We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend at the Westin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Chicago River North
Ranked #65 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I chose this hotel based almost solely on the location - directly across the street from the House of Blues where I was going to be attending an event. Taking the train into Chicago, I didn't want to have to walk too far late at night and the Westin was in the ideal location for my purposes. Turns out, the Westin River North is in a great location for just about everything. From Union Station, it's a $6 cab ride (taken because I didn't want to haul my luggage through Midtown). Otherwise, just about everything you need is easily within walking distance. Lots of great food options, entertainment venues/bars, and Michigan Avenue.

The hotel itself is very nice. There's a large, welcoming lobby as soon as you walk in (and you'll probably be greeted by some delightful doormen). The elevators even have an oddly pleasant aroma around them. The room was really nice - clean, spacious enough, and the bathroom was fantastic. While I did not find the bed to be as "heavenly" as advertised, it was easily 10x more comfortable than any other hotel bed I've found. The staff was friendly and helpful. My only real complaint was the fee-per-day in-room internet, which I find ridiculous at this point in time. I just grabbed my laptop and went to hang out in the lobby for a few minutes when needed, and used the free wifi there.

Overall, it was a great stay and I'd definitely consider it again if I was going to that part of Chicago again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chel-belle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,010)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,448 - 1,454 of 2,010 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2012

This is a really nice Westin in a great locations. Nothing bad to say about this hotel and the location. It has clean spacious rooms and a club floor/lounge...One of the rare Westin's with a club lounge which is always a nice bonus...

Room Tip: Achieve your Platinum status for room upgrades.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I travel a lot and typically spend 30 days a year in Chicago. The Westin Chicago River North is an excellent choice - the rooms are comfy, its close to a ton of great restraunts and its easy to walking distance to the lake and businesses.

I'll also mention that Sam Guiragossian, who runs the Workout Club, is a great guy. He is very approachable, knowlegable - regardless of your fitness level he is the guy to connect with.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Usually we stay up around Water Tower but this part of Chicago has really come into its own with shops and restaurants. And it's not difficult to walk north on Michigan Ave to go to Water Tower etc. The hotel was very nice and the women at the concierge desk was very helpful and patient as was all of the staff. One warning. I parked in a garage close to the hotel thinking it would be cheaper than valet parking ($55). It wasn't. For one day on the weekend I paid $65. Better to park south of the river and take a short walk back to the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brukar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

This was an excellent two night stay. Their staff was intent on pleasing. The workout club is staffed by Sam who is not only personable but keeps the place immaculate. The equipment is brand new and I would rather go there than my home gym which is a comparative mess (LA fitness just bought my Bally's). My business was in the Mart and it was two blocks from there. There is a hotel attached to the Mart and its rate was lower but the Westin is so much better that there was no question of where I was going to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogerrenaissance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I prefer staying at Westin hotels when I travel since they offer the most comfortable beds of any hotel chain. Westin's offer consistent high quality service and accommodations. One of the nicest features of this particular Westin is the location and the gym. The gym is not huge, but very clean, well organized, and offers training services by Sam - this is a welcome and great service for those trying to stay (or get) in shape while traveling.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed here in January, 2012 and loved the location and comfort of the hotel. The hotel is located directly across the street from the House of Blues and Bin 36. There is a shuttle to and from the convention center which runs every 20 minutes. The bus stop is just down the road. There are plenty of shops and restaurants (Starbucks, too) within walking distance from the hotel. There is a large open bar right in the lobby called the Hana Lounge. The service was a bit slow here and the prices are pretty expensive; but, it's convenient with comfortable seating and televisions screens above the bar. Their restaurant, also off the lobby, called the Ember Grille, is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We only had breakfast here on the last day, and it also was quite pricey, with just average service. I would suggest getting up early enough to walk to Starbucks for a more affordable option.
The hotel's gym was quite impressive compared to other hotels. The room was spacious, with a very friendly greeter at the desk, plenty of modern cardio machines, weights and room for stretching.
The best feature of the hotel was the rooms. The view from our room, on the 17th floor, was beautiful and boasted views of the river. Our room was very quiet. There was a king sized bed with a feather bed and it couldn't have been more comfortable. The bathroom was clean and over-sized with plenty of small sized toiletries (including mouthwash) for guest use. The living area of the room had a dresser with TV, a sitting area, and a desk, complete with iPad, for hotel information and directions to local establishments. The hotel offers a "green" choice to decline maid service for a $5 gift certificate or Starwood Points. I thought this was a nice touch.
I would stay in this hotel again, without question. I would have given it five stars if it had better service in the Hana Lounge and Ember Grille.

Room Tip: Room 1720 was very quiet and had beautiful views of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyTraveller1166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,938 reviews
Streeterville
W Chicago - Lakeshore
W Chicago - Lakeshore
#98 of 192 in Chicago
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Chicago River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Chicago River North

Address: 320 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654-5010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#27 Family Hotel in Chicago
#31 Business Hotel in Chicago
#39 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $143 - $599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Chicago River North 4.5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Chicago River North allows guests a chance to experience relaxation and renewal while maintaining access to all of their favorite Chicago activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Chicago River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Chicago River North Hotel Chicago
Westin Chicago River North
Chicago Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing