We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Chicago Hotel”
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Talbott Hotel
Ranked #17 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2012

After a quick check in we were escorted to a comfortable well appointed room. This is the perfect Chicago hotel. Great location, reasonably priced by Chicago standards and the staff is very friendly. In the future, the Talbott will be my first choice of Chicago hotels

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marvfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,055)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,531 - 2,537 of 3,055 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2012

I loved this hotel the minute we were greeted by the friendly doorman, Andrew. Unfortunately, I didn't catch the lady working the front desk because she too deserves praise. From the minute we arrived, we got nothing but the best treatment. The service is prompt as well. We booked a one bedroom suite and I absolutely adore it! It's quiet and cozy. The hotel has an old world charm without looking outdated. If I could buy a room here I would. The location is the best! Away from all the michigan madness, but only by a few blocks and close to all the boutique shopping that you cant find further south closer to the river. Don't think twice about booking this hotel. We haven't even left yet and I'm already regretting when we have to.

Room Tip: The one bedroom suites are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacationlover1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Except for the bartender, the people at the Talbott were very helpful and friendly. The hotel is in a great location for walking to shopping and restaurants. We had a suite and it was huge. The bathroom was the largest I have ever had, and great for getting ready in the morning. The bed was very comfortable. The TVs were slightly confusing. We never did get our IPOD to work. A couple complaints about the room - there was not a mini-refrigerator. Instead of putting in those over-priced mini-bars (does anyone really purchase stuff out of these things?), have refrigerators. The other issue was the annoying sound of the elevators could be heard in our room. It sounds like an airplane going over. These elevators were very old and slow, and most of the weekend, only one was working. We ate in the restaurant for breakfast since we have $30 credit each morning. If you don't have breakfast included with your room, I would go somewhere else. It was OK. The orange juice was watered down badly!

Room Tip: Far away from the elevator!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rocketfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Great value for a nice, big room in a good neighborhood. Comfortable bed, clean, excellent staff. I had a hard time with the tv remote.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dinerone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed at The Talbot hotel for 3 nights. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We walked many places - restaurants - shops and museums. Our room was very large with free wi-fi and a flat screen TV. We found the king size bed very comfortable! There was access to a fitness center but we didn't try it. There are lots of good restaurants in the area and the shops of North Michigan Avenue are close-by. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mimi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

This was my second visit to the Talbott in the last 12 months. As with the last time the quality and service at this establishment were excellent.
We booked direct with the Hotel and secured a very attractive off peak rate for December.
With my wife and two children we had a room with two queen beds, staying for three nights. Even with the four of us we did not feel cramped although the bathroom was not particularly spacious. The beds were very comfortable with quality linens and with three chairs in the room we had enough options for seating.
The room had free internet that worked through the TV - another excellent service.
One of the things that we like about the Talbott is that you can open the windows, ever so slightly, but enough to let in some fresh air.
Staff were friendly - particularly Perry the doorman - and gave us excellent advice as far as places to go. The Concierge also provided us with some very good tips as far as nearby dining.
The location is excellent being just off the golden mile and close to many good restaurants.
We enjoyed our stay at the Talbott and have no hesitation in recommending it for other travellers.

Room Tip: Staying in December giives access to off-peak rates. Worth checking when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Snorlaxxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

3 day weekend in Chicago, no car, and two couples, where to stay? The Talbott Hotel was the perfect choice! We arrived on Friday night, exhausted, and our rooms were across the hall from one another - how convenient. We started with drinks in the bar, which turned into an excellent dinner at Bice, the Italian restaurant connected to the hotel. (They also provide room service.) The martinis were superb, and the dinners were all delicious. Late night chocolates on the pillows, friendly, helpful staff, attentive concierge with great ideas of where to go and what to see. The location is very convenient. We took the CTA from O'Hare and Midway airports, arrived 2 blocks away at the Chicago Ave. Redline stop, and were able to go to Second City, Legends, the Art Institute, Field Museum, Millenium Park, the Zoo and Lincoln Park, and anywhere else on an easy to use 3 day pass. The bus stop was right across the street if the red line didn't go where we wanted. Great choice!

Room Tip: To take advantage of the bell staff or ask someone to explain all the high tech equipment, and be su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jbrodydhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#28 of 192 in Chicago
4,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611-4938
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $141 - $552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Chicago’s historic Gold Coast district, the newly renovated Talbott Hotel, ranked “best of” by many travel sites, is for those who appreciate the impeccable, the refined, and the clever, all delivered with an elegant wit. Steps away from the iconic Magnificent Mile on Michigan Avenue, our hospitality is for guests who savor the finer things but are not interested in formality: Timeless modern architecture, well-appointed but comfortable decor, and exceptional personalized customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing