We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chicago Stay - Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Ranked #75 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We got a great rate by booking from the SPG website, so we started off on a good foot. When we got to the hotel, it was packed with lots of families, so it was a long checkin process, but again, worth the wait. Asked for and got a renovated room, which was great again. The breakfast was fine, the club floor access was super, except that again, crowded with lots of families...the poor staff looked overwhelmed. Some families were letting their kids run around without supervision, which put stress on other guests and of course the staff. The pool was fine, but a bit too small for the 4th largest hotel in the city. Location was terrific, we walked everywhere. Parking was expensive, but it was the same price all over town, so park at the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunLover25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,872 - 3,878 of 5,117 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2012

Overall, a good stay. We booked via hotels.com, and therefore prepaid. In our requests (noted that it could not be guaranteed) we asked for two double beds as we are traveling as a couple with our 6 year old daughter. Upon arrival, the valet service was impeccable, worth it - but be prepared for $51/24hrs. At check in, we discussed our request with Esteve. While he was efficient, he was not overly friendly or necessarily helpful. He indicated that there were no double rooms remaining. Fine, so we requested a rollaway bed. He checked on the rollaway to discover that no rollaways remained either. So, our predicament... while we've spent many a night with our 6-year old squeezing in bed between us, we'd hoped to avoid that situation. We agreed we'd make do. (Esteve indicated that they had been giving a second room to those who were traveling in quads...we suggested that was probably not necessary for our family.) The solution ultimately was a $50 room credit - which covered all but $1 of our parking, and vouchers for the $24.99 breakfast buffet. So, in all, we were "comped" $100 for our trouble, and our daughter was exhausted enough to crash out on the floor with the feather duvet. For the price, the location was perfect - walking distance to Navy Pier. ~$10 cab to Willis Tower. Cleanliness was average - bathroom was slightly dated. Room was small, with just enough floor space for our daughter's campout and tip-toeing around.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carotgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I stayed at the Sheraton Hotel and Towers for a second time this March because the conference I was attending was at the hotel. The location is good (walking distance to most everything). However, the room was filthy. I had to move the bedside table to plug in a charger and it was disgusting to see the amount of dust and discarded items behind there. I even left the table pulled out in hopes that housekeeping would clean behind there but they never did the entire time (4 days) that I was there.

I also looked under the beds and it was very dirty under there.

The windows were so dirty I couldn't even enjoy the view.

Finally, wifi was a joke. I could barely load email nevermind watch any video.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SK_Sun_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

A quick out of town weekend for us. Great location, room was comfortable and clean. Checkin process was extensive with long lines. Our stay was supposed to include in room free internet, which it did, but you had to accept the charge first and then they credited it. Seemed too complicated for a free perk. Also said robes in the room, there were none. The number of kids at the club level was very high and a lot of poor parenting going on that was not the hotel's fault, but detracted from our stay for sure. The free breakfast was always out of something and the lines were long and not enough seating. The coffee had run out twice on each day that we were there, they only had a pumper pot for a ton of people. They indicated we had to fill out cards on the number of people eating so they could plan appropriately in the future, but 2 days, they never gave us the cards. The room was wonderful, the amenities, not so much. The warm cookies at night and the manager's reception on Thursday were very nice. The bell staff was very helpful.

Room Tip: Don't count on the free perks listed... you will have to requests them to be brought up, The v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulette Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

staff have been warm, welcoming and very helpful regarding local restuarants and events. The room was clean, great views and comfortable, especially the linens. The location, price and linens will keep us coming back.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view and ask the desk for help getting into the Yolk for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We spent four days in Chicago at the Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers and had a wonderful time. The location was fantastic, within walking distance of many great restaurants, museums, and shopping. The river/lake view from our room was beautiful and the staff were extremely helpful. Definitely recommend!

Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
Thank CoolKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We were told we could check in when we got there at 5:00pm but would be called on our cell phone when we could get a room because they didn't have any rooms ready. 4 hours later, they hadn't called and we walked back in to see if there was a room ready so we could sleep somewhere with our 6 year old! After a LOT of "discussion", they finally agreed to give us the room we had reserved over a month earlier and already paid for! Without any compensation for the hassle and them acting like this was not a big deal, we stayed because we had paid for it but will NEVER use a Sheraton again!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dstep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#87 of 192 in Chicago
7,018 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#103 of 192 in Chicago
5,303 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 192 in Chicago
2,203 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#28 of 192 in Chicago
4,903 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#35 of 192 in Chicago
3,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Chicago

Address: 301 East North Water Street, Chicago, IL 60611-4534 (Formerly Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Chicago
#30 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#31 Green Hotel in Chicago
#33 Business Hotel in Chicago
#47 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $151 - $512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Grand Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand Chicago is Chicago's premier downtown riverfront hotel, just off Michigan Avenue, and within a short walk of Navy Pier, Millennium Park, museums, shopping and entertainment. The hotel offers spectacular views of either Lake Michigan or the city skyline. Guests enjoy deluxe accommodations, including Sheraton's Sweet Sleepersm Beds, in-room safes, coffee makers, in-room refreshment center, high-speed Internet access, cable television with movies and video games. Club guest rooms, located on the top four floors, feature plush robes, turndown service, complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon hors d'oeuvres. There are five distinctive restaurants and lounges, including the acclaimed Shula's Steak House, health club, indoor swimming pool, sun deck, sauna, and massage therapy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Grand Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing