happy to offer free WiFi to our hotel guests in our lobby and in the Link Cafe.

Finally, I would like to apologize for the miscommunication regarding our continental breakfast in LB Bistro. Although we do label the breakfast option as a "continental", it encompasses much more. With the $19 Contintental Breakfast, you can enjoy all offerings from two of the pod stations in the restaurant, including made-to-order parfaits with over 10 ingredients available, a create-your-own smoothie station, fresh squeezed juice/smoothies of the day, steel-cut oatmeal, assorted cereals and that's only one pod! At the second pod, we have an assortment of fresh baked pastries and breads, made-to-order pancakes and a create-your-own crepe station with both sweet and savory fillings options.

If a lighter breakfast is more what you are looking for, we have ala carte options in the restaurant and the Link Cafe, where you can enjoy fresh pastries, breakfast sandwiches and an assortment of Starbucks coffee drinks.

Once again, I sincerely apologize that we were unable to exceed your expecations during your stay and hope that you will give us the opportunity the next time your are in Chicago.

Warm Regards,
Kevin Kalkut

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews